We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn Academic Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This was our first visit and we will definitely be back. We went to visit our nephew in college at UMaine Orono. The Inn was clean and the staff were friendly. Rooms were clean and had a lot of room. Comfy beds and soft towels. Breakfast is included and had several choices including hot food items.
Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onspithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Inn A, Owner at University Inn Academic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We are so glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We have stayed at University Inn 4 times. We have stayed at other places in the area but this is our favorite. We love the river view, the location and most of all the customer service. Everyone has always been so pleasant! We appreciate all of their efforts!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Our daughter attends UMaine and every time we've visited her we've stayed at the University Inn, we've even stayed there with our 4 legged child and the Inn was very dog friendly! I was very surprised how clean the rooms are especially for a pet friendly hotel, you'd never know that pets were allowed! The last 2 times we stayed I was late on making reservations so we were put on a cancelation list which we were able to be accomidated both times! The only negative thing I would say is that their breakfast isn't so great but everything else was great! We will definitely be staying there again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for a "river view" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

So I recently stayed here for a weekend with my kids while visiting my eldest daughter at UMaine. When booking the room and explaining that my wife and I had 3 young kids with us, the person on the phone said that wasn't a problem. They had a room with 2 beds and a kitchenette. That was perfect for us, however when we arrived we found our room only had 1 full bed (which could barely fit my wife and I), and a couch. The "kitchenette" was only a toaster oven, microwave, and mini fridge tucked in the corner of the room. I felt that was a Huge stretch calling that a kitchenette and was very misleading to us. Every other place in town was booked up because it was family weekend so we were stuck. The whole place was very out dated, room had a strong musty odor that drove us crazy all weekend. The only plus, was that it's the closest place to campus and had a pool. Next time we visit her, we will definitely not be staying here. Too many other places not too far, right in Bangor that are much nicer and up to date.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed here for a wedding and they were extremely accommodating. They had a descent breakfast every morning. Great location. You can walk to downtown orono where their are great restaurants. We had no problems at all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karawhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My daughter went to school at U. Maine. We visited the inn during her 4 years and enjoyed our stay. We continue to stay there as we travel to other locations. Coffee is available, there is a wine party in the afternoon. We also enjoy its close proximity to downtown Orono and the trail network at U. Maine. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and have coffee. You will also have the opportunity to purchase a stuffed blackbear to benefit children with cancer. I have a whole collection of them from over the years. Overall, it's a great place to stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We all had a great stay, hotel is very accommodating and met our needs. Small but free breakfast in the morning, easy access to I-95 and downtown Orono. Would recommend. Also a bonus was the free shuttle from PVCC!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orono
2.3 km away
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
7.8 km away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
530 reviews
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
7.8 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
7.4 km away
Milford Motel on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Ave, Orono, ME 04473-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range: $98 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing