We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place but...”
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sherbrooke, Québec Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place but...”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just got back from spending a couple of days at The Edgewater in Old Orchard Beach. Very nice hotel, very friendly owner. The only thing I didn't like is the parking lot. The spaces are very tight and hard to move around. You don't get a specific place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    57
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Edgewater is a fantastic place to stay while visiting Old Orchard Beach. The location is great, the beach is steps away. I walked and watched the sunrise each morning, the kids played in the sand and everyone played in the ocean. The ages in our group ranged from 62 through almost 6 months. The staff was amazing; polite, kind and helpful in so many ways. My son received a 3rd degree burn from his airbag during an accident on I495 and they searched and found burn cream for him. When we were leaving my grandson sprayed his Mohawk haircut with blue, one of the employees asked him to put a streak of blue in her hair. We had the apartment plus another room. Both were clean and comfortable, completely enjoyed by all. We definitely plan on returning. Yes, all the excellent reviews are accurate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This motel was so clean and friendly!! We loved it and would recommend it to everyone! We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Small rooms for small families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylmer, Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We got the standard room which was very nice. The room had two double beds. We have three small children and there were two adults. Although the room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable, the pillows were nice and puffy, we were not able to get a cot on the first night for the third child. My husband ended up sleeping in the car. On the second night we got a cot, the cot barely fit in the room. I would recommend a bigger room if you are five people. The folks at reception were excellent and very polite. Thank you. The heated pool was a blessing with the cool weather we had. Overall, it is a great hotel that I would recommend.

Room Tip: Good room, standard room is small for 5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We picked this one,,because of a terrific review someone wrote,,,
and we were so pleased,,from the start,,we felt very welcomed & comfortible.
The friendly service was evident as soon as we entered office and met the
nicest lady at the front desk,,,and it only got better from there,,the room was awesome,
It had a hometown New England decor,,like a B&B,,but we were in our own private room,on the beach,close to all the action,,but not the noise!You didn't need a car,,everything is within walking distance,,Thanks Edgewater,,for the perfect vacation,,
the Amatos

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amato_pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Six of us girls get together each July for a long weekend and we had been going to the Edgewater but last year (2010) tried a different hotel in York Beach, Maine. while we had a great time we missed the Edgewater. It is a short walk to the beach and the rooms are spacious with a large bathroom (2 of us can get eady at once!!) and the owners and people who work there are WONDERFUL. Rooms are spotless and decor is very "beachy"
We arrived and were greeted like family. One day we were all in the room trying to get ready to go somewhere and the cleaning ladies had to come back two or three times before they could get in. They were so nice about it, did not make us feel rushed at all.
The sunrise from this hotel is breathtaking and the fireworks on the beach each Thursday night are so much fun. Take your bach chairs down to the beach and enjoy.
The Pier where all the action is is within walking distance from the hotel as are several places to eat and shop.
We were glad we went back and feel certain that we will be back again next year. Whether you are a group of friends looking for a relaxing weekend or a family looking to have lots to do, you won't regret staying here

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My family has only been back home for 3 days and we can't wait to go back!
Exactly as clean and meticulous as the photos show.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
435 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
0.9 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
224 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
186 reviews
1.3 km away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing