We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Went for the $1 hot dog and drink mid way on the pier.!!!

There's a booth half way down the pier that sells $1 dogs and a drink when I turned around and... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
chip286
,
West Newfeild Maine
Fun on the pier

The pier is a nice place to take friends and walk around. Enjoy good food and drinks. Great place... read more

Reviewed December 11, 2018
semperfi80
,
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
via mobile
Read all 766 reviews
  
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
192
196
232
88
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
196
232
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amusement park steamers souvenir shops raw bar pier fries seafood palace playland ocean stroll maine
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 766 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We went after labor day so only the arcade was open. We were actually lucky and came when they were having their annual car show! So amazing to see such a wide range of classics cars. There were quaint little shops and I can see how summer time it would be a great attraction for family vacations. Great long sandy beach . local wholesome goodness and friendly vendors. My husband and I had a blast at their arcade area. Felt like kids on our first dates.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Yen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Old Orchard Beach has been a tourist destination since 1829. Located on the inner side of Sacco Bay on the Atlantic Ocean on the Maine coastline, Old Orchard Beach (population: 8,624) is part of the Portland/South Portland/Biddleford metropolitan area. A popular summer beach destination, it contains many tourist-oriented businesses, including clam shacks, T-short shops and souvenir shops. The seven-mile-long beach is lined with many beachfront properties, condominiums, motels and bed-and-breakfasts. First settled in 1657, the town's first Public House opened in 1829. Over the years, Old Orchard has developed into a major resort. At one time, airplanes took off from the beach. The oldest hotel, The Ocean House Hotel & Motel, built in 1895 and located at 71 West Grand Avenue, is still standing and retains its original parlors. The seaside amusement park Palace Playland, which dates to 1902, is located in Old Orchard Beach. It was home to the first carousel in the United States. The current version of Palace Playland boasts a newly built Ferris wheel, a 24,000-square-foot arcade and 25 rides for adults and children. But the centerpiece is the Old Orchard Beach Pier, which at 1,825 feet was the longest steel pier in the world when construction was completed in 1898. It once hosted such acts as Frank Sinatra, Guy Lombardo, Louis Armstrong, Benny Goodman and Xavier Cugat. After storms, fires and blizzards destroyed parts of the pier, it was rebuilt in 1980 with the length reduced to 500 feet into the Atlantic Ocean. Today, the wooden walkway is lined with souvenir shops, carnival-style foods and a nightclub. Although the pier isn't the go-to destination it once was, Old Orchard Beach remains a popular summer vacation venue for tourists, particularly French Canadiens from Montreal and the province of Quebec. Or for Chicagoans on their way from Boston to Bar Harbor.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

The pier just felt dirty to me. We went to a couple of places on the pier and I wasn’t impressed by either place! Will go back to Old Orchard Beach but I think we’ll skip the pier!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

After dinner we drove to the Pier to avoid the crowds and Heat.. Very nice walk at 630 to 730 pm. I highly recommend it to people. It is visually appealing and relaxing. The beach is big enough and the amusment park is a little ways away (noise isn't too loud). I highly recommend visiting.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Unless you want to pay for overpriced mediocre food don't bother as there's many other better dining places. Good for getting a toe ring or t shirt but there really is nothing there to see. I found it a waste of time unless you just want a high view of the beach.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews