We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Within walking distance of Dogfish Cafe and other eateries (from fast food, to pretty good). Clean rooms, great rates, friendly, accommodating staff. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We found this hotel quite by accident. Just looking for inexpensive accommodations for 2 nights in March in the Portland area. LaQuinta came up in the search and we stayed 2 nights for $125 all taxes in. The rooms were lovely with a comfy King bed and clean bathroom. We had a fridge and coffee maker as is pretty standard. It was not at all noisy although the train runs behind this hotel, it goes slowly and doesn't blow the whistle. The breakfast area was large enough to accommodate quite a few people however one complaint would be that they use a liquid spray on the waffle maker because I did not see one come off the griddle in 1 piece as it should. Small thing but it was frustrating. I would definiately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward_rafuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Good hotel in a neighborhood that is a little off the beaten path. Large clean rooms with wireless internet that was really good. Overall a good value for the dollar spent. because things are not really located in the area, I highly recommend the Portland Pie Company for in room dining. They do deliver to the hotel. Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms are really, really good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A friend and I visited Portland for the weekend and stayed at the La Quinta Inn and Suites. We were happy with our choice. The room was clean and the beds were really comfortable. We thought the breakfast selection was great, including cereals, bagels, fruit, yogurts and a waffle maker. There is a shuttle service to and from the airport, which was very helpful. The hotel is at the edge of town, so it's a little bit of a walk to get to the center of town. We enjoyed the walk in, but for those not looking to walk, there is a public bus route near the the hotel. We took a cab home from town and it was about $10. Overall, this was a good choice for a stay in Portland--good location, nice amenities, and affordable rates.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights during the latest snow storm as I work in Portland. I have tried most of the cheap hotels in the area and this is one of the better ones for the price. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean with all necessary ammenties including a small fridge, ironing board and iron, flat panel TV, nice leather recliner, etc. Service was great - Breakfast was OK with your normall continental items. Water pressure was great but they need to put more toiletries in the room. A good reliable stay in Portland !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertwcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at La Quinta in Portland ME and we LOVED it. Clean, quiet, and really comfortable beds. Friendly staff and the vending machine has Bugles! It's walking to downtown.
I had a great sleep and a great stay in Portland! Thanks La Quinta!

Room Tip: Every room is great! I would recommend turning the heat off over night- it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight here last weekend for my birthday. We got a very good price through a "secret hotels" offer. Like other Portland lodging, it's a lot cheaper in winter than in the summer. Our stay there was pretty much what we were expecting. The room was very clean and had a good flat screen TV, but there was some cracked plaster over the bathtub and the sink had cracks (neither posed any real problems). Things in the room worked fine, although the light by the desk was hard to turn on. The wi-fi was very disappointing--it was some of the slowest I have ever used in a hotel and was very frustrating. The free breakfast was what you'd expect--make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices, some fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs--nothing unusual but all good. The breakfast room, though, was very crowded. All the tables were full while we ate and I think some people took things back to their rooms. There is a fitness center--my wife called it "the fitness closet" because it was so tiny--with one weight machine, one bike and one treadmill, plus a TV.
The location is a mixed bag. On the downside, it's not in a scenic place. It's across the street from the Hood Milk Dairy plant, and the view out our window was of barbed wire and an ugly old concrete railroad bridge (though we were on the first floor; you'd have a better view on a higher floor). The neighborhood didn't feel unsafe, but is on the scruffy side. On the plus side, it's a fantastic location in terms of what is nearby. For sports, it is only a few blocks from Hadlock Field (SeaDogs) and the Portland Expo (RedClaws)--it'd be hard to stay closer for either. It's also very handy to Maine Medical Center and I-295. A bus line (#5?) goes right past, and it's also quite handy to the Greyhound station and the Amtrak/Concord station. They offer shuttle service to these places, but note that they refuse to offer shuttle service downtown or to the Old Port. If you're up to walking, you can get to Longfellow Square in about 15-20 minutes and the far end of the Old Port by the ferry terminal in about 40. Overall, not dramatic, but if you want a clean place near downtown with an okay breakfast and parking included, it's a good choice.

Room Tip: The motel has three floors. You might get a better view if you are on the top two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Badgerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
4.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,776 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
618 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.5 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $99 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing