We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel like many is right on the beach. We have rented many places here and been disappointed by nice looking web sites. The rooms are very clean and staff were great. The pool like most of these places is small but we don't go there for pools we go for the ocean. We have Ben back twice and plan to continue. Ocean lobster and night fishing it doesn't get better.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mairco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for your review! we are always adding new things to our property and this spring we opened our brand new stat-of -the-art mineral pool and spa complete with four waterfalls. The guest love working out in our fitness room and relaxing by the pool. Grabing a bite to eat at our cafe, getting thier beach suppiles from our store and then putting their toes in the sand on our 7 mile white sand beach. We look forward to you coming back to the Waves Oceanfront Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed at the Waves at the end of June in 2011, right before the July 4th rush. Perfect time to stay if you do not like crowds. First time at Old Orchard Beach and we loved it. The hotel was great for a beach place. The name "resort" might be a little misleading if you are expecting a true "resort". The rooms were worn as a lot of beach places up north are. However, the rooms were very clean. Views from the room were the best on the beach. We were right on the sand. We had rooms 83, 84, 85 and 86. Rooms had balconies with unobstructed views. There is an amusement park just down the road and it is not far from Portland Maine.

Room Tip: Unobstructed view in rooms 84 & 86.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmarylisTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waves Oceanfront Resort. You did stay in some very popular rooms and that view is outstanding. We look forward to your return as we have our new mineral pool and spa up and running. With our state-of-the-art fitness room, on site cafe, gift shops, meeting rooms, bike and beach rentals and more we truly do feel we are the most complete Resort on Old Orchard Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Everyone working there were friendly, courteous and helpful. One evening one of our neighbors were very noisy. Before we could call the front desk to complain, their security arrived and took care of the situation.
The patio was great. We ate all of our meals outside and the view was great!
Very relaxing, we will be back.

Room Tip: The upper rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainevacationer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you! We do work hard at making everyone's stay here as comfortable as possible. Old Orchard Beach is a great family friendly area and we try to keep it that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My sister and I stayed here for six nights after labor day, which gave us a great rate on the best ocean front room I have ever stayed in. The deck was the best part private and unobstuced view of the ocean! The kitchen saved us alot as we enjoyed breakfast on our deck almost everyday. The staff was very helpful, and the computer in the lobby was an excellent tool in planning our return trip home. The location on the beach and yet within easy walking distance of great resturants and shops in town was great! The two seperate sleeping areas with two tvs was perfect for us, very nice.

Room Tip: Great rates during off season, oceanfront rooms in Building E are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NKathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you for your review and taking the time to let others know about your stay. We look forward to your return and enjoyed having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The rooms kind of gave us the willies, as far as cleanliness. The carpet was very dirty, for example. There wasn't much space to move around, with the two double beds. The balconies don't seem very safe for toddlers. I had to watch mine like a hawk - afraid he was going to tumble down through the railing to the drive below.

They did have a lot of staff there to help, as far as the front desk, bringing stuff to the room when we needed it, etc. The location was decent, as far as proximity to the beach, restaurants, and the Pier. The beach was crowded when were were there (8/18-8/20), but the beach was clean, and the water very clear.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

We are sorry your stay was less than you expected. As our property is located directly on the beach, sand a such does tend to make it into the rooms. We have many talented and hard working staff members here to assist you in any way. If you do not give us the opportunity to correct the problem it is hard for us to fix it after the fact. Of course the 7 mile stretch of sandy beach is a popular spot we cannot control how busy it gets. We hope you give us another try if you make it back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Rooms and area were fine, but travel plan changed 10mins after check in. Had booked for two nights but could only stay one night. Even with asking for a refund for second night check in 10 mins earlier was not given a refund. Total money grab, if you can charge a card, you can refund a card. Gave ample notice .....wont go back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear guest we are sorry you had that experience. The happenings as you describe are NOT part of our operating manual. I would love to look closer at this situation as there is other similarly name properties in the area and this could be a case of reviewing the wrong property. We would never take advantage our guests as return guests represent the largest part of our business. We are sorry you will not be returning but perhaps we are not the hotel you were speaking of and we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent 2 nights here with our teen son with a side view in Building B. The furniture was relatively new & the 2 Queen beds were comfortable. We did not hear much noise from our neighbours. The bathroom and kitchenette are oldish but clean. Nice location with easy walk to the beach. 10 minute walk to the Pier. For two nights, it was fine. Intermittent wifi. Lobby was better connection. Would prefer a larger unit for a longer stay. Avoid the restaurant for breakfast or lunch – the service is much too long. We tried twice and waited 30+ minutes for our food. For suppers : we did Joseph’s by the Sea and Landmarks. Both fine dining restaurants but Joseph’s view is spectacular (reservations needed). We biked around OOB which was fun and we did mini-golf. We were happy to have our bogey boards for the waves. The water is cold but you do get used to it after a while. Enjoy the summer.

Room Tip: Many different buildings so check it out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear guest, We have just spent $35,000.00 at making sure every room has a WiFi connection all of the time. We also have change the Cafe so the service is much faster and the menu even tastier. If you do come again please ask about our suites or cottages in a variety of sizes all or which are roomier than our standard room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Inn at Soho Square
Inn at Soho Square
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
35 reviews
0.2 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
1.6 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#16 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
2.7 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $96 - $1,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing