We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick a Lobsta!”

Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Foster, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pick a Lobsta!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

great place! very unique, but the Lobster was wayyyyy over priced! i got a 1 3/4 lbs lobster, and it was $33! that's insane! i live in RI and can get it cheaper here!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    241
    119
    56
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exquisite lobster”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I'm very glad we couldn't find a table anywhere in Perkin's Cove, otherwise we never would have discovered what is now one of my favorite lobster pound place. The lobster was of course excellent, and so was our cocktail at the bar as we waited for our table. The lobster came with the typical two side dishes, a choice of 4, all of which were succulent, we had different ones to taste all 4. The atmosphere is easy, it's a place for lobster lovers, whether just in two, or with the whole family.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
308 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Maine Lobster Served How You Like It”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Family friendly with fresh seafood but emphasizing lobsters and clams at reasonable prices. Also has other fresh fish as well as non-fish entrees. Their chowder or lobster bisque is delicious as an appetizer. Prices are moderate. It feels like Maine!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must visit every time we go to Maine”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is THE restaurant for lobster if you're in this part of Maine. Some people huff at the price, but it is so worth it! The way they cook the lobsters make them really flavorful and they're always sweet and tender. And what's more fun than picking out your lobster from the tank? Not to mention they split the shells for you before it's served, making it less work to get to the meat. The steamers are great too. Service is always great and I would recommend!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good place for lobster fun”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Is it a tourist trap? Of course it is -- but a GOOD one! You might think lobster is lobster, but there's no comparison between a lobster here and one from the local supermarket. Juicy, plum, flavorful are the operational words here. I know purists cringe when they here they pre-crack the lobsters but it makes it a lot easier to eat, and you still have to work for it. While the lobster is clearly the main attraction, I always enjoyed the sides as well. The baked beans and cole slaw are my favorites. Not the saucy slaw you often get but with a nice crunch instead. Beer selection is somewhat limited but well assorted. Come early on the weekends or you may be in for a long wait.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ogunquit Lobster Pound Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing