We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic Ocean Suites(Old Orchard Beach)
US$359
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$239
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marvin Gardens Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Orchard Beach Inn(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marcotte Motor Court(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Breeze Inn(Old Orchard Beach)
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Atlantis Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beau Rivage Motel(Old Orchard Beach)
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motor Inn(Old Orchard Beach)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
112
111
63
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
111
63
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed in buildingsoftball tournamentbuilding cdifferent buildingsprivate balconyhot tubshort walksecond floorpartial ocean viewold orchardgreat roomtwo queen bedslonger staysmall kitchenetteroom was clean and comfortablepeak seasonflat screen
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 345 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed at the Waves at the end of June in 2011, right before the July 4th rush. Perfect time to stay if you do not like crowds. First time at Old Orchard Beach and we loved it. The hotel was great for a beach place. The name "resort" might be a little misleading if you are expecting a true "resort". The rooms were worn as a lot of beach places up north are. However, the rooms were very clean. Views from the room were the best on the beach. We were right on the sand. We had rooms 83, 84, 85 and 86. Rooms had balconies with unobstructed views. There is an amusement park just down the road and it is not far from Portland Maine.

Room Tip: Unobstructed view in rooms 84 & 86.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmarylisTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waves Oceanfront Resort. You did stay in some very popular rooms and that view is outstanding. We look forward to your return as we have our new mineral pool and spa up and running. With our state-of-the-art fitness room, on site cafe, gift shops, meeting rooms, bike and beach rentals and more we truly do feel we are the most complete Resort on Old Orchard Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everyone working there were friendly, courteous and helpful. One evening one of our neighbors were very noisy. Before we could call the front desk to complain, their security arrived and took care of the situation.
The patio was great. We ate all of our meals outside and the view was great!
Very relaxing, we will be back.

Room Tip: The upper rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainevacationer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you! We do work hard at making everyone's stay here as comfortable as possible. Old Orchard Beach is a great family friendly area and we try to keep it that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for six nights after labor day, which gave us a great rate on the best ocean front room I have ever stayed in. The deck was the best part private and unobstuced view of the ocean! The kitchen saved us alot as we enjoyed breakfast on our deck almost everyday. The staff was very helpful, and the computer in the lobby was an excellent tool in planning our return trip home. The location on the beach and yet within easy walking distance of great resturants and shops in town was great! The two seperate sleeping areas with two tvs was perfect for us, very nice.

Room Tip: Great rates during off season, oceanfront rooms in Building E are the best!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NKathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and taking the time to let others know about your stay. We look forward to your return and enjoyed having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms kind of gave us the willies, as far as cleanliness. The carpet was very dirty, for example. There wasn't much space to move around, with the two double beds. The balconies don't seem very safe for toddlers. I had to watch mine like a hawk - afraid he was going to tumble down through the railing to the drive below.

They did have a lot of staff there to help, as far as the front desk, bringing stuff to the room when we needed it, etc. The location was decent, as far as proximity to the beach, restaurants, and the Pier. The beach was crowded when were were there (8/18-8/20), but the beach was clean, and the water very clear.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gjfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are sorry your stay was less than you expected. As our property is located directly on the beach, sand a such does tend to make it into the rooms. We have many talented and hard working staff members here to assist you in any way. If you do not give us the opportunity to correct the problem it is hard for us to fix it after the fact. Of course the 7 mile stretch of sandy beach is a popular spot we cannot control how busy it gets. We hope you give us another try if you make it back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms and area were fine, but travel plan changed 10mins after check in. Had booked for two nights but could only stay one night. Even with asking for a refund for second night check in 10 mins earlier was not given a refund. Total money grab, if you can charge a card, you can refund a card. Gave ample notice .....wont go back!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear guest we are sorry you had that experience. The happenings as you describe are NOT part of our operating manual. I would love to look closer at this situation as there is other similarly name properties in the area and this could be a case of reviewing the wrong property. We would never take advantage our guests as return guests represent the largest part of our business. We are sorry you will not be returning but perhaps we are not the hotel you were speaking of and we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews