We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Outdated but good location”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just returned from our trip to Ogunquit and the only disappointing portion was the hotel. We have stayed at the Grand Hotel 3 times previously and quality has been declining.

The location is excellent and is about a 10 minute walk to Perkins Cove and 15 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are good size which makes it nice for families.

We're not overly picky....so the old furniture and out-dated look of the hotel was an even trade off for the bigger rooms (family of 4 with pack and play). With that said, the service of the hotel was terrible. Here's why:

-They dont change the sheets unless you stay 4 nights or more (we stayed 3 nights)
-They didnt provide replacement towels during our 3 night stay
-If trash is not directly in the trash can....it doesn't get removed. For example: we had 3 empty beer bottles near the trash....it wasnt removed. We had a crumpled up piece of paper in a grocery bag near the trash.....it wasnt removed. A day old lime on the deck sitting on an empty plastic bag.....it wasnt removed.
-We stayed 3 nights and house-keeping only cleaned 1 time. They came another time at 11:45 but we asked if they could postpone to the afternoon since our kids were napping....they said no....they leave early afternoon??
-When we walked back into the room after house-keeping....we couldnt tell if they had come. There was no straightening up......it was simply make the bed and empty trash cans. Really that's it.
-The beds are rock hard as well.....very uncomfortable.

We brought these issues to the front desk and they responded: "if trash isnt in the trashcan.....it might be personal property. I responded with: empty beer bottles?? She said: you might reuse them!??

Overall, when paying over $250+ a night, we expect service to at least average. Instead, the service was poor, hotel is out-dated and not worth the money spent. The location is great but really any hotel on Shore Road is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

We welcome reviews and appreciate your taking the time to share your point of view.

We are proud to be a participant in a Green Environment program and as such, must meet certain criteria. Part of the criteria is to conserve water and energy wherever possible. In each of our rooms, we have signs posted inviting our guests to participate in the program by hanging and reusing their towels. Guests are also given the option of receiving fresh towels each day by simply placing their used towels on the floor. We do change sheets every 4th day unless a guest requests more frequent changes and if they do, we certainly are happy to accommodate them.

Re-cycling is another component of the Green Environment program and for that reason, we have recycling bins in all of our rooms and our Housekeepers are instructed to empty them every day. They are also instructed not to presume what should and should not be discarded in a guest’s room. Any items not placed in the trash or recycle bins would be left alone.

Amongst the more visible improvements made this past year were a change out of all of our TV’s to Flat Screen DVD sets as well as new mattresses for all of our suites.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just got back from another stay at The Grand. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. The housekeeping staff is attentive and rooms are clean, vey clean. Breakfast in the morning is cereal, muffins, toast, pastry, juice, yogert, coffee and condiments. I like it, dont need a huge breakfast, just enough to get me going in the morning and leaving room for lobster during the day. Pool is indoors along with an outdoor jaccuzzi. The pool was great due to the fact we had a heat wave while we were up in Maine 100+ degrees. Short walk to the resturants. Nice rocking chair on the front porch to sit and relax. Like I said on an earlier review. These people that are complaining about the hotel, sometimes you just cant make people happy. Go and you wont be disappointed. Its a nice stay.
Enjoy, FYI take a walk to the Oarweed and have a lobster and watch the sun set!!.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nrmlguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Nrmlguy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind words about our Staff and the cleanliness of our hotel are very much appreciated. We hope your next visit will not be in the middle of a heatwave and that you will be able to take advantage of the outdoor pool and tennis court at our sister property, Pink Blossoms Resort.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I went for our anniversary.We have been going to Maine for many years but wanted something special.And we found it.The staff was very friendly, Our room was GREAT. the bed was a little rough, wish it was a softer mattress and softer sheets. But other than that it was Real nice. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I am reminded of Mike Myers on Coffee Talk on SNL. "Discuss among yourselves- The Holy Roman Empire- it wasn't holy, it wasn't Roman, and it wasn't an empire."

The Grand Hotel is neither grand nor a real hotel.

I stayed in this hotel with my family for a few days last summer. I was singularly underwhelmed. Although it is billed as a "Grand Hotel", it is really just a motel similar to all other Ogunquit motels. DO NOT reserve here thinking that you will be getting a four star experience that would beat out other Ogunquit hotels. It is a reasonable value that delivers a decent product but nothing more.

The building has a small living room atrium. The rooms are suite like with a living area and small kitchen unit. They are cheaply appointed. The living area does not have a window. The hotel used cheap CFL bulbs that seemed to suck light out of the room.

They have a draconian summer reservation policy- even by Ogunquit standards. I had a family member who was ill and tried to cancel but they would not let me out of a reservation. This lack of sensitivity was dissapointing.

The free breakfast was terrible- watery coffee and institutional danish.

The location was excellent and the indoor pool was a real benefit. The underground parking was also a nice plus.

Hopefully, they improved upon the aforementioned issues for this upcoming season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I just returned from a lovely weekend in Ogunquit. We had some trepadation about staying at the Grand Hotel based on a few poor reviews. However, we did book a penthouse suite there and were quite satisfied. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to Marginal Way, Perkins Cove and several great restaurants. We found the hotel to be very clean and a great value. Continental breakfast was basically coffee, juice, cold cereal, bagels and muffins. Our suite consisted of a living room and good sized bedroom each with a 32" flat screen TV. Our suite also had a huge attached sunfilled deck with lounge chairs and a patio set.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpd444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We just returned from a 2 day package at the Grand. The package price was more than reasonable. Included two nights with dinner at Clay Hill Farm. If you are seeking a luxury resort than this is not the place. If you are seeking a clean, freindly place with wonderful staff then vy all means this is it. The suites are clean and roomy. The furnishings are a bit outdated but all in all the price can"t be beat for what you get. The meal included at Clay Hill Farm was excellent. Most of the area is now closed but the ocean scenery was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I have been returning to the Grand for several years and it's always like "coming home". The staff is incredibly helpful and friendy and the suites are fantastic; plenty of room this last time for both of us and 12 year old granddaughter. The location is perfect; can walk to shopping , the beach and many fine restaurants. I was amazed to read negative reviews of the continental breakfast----there is absolutely something for everyone...cereal, coffee, tea, variety of juices, bagels, donuts, assorted pastries, toast, fruit.....far more than what is offered at the surrounding hotels. The hotel is quiet, relaxing and our granddaughter loved the pool. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!
Maureen Turro, District Manager
AAA Northern New England
Rutland, Vermont

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mturro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
1.9 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.5 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.5 km away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $121 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing