We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
113
118
65
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
118
65
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed in building softball tournament building c different buildings private balcony hot tub two queen beds off season second floor partial ocean view great room old orchard longer stay small kitchenette amusement park room was clean and comfortable next year
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 355 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everyone working there were friendly, courteous and helpful. One evening one of our neighbors were very noisy. Before we could call the front desk to complain, their security arrived and took care of the situation.
The patio was great. We ate all of our meals outside and the view was great!
Very relaxing, we will be back.

Room Tip: The upper rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainevacationer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you! We do work hard at making everyone's stay here as comfortable as possible. Old Orchard Beach is a great family friendly area and we try to keep it that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for six nights after labor day, which gave us a great rate on the best ocean front room I have ever stayed in. The deck was the best part private and unobstuced view of the ocean! The kitchen saved us alot as we enjoyed breakfast on our deck almost everyday. The staff was very helpful, and the computer in the lobby was an excellent tool in planning our return trip home. The location on the beach and yet within easy walking distance of great resturants and shops in town was great! The two seperate sleeping areas with two tvs was perfect for us, very nice.

Room Tip: Great rates during off season, oceanfront rooms in Building E are the best!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NKathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and taking the time to let others know about your stay. We look forward to your return and enjoyed having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms kind of gave us the willies, as far as cleanliness. The carpet was very dirty, for example. There wasn't much space to move around, with the two double beds. The balconies don't seem very safe for toddlers. I had to watch mine like a hawk - afraid he was going to tumble down through the railing to the drive below.

They did have a lot of staff there to help, as far as the front desk, bringing stuff to the room when we needed it, etc. The location was decent, as far as proximity to the beach, restaurants, and the Pier. The beach was crowded when were were there (8/18-8/20), but the beach was clean, and the water very clear.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are sorry your stay was less than you expected. As our property is located directly on the beach, sand a such does tend to make it into the rooms. We have many talented and hard working staff members here to assist you in any way. If you do not give us the opportunity to correct the problem it is hard for us to fix it after the fact. Of course the 7 mile stretch of sandy beach is a popular spot we cannot control how busy it gets. We hope you give us another try if you make it back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms and area were fine, but travel plan changed 10mins after check in. Had booked for two nights but could only stay one night. Even with asking for a refund for second night check in 10 mins earlier was not given a refund. Total money grab, if you can charge a card, you can refund a card. Gave ample notice .....wont go back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest we are sorry you had that experience. The happenings as you describe are NOT part of our operating manual. I would love to look closer at this situation as there is other similarly name properties in the area and this could be a case of reviewing the wrong property. We would never take advantage our guests as return guests represent the largest part of our business. We are sorry you will not be returning but perhaps we are not the hotel you were speaking of and we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 2 nights here with our teen son with a side view in Building B. The furniture was relatively new & the 2 Queen beds were comfortable. We did not hear much noise from our neighbours. The bathroom and kitchenette are oldish but clean. Nice location with easy walk to the beach. 10 minute walk to the Pier. For two nights, it was fine. Intermittent wifi. Lobby was better connection. Would prefer a larger unit for a longer stay. Avoid the restaurant for breakfast or lunch – the service is much too long. We tried twice and waited 30+ minutes for our food. For suppers : we did Joseph’s by the Sea and Landmarks. Both fine dining restaurants but Joseph’s view is spectacular (reservations needed). We biked around OOB which was fun and we did mini-golf. We were happy to have our bogey boards for the waves. The water is cold but you do get used to it after a while. Enjoy the summer.

Room Tip: Many different buildings so check it out
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montrealtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear guest, We have just spent $35,000.00 at making sure every room has a WiFi connection all of the time. We also have change the Cafe so the service is much faster and the menu even tastier. If you do come again please ask about our suites or cottages in a variety of sizes all or which are roomier than our standard room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews