We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brunch - best ever!”
Review of The Hoot

The Hoot
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Northport
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Description: The Hoot is a farm-to-table restaurant located in midcoast Maine. We offer weekday breakfast from 7am-11:30am, weekend brunch from 7am-1pm, and Friday and Saturday night dinner from 4pm-9pm. We also offer Happy Hour and Monday night farm dinners; please visit our website for details and complete menus.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hoot is a farm-to-table restaurant located in midcoast Maine. We offer weekday breakfast from 7am-11:30am, weekend brunch from 7am-1pm, and Friday and Saturday night dinner from 4pm-9pm. We also offer Happy Hour and Monday night farm dinners; please visit our website for details and complete menus.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

The eggs Benedict with smoked salmon was outstanding!
Service and atmosphere were perfect -- casual, friendly, respectful.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018

We stopped for breakfast this morning. It was busy, welcoming, and the food was really good. I had the pancakes - lemon ricotta with blueberries- sigh. My spouse had the hash and eggs. He commented on the taste of the eggs- fresh with orange yolks. The way food should be.
Service was attentive and good even though there was a party of 22 on the deck whose orders went in before ours. Impressive organization.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Went with family, loved that there was a vegan option so we all could eat a full breakfast. Not easily visible from the road, it is worth looking for, the atmosphere is relaxed and the wait staff attentive without hovering. The food was fresh, in our party we had blueberry pancakes, vegetable omelette and a vegan dish with kale and a red pepper sauce to die for. Have not tried the dinner menu but would recommend this place without hesitation and will plan to return when I am next in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DachaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

There are two components to this review: the food and the behavior of the management.

The food: we went to the Hoot for Sunday brunch with a large party, five kids and three adults, and sat on the patio. It was a beautiful day and would have been great except for the road noise from Route 1, which is 30 feet or so away. The menu is standard brunch with locally sourced food. Our party ordered a variety of things, none of which were memorable. I had the polenta with locally sourced chorizo. The 'chorizo' seemed to be more akin to a breakfast sausage patty than chorizo and was not as advertised in the menu. The other entrees (a burrito, a bland, uninspired omelet with too much salt and a sad attempt at a side salad, etc.) were nothing special, about what you could make at home. I guess that fits with the 'homey' theme they have going on but I expected more. Coffee is self serve from pump urns inside the main building. It was local and not hot. There is nothing worse than coffee that isn't hot. Overall much better options exist that serve truly outstanding and locally sourced food within a short distance (e.g. Chase's Daily in Belfast).

The management: we experienced a degree of unprofessionalism from one of the owners that I have never seen, heard of, or experienced before. It was literally unbelievable yet must be included in this review because, ultimately, it is the management that gives a restaurant it's persona and this restaurant is rotten to the core. Northport is a small town where most people know each other yet a restaurant with a full patio of customers is not the place to publicly, immaturely, and abrasively chastise customers for their mere presence. We were subject to such abuse from the male co-owner of the Hoot, who somehow thought it appropriate to loudly lecture all of us (three of whom are from out of town, five of whom were children), in an unhinged manner with a few 'f' bombs thrown in, about the problems he has had in his personal life and how they were the fault of one of our party. Our poor server, who was a bystander to all of this, immediately apologized to us as soon as the owner finished his ranting, and asked if she could help in any way. She was the only bright spot in this classless display of unprofessionalism. The owner created such a toxic environment for our party, which included five children, that we felt compelled to pay our check and leave as quickly as possible. Needless to say we will never be returning to the Hoot. If this is the way the owners conduct themselves the restaurant will surely not last long, and it shouldn't. There is no place for behavior like this in the service industry.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

While staying in Lincolnville, Maine we decided to eat at "The Hoot". We checked the reviews and we did not think it was that great. To me the Lamb of tonights special was a bit overcooked, the green beans where less then perfect, my coffee was warm and my dessert was frozen so hart it was difficult to eat it. It was grainy with ice crystals in it. It was an o.k. dinner, that is about it. Spending nearly $100. for two, I expect better.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EricaG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hoot also viewed

Northport, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Hoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing