We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned home, very sad to have left the Chadwick.

What a fantastic B&B. Scot has made this B&B a true home away from home. With plenty of board games and DVD's for the quiet nights in, and with a fantastic selection of wines and extra amenities for the room, the Chadwick truly is a special place. We stayed here for two nights to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. The room was extremely comfortable. Another guest wrote in the guestbook that the bed felt "as though it hugs you" and we couldn't agree more!

Breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Day one's offering included french toast stuffed with brie, pear and fresh rosemary. Day two's offering included quiche made with goat cheese, caramelized onions and fresh thyme. We had arrived in Portland with many brunch recommendations in hand. We never made it to any of them. Why go, when this fabulous breakfast came with our stay?

We cannot recommend this place enough. Go! Go now! (Also of note: very LGBT friendly.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
427
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Candler, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I only had a time for a quick visit to Portland and after speaking to a few Inn-Keepers we settled on The Chadwick. Scot, the Owner, ensured that we were well-informed before we arrived by providing a short list of restaurants. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown through the splendidly decorated home. The rooms maintained all the original architectural detail of the 19th Century while contemporary amenities and design accents provided a well-balanced atmosphere. Scot and Laura provided thoughtful conversation and well-informed direction and guidance to maximize our tight timeline. The entire experience was a treat and we will certainly return and encourage all others to have a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We visited during the off-season, in late March. So, we got a great deal on our stay. We stayed in the Chamberlin Room, which was gorgeously decorated, not at all kitschy or grandma-like, as we have encountered in other bed and breakfasts. The bed was super comfortable with soft sheets and both firm and soft pillows. I appreciated that the beds were perfectly made for us each afternoon when we were out, and no one ever interrupted us when we came back to the room to take a nap. The breakfasts were delicious--something different every day (we stayed four nights). There were plenty of DVDs to choose from when we wanted to come home early and relax, and there was always fresh baked cookies and coffee/tea available along with a few other snacks. Within a few minutes walking are 2-3 good restaurants and a couple cute shops. If you are willing to walk 10-15 min. further, there are countless excellent restaurants and shops in the Old Port area. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Clean. Comfortable bed. Snacks available. Friendly and helpful staff. TV. Free wireless internet.
I have stayed in Portland at the Portland Regency and I prefer the Chadwick.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large, had a small sitting area (2 chairs). Queen bed. Private bath, with stall shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvipperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Chadwick. The place is friendly, food is amazing, rooms are cozy, comfortable. We even ended up staying longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed in many B & Bs and this was one of the best. Scott has provided all the nice touches to make this a comfortable place to stay. Rooms are beautiful, beds comfortable and plush robes provided to lounge in. Portland is a fun city in which to spend a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411Slacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Chadwick. Breakfasts were delightful and delicious as were the afternoon cookies and cupcakes. The neighborhood was great and is a short walk to downtown and several good restaurants. It is a longer walk or short drive to the old port district. Our host, Scott, was terrific in accommodating our needs, getting us a restaurant reservation, etc. Our one concern is that the room we had (Baxter) was a bit on the small side and faced a medical building will all night security lights. Blackout curtains would have helped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermonttraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.6 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,387 reviews
1.7 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing