We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
515
187
37
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
187
37
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wrap around porch main building east wing lemon water grand piano fresh baked chocolate chip cookies perkins cove marginal way superior king continental breakfast oatmeal hard boiled eggs lobby area rocking chairs guest house ocean view shore road
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 763 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Great stay, very friendly and helpful staff, clean, nice rooms. Strongly recommend. The hotel is walking distance to anywhere you would like to go in Ogunquit. Wrap around porch is great for evening relaxing.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bcorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear bcorn3,

Our wraparound porch is a feature that was added during the 2013 renovation. So glad that you were able to enjoy it during your stay!

Kindly,

The Colonial Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Very nice place. Enjoyed our stay for a long weekend. Hotel was conveniently close to downtown. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Great price! Rooms were clean and neat. The grounds were well kept. Will definitely be returning!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eroon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear eroon32,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your long weekend away from home. We are happy that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and at a great price! We can't wait to see you again.

Kindly,
The Colonial Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Last fall found me in Ogunquit, Maine looking for a hotel interested in weddings. I didn't want the hotel to orchestrate the wedding only to house the wedding guests who would be coming from all over the US and Europe. I knew this historic inn had been renovated several years earlier but had not seen the finished product and knew nothing about the management. From the moment I entered the Inn, I knew this was "the place." I was greeted by Taylor Trainer and immediately felt like family. Unlike the other hotels I visited, here I immediately felt interest, involvement and caring from every single staff member I came in contact with. Nothing was impossible. Yes, they would reserve blocks of rooms. They even offered a discount for wedding guests. Yes, they would work out parking for those few who lived in the area and would not be staying at the Inn. My daughter and her fiance wanted to be married on the beach. What if it rained? Could I rent their huge living room,which was filled with comfortable sofas and chairs, plus a baby grand piano, for the wedding? Taylor said "no" I could not rent it, we could use it free of charge. I wanted to leave a bottle of fine wine in the room for the brides. The staff had a refrigerator brought to the room. Taylor even suggested we hold our "evening before the wedding" dessert reception there also, which we did and it was perfect -- so very comfortable and the space allowed people to move around and chat with those they didn't know while sampling all the homemade desserts. There was no plating fee and a no clean up charge. When Taylor learned that the restaurant where the wedding reception was being held would not let me bring in a homemade wedding cake without a $3/person plating charge, she immediately said we could have the cake cutting there at the Inn after the traditional reception. This allowed for another very relaxed evening which was enjoyed by all our guests. Words can't begin to express our gratitude to Joe DeLois, the owner of the Inn, to Dole Phiri, the General Manager, and to their incredible staff who made us feel like family from the very first moment we entered the Inn. Nothing was impossible, they were there to help with everything. Our guests were wowed and loved the place. Some arrived early and were invited to the Inn's kick off party. Other extended their stays. Many will return. Our thanks of every member of the Colonial Inn staff.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sampayne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Sam,

We can't thank you enough for all of your kind comments about our staff and property! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us as you celebrated Jess and Chrissie's wedding. The happiness and comfort of our guests are our top priorities. Any request a guest has, we are always happy to do our best to make it happen- whether it be for a couple, family or even wedding group! We are very excited to welcome back your wedding guests in the future and hope to see you again very soon.

Kindly,
The Colonial Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

We stayed at the Colonial Inn for our niece's wedding. From the moment we arrived til checkout the quality of service was top notch. We stayed in the rooms behind the Inn. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The beautiful wrap around porch with the gorgeous flowers and rocking chairs was so nice. The location is perfect. We walked the Marginal Way to Perkins Cove and went to breakfast at Bessie's. You can walk to everything. We would highly recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Some of our family that stayed in the actual Inn said their rooms were tiny. We were out back and our rooms had plenty of space. We had a little balcony too.
Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoanneP2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear Joanne P,

We appreciate your kind review and all of the wonderful things that you have to say about our staff and property. The rooms in our outer buildings have been wonderfully redone recently with updated furniture and fixtures for the comfort of our guests. We are very happy that you enjoyed your room and the location of our property to the town attractions. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Ogunquit!

Kindly,
The Colonial Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Colonial Inn a few weeks ago for a family wedding. We booked a king room with an ocean view, and the room itself was lovely: coastal decor, a very clean and updated bathroom, and a nice view of the ocean (though it did overlook another property, so it was a partially obstructed view). The staff was all very friendly, and the continental breakfast was nice as well. The only complaint we had -- and it was a fairly big one -- was how thin the walls were. We literally could hear whispered conversations going on outside the door and in the next room. It was so bad that we could even hear people raising and lowering their blinds. So, if you don't mind the lack of privacy, this hotel has a fantastic location, staff, and room quality. But you will hear every word ...and everything else... that is going on next door, in the hallway, and outside the window.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main inn to get a view of the ocean. It is not a direct view, but you can still see the waves!
Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YorkTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dole P, General Manager at The Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Dear YorkTravelGirl,

Thank you for giving us a try on your trip to Ogunquit! The ocean view rooms are very lovely as you mentioned, with coastal decor and beautiful views of the water. Because we are not right on the water, most guests are surprised that we have so many rooms with views on the upper levels of the Main Inn. Unlike the historic Main Inn, the outer buildings are newer builds with a bit better soundproofing. We would be happy to discuss these room options with you shall you choose to return and stay with us in the future. We would be very delighted to welcome you back!

Kindly,
The Colonial Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews