We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We made a family trip up the coast at the end of september and I thought OOB would be a good stop. I'm glad it was the off season and it was a ghost town. I really liked the hotel, proximity to the beach, location to Portland and the towns to the south like Kennybunk. But I think I would have been pulling my hair out in July. The hotel was great. Nice room, very friendly and helpful staff, the pool was very warm and my daughter and I swam a couple of times, even for at least an hour on a 62 degree day. We hads the beach to ourselves and it warmed up to mid 70s and it turned into our own slice. If its your cup of tea, you'll love this place in the summer too.

Room Tip: lower level rooms have the wood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyrell1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a fantastic time at this hotel, right on the beach, very clean comfortable rooms, great restaurant right next door. We stayed in October 2011 while on our fall foliage drive. We wished we would have stayed another night

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have ocean views, but you are right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noscire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Edgewater is a recently renovated motel along the shore in Old Orchard beach. The rooms are fairly large and there is a microwave and mini fridge. There are only a couple of rooms with a water view, but it is right on the beach. The owner is very helpful, and. the wifi connection may be sporadic. The location is within walking distance of some attractions and restaurants, and is definitely within easy driving distance of Portland and other towns on the southern Maine coast.

Room Tip: Look at the map carefully, there is a pool on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We just stayed here are were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The rooms have been recently updated and have a nice, bright cottage look. Staff was very friendly and it was convenient to the beach and other areas of town. Imagine it is noisy during the summer but perfect in the off-season. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTAORB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I were on vacation driving along the New England east coast and happened upon this little gem by the sea. We planned to stay one night and ended up staying for three. We stayed in room #9 which is on the ground floor and near the stairs. I slept soundly with very little noise noted at night. Our room had two double beds. If you want a king size bed it costs a little more. The rooms are clean and decorated in crisp blue and white. The floors are wood and this is nice for the folks who are grossed out by carpet and what lurks in it. The bathroom was great because the shower and toilet were in one area and just outside of it was the sink with counter. This works well when one person is doing make-up and hair while the
other is showering and such. We fell in love with Jeanne who is the queen of the front desk. She is a peach and a true asset to The Edgewater. I can't say enough good things about all of the the help she gave us regarding good places to eat and things to do. She knew just what we wanted and sent us on the right track. The ocean is just feet from the parking lot. The
beach is wide open and you can walk in both directions for what seems like forever. The pool was still being heated and was a balmy 87 degrees. I noted many of the other hotels were draining their pools. We arrived the week after labor day so some of the stores were closed, but there were also enough places open to have a good meal and drinks and also do a little shopping within walking distance. Plus very little in the way of crowds. We are planning on a
return visit next year for our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrawli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in the apartment that they have (room 12) it was nice and spacious complete with a full kitchen and living room. Close proximity to the pool and just a walk to the end of the motel is the beautiful beach with great views of the pier. We only stayed for two nights but it was a great stay. Unfortunately we had two cars so we had to find alternative parking for one night but were able to do so at the restaurant next door. My only issue was the price. It was $200 a night and for it to be low season I thought that was a little much. No breakfast either. But we went to the store and made breakfast in the apartment :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just got back from spending a couple of days at The Edgewater in Old Orchard Beach. Very nice hotel, very friendly owner. The only thing I didn't like is the parking lot. The spaces are very tight and hard to move around. You don't get a specific place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
1.4 km away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.9 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing