We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Waves when my son did the REV3 Triathlon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My son decided to do the REV 3 Triathlon in Old Orchard Beach this past August. Waves was the host motel. We looked at some photos, read some reviews and booked 2 rooms. As it got closer to the date of the triathlon, I started doing research on Old Orchard Beach and read more motel reviews. Most were good, however several were terrible......dirty bedding, ripped curtains, dirty bathroom, etc. Needless to say, I was quite nervous about staying there. Old Orchard Beach is an older beach town and most of the motels are also older. The town has a charm of its own! The motel was not the fanciest one we ever stayed at.....however, it was clean, the bedding was new looking, the bathroom, though not huge, was very clean, the curtains on the sliding glass door were also new looking and clean!! We asked for more towels and packets of coffee for the coffeemaker, which were gladly given to us. There is coffee in the lobby, but we enjoy a few cups later at night and wanted to make it in our room! The beach is steps away, the pool and hot tub were fantastic and the wonderful pier is within walking distance. We had our grandchildren and my parents with us and it was no problem to walk there! The staff was friendly and helpful. Hopefully REV3 will be holding another triathlon there next year and HOPEFULLY we will be back again next year! We had a wonderful experience! Thank you , we enjoyed our stay there so much, 3 nights wasn't long enough....maybe next year, we will stay longer! And to top it off, my son finished 6th in the Half Rev!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in building C, which was a great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanacndy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear guest,

Congradulations to your son and we certainly hope you will be back and we would love to host your vacation. Old Orchard is a great family beach town and we try to make our property as family friendly as possible. Thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have been traveling to Old Orchard for many years. We have stayed at Waves before, and it is definitely about the location. The beach is right there - what else matters! It is close enough to walk to the Pier yet far enough where you don't hear any of the noise. The rooms are old but there are few hotels in the area that have modern rooms. The staff was friendly, and we had maintenance issues (glass slider out to deck was stuck - shower door would not slide either) and they were very responsive. My only complaints are that parking is tough at the hotel and you really better hope you find a spot - the other complaint is that they make you wear wristbands to gain access to the pool/hot tub. I am not a kid - I don't need to wear a bracelet during my entire stay. They have a code to get into the pool area so I'm not sure why they make you wear the stupid bracelets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We do work hard at making all of our guests comfortable. We do tell all of our guests that given the chance we are committed to getting it right. Parking is a premium here at the beach like any beach. We guarantee one spot per room and have security on to try and limit any unauthorized parking so that each of our guests always has a spot. We also have an additional satellite lot that is a first come first serve basis that none of the other hotels have. So I think most people coming to Old Orchard Beach in the summer would agree although parking is tight, it is much better here at the Waves than many of our competitors. The new mineral pool and spa has been a great addition to our property, but we are learning how to control folks who are not guests form over crowding our pool for our guests. We only ask that you keep the bracelets with you if you are uncomfortable wearing them. The idea comes from resorts in Hawaii, Las Vegas and other resort towns. Most of our guests don’t mind but some don’t like it. It has nothing to do with making anyone feel childish, and apologize if it did. It is our attempt at making our property better. Thank you for your thoughts and we will take your feelings into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Although we had to cancel our travel plans before we could stay at the Waves, I felt it was important to note that the communication process with the hotel for reservations was outstanding. I had been planning a special trip for a family member, and after making reservations, I e-mailed the hotel again to make sure we were getting the room we wanted - again, because this was to be a special trip. Even though I was being uber-picky, the staff responses were professional, personal, fast and kind. You don't always find that everywhere these days!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We do try to communicate truthfully and accurately all information about our property. From our brand new mineral pool and spa, our fitness center to our location on the beach, we try to be clear and precise. We hope if you find yourself coming to Old Orchard Beach in the future you look us up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I booked a room here and was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were very clean and the location was perfect for me and my wife. Good food in the area and plenty of things to do and the ocean is at your back door for sunrise or sunset walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that this becomes and annual trip for you and your wife!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

spent a lot of money for two ocean view rooms, all we could see was the cabins in front of us,booked one room for two older kids because the two beds were separated by a bathroom wall, the wall was not there? we asked at the front desk, about the room we had booked and where told they remodeled the rooms, lie !they need to change there web site or stop lying, they put us in different rooms or i think a different building. oh ya , we had ac i think? the ac was by the ceiling in a corner it barley cooled the room, people dont waste your money on the waves resort, and as far as other reviews about the place being clean what a joke didnt vacum the rooms,didnt change the sheets,we traveld alot in maine, and had decent places to stay, but the waves resort was the worst misrepresenated place ever,we would never recomend the waves resort, family from VT. YOU WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH ABOUT WAVES? danboli5@hotmail.com J. MOSSEY

Room Tip: my tip to travelers , dont go to the waves resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMOSSEYRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Our company has been selling hotel rooms for our thirty years. Our policy is to explain and communicate with our guests so that they know are exactly what they are getting and paying for. The Waves Oceanfront Resort consists of 16 different buildings ranging in price style and location to the beach. Because our prices are dictated by view, we take painstaking time to truthfully describe each room and their view. We do have rooms that are not sold as view rooms that have some oceanfront cottages in front of them. They would never be sold as a view room and they would never be sold as a divided style room because they are not and never have been. Those rooms have new furniture, but have not yet been reniviated. None of our staff are liars and we take offense to such accusations. Most likely this guest made last minute reservations and could not get the room they really wanted. It is always better not to wait for the last minute and make your reservations in advance. Many of our returning guests make their reservations when they leave so they insure they get the exact room they want year after year. All of our rooms have been evaluated by A/C specialists and we have followed their recommendations as to the needs of each room. But we do have additional units that could have been used in the room if necessary. As far as the inflammatory remarks about our housekeeping staff, we spent six thousand dollars on state-of-the-art vacuums alone this spring and we will stand by our rooms as being some of the cleanest in Old orchard Beach. If housekeeping did not service a room perhaps the Do Not Disturb was hung on the outside of the door. If not we believe much of this review to have another motive other than telling the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was my second stay here, the rooms and grounds are very clean. The rooms were very clean. I would like to see bigger towels but I think most motel/hotels are using the newer smaller towels. I loved the pool. It was sparkling clean.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, take a room not overlooking the Ocean. if you dont mind paying more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctredsoxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you for your review! We do work night and day at maintaining and improving our property. The new mineral pool and spa have been a big hit. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Waves is a good place to stay at Old Orchard Beach. The rooms could use some refurbishing - decor is dated and old, mattresses and pillows could stand to be replaced - but it's clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The best thing is the beach, which is right outside your door. The hotel is also walking distance to The Pier and to several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Building F is good - it's close to the beach and a short walk to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dathorpe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Inn at Soho Square
Inn at Soho Square
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
35 reviews
1.6 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
2.1 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#27 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
2.7 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $96 - $1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing