We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic Ocean Suites(Old Orchard Beach)
US$359
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Drift Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Beachfront Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Orchard Beach Inn(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marvin Gardens Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Motel(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beau Rivage Motel(Old Orchard Beach)
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marcotte Motor Court(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friendship Oceanfront Suites(Old Orchard Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
111
111
63
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
111
63
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed in buildingsoftball tournamentbuilding cdifferent buildingsprivate balconyhot tubshort walksecond floorpartial ocean viewold orchardgreat roomtwo queen bedslonger staysmall kitchenetteroom was clean and comfortablepeak seasonflat screen
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 344 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been traveling to Old Orchard for many years. We have stayed at Waves before, and it is definitely about the location. The beach is right there - what else matters! It is close enough to walk to the Pier yet far enough where you don't hear any of the noise. The rooms are old but there are few hotels in the area that have modern rooms. The staff was friendly, and we had maintenance issues (glass slider out to deck was stuck - shower door would not slide either) and they were very responsive. My only complaints are that parking is tough at the hotel and you really better hope you find a spot - the other complaint is that they make you wear wristbands to gain access to the pool/hot tub. I am not a kid - I don't need to wear a bracelet during my entire stay. They have a code to get into the pool area so I'm not sure why they make you wear the stupid bracelets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do work hard at making all of our guests comfortable. We do tell all of our guests that given the chance we are committed to getting it right. Parking is a premium here at the beach like any beach. We guarantee one spot per room and have security on to try and limit any unauthorized parking so that each of our guests always has a spot. We also have an additional satellite lot that is a first come first serve basis that none of the other hotels have. So I think most people coming to Old Orchard Beach in the summer would agree although parking is tight, it is much better here at the Waves than many of our competitors. The new mineral pool and spa has been a great addition to our property, but we are learning how to control folks who are not guests form over crowding our pool for our guests. We only ask that you keep the bracelets with you if you are uncomfortable wearing them. The idea comes from resorts in Hawaii, Las Vegas and other resort towns. Most of our guests don’t mind but some don’t like it. It has nothing to do with making anyone feel childish, and apologize if it did. It is our attempt at making our property better. Thank you for your thoughts and we will take your feelings into account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although we had to cancel our travel plans before we could stay at the Waves, I felt it was important to note that the communication process with the hotel for reservations was outstanding. I had been planning a special trip for a family member, and after making reservations, I e-mailed the hotel again to make sure we were getting the room we wanted - again, because this was to be a special trip. Even though I was being uber-picky, the staff responses were professional, personal, fast and kind. You don't always find that everywhere these days!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do try to communicate truthfully and accurately all information about our property. From our brand new mineral pool and spa, our fitness center to our location on the beach, we try to be clear and precise. We hope if you find yourself coming to Old Orchard Beach in the future you look us up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked a room here and was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were very clean and the location was perfect for me and my wife. Good food in the area and plenty of things to do and the ocean is at your back door for sunrise or sunset walks on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that this becomes and annual trip for you and your wife!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2012

spent a lot of money for two ocean view rooms, all we could see was the cabins in front of us,booked one room for two older kids because the two beds were separated by a bathroom wall, the wall was not there? we asked at the front desk, about the room we had booked and where told they remodeled the rooms, lie !they need to change there web site or stop lying, they put us in different rooms or i think a different building. oh ya , we had ac i think? the ac was by the ceiling in a corner it barley cooled the room, people dont waste your money on the waves resort, and as far as other reviews about the place being clean what a joke didnt vacum the rooms,didnt change the sheets,we traveld alot in maine, and had decent places to stay, but the waves resort was the worst misrepresenated place ever,we would never recomend the waves resort, family from VT. YOU WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH ABOUT WAVES? danboli5@hotmail.com J. MOSSEY

Room Tip: my tip to travelers , dont go to the waves resort
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMOSSEYRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Our company has been selling hotel rooms for our thirty years. Our policy is to explain and communicate with our guests so that they know are exactly what they are getting and paying for. The Waves Oceanfront Resort consists of 16 different buildings ranging in price style and location to the beach. Because our prices are dictated by view, we take painstaking time to truthfully describe each room and their view. We do have rooms that are not sold as view rooms that have some oceanfront cottages in front of them. They would never be sold as a view room and they would never be sold as a divided style room because they are not and never have been. Those rooms have new furniture, but have not yet been reniviated. None of our staff are liars and we take offense to such accusations. Most likely this guest made last minute reservations and could not get the room they really wanted. It is always better not to wait for the last minute and make your reservations in advance. Many of our returning guests make their reservations when they leave so they insure they get the exact room they want year after year. All of our rooms have been evaluated by A/C specialists and we have followed their recommendations as to the needs of each room. But we do have additional units that could have been used in the room if necessary. As far as the inflammatory remarks about our housekeeping staff, we spent six thousand dollars on state-of-the-art vacuums alone this spring and we will stand by our rooms as being some of the cleanest in Old orchard Beach. If housekeeping did not service a room perhaps the Do Not Disturb was hung on the outside of the door. If not we believe much of this review to have another motive other than telling the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my second stay here, the rooms and grounds are very clean. The rooms were very clean. I would like to see bigger towels but I think most motel/hotels are using the newer smaller towels. I loved the pool. It was sparkling clean.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, take a room not overlooking the Ocean. if you dont mind paying more , the views are nice form the Ocean View rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctredsoxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review! We do work night and day at maintaining and improving our property. The new mineral pool and spa have been a big hit. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews