We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Travelodge
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift but OK”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed one night on New England vacation after visiting Portland city centre. Convenient for the city but probably overpriced for what are fairly basic facilities. There are probably better options at the price. Cleanliness OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramborao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    42
    93
    91
    128
See reviews for
133
111
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here for a single night. Staff was helpful. Hotel is in definite need of a face-lift. However, for the price, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddog245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband planned a suprise vacation to Portland and booked this hotel for us. The price was right, but the hotel was not. My husband described pulling up to this hotel as similar to "pulling into downtown Baghdad." There's a demolished gas station in front of the hotel with broken glass all in the parking lot. Lots of sketchy people pulling in and out of the parking lot of the hotel to use the pay phone that's out front. Our room was on the second floor of the hotel. Stained musty carpet in the common area stairwells that needs to be replaced. There were several security cameras in the stairwells, unfortunately they were broken and hanging down by wires. Our room smelled horrible(Musty and like stale cigarettes). The bathroom was filthy (I wore flip-flops in the shower the whole time we were there). There were stains on the wall and carpets in our room.

The continental breakfast was a joke. 2 types of cereal (raisin bran and frosted flakes), wheat and white bread, bagels (plain and cinnamon raisin), muffins (blueberry and banana nut), juice (apple and orange), coffee, and tea.

The only plus for the room was the in room safe that was available.

One of the reasons that my husband picked this hotel was because of its proximity to the METRO bus stop. The bus stop was also a dump.

You get what you pay for. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kce8315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I've stayed in places ranging from youth hostels to five star suites...and this place was a DUMP! It was the worst two nights of our entire East Coast trip.

The little things: they didn't have our reservation when we arrived, the room smelled stale, there was a huge (2ft x 2ft) stain in the carpet, the TV didn't work, the telephone work.

Returned to the room after our first day out and the cleaning staff never cleaned the room. Of course, from the smells I doubt they ever had. When we brought this to the management's attention they insisted we had a "do not disturb" sign out, which we did until we left that morning at 8a.m.

But the biggest problem is that the room was filthy. We knew we were staying in a motel, so we didn't have high expectations. We just wanted a place that was safe and clean, and they failed even to meet that minimal requirement.

Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay. If you can't afford another hotel, sleeping in a tent or in your car are better alternatives.

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for one night back in September 2010. The room was ok, but kind of in a sketchy part of town. Also, we traveled to Portland for sightseeing and it ended up being way farther from downtown than we thought. For the price it was a good deal, no complaints there. All in all, we'll stay somewhere closer to downtown next time we're in Portland.

Room Tip: Inconveniently far from downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nafizra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moncton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The room was dingy and musty smelling.
The room was clean but both nights we had to go down to the desk to get towels and toilet paper that the cleaning staff forgot to leave. (They won't deliver anything to the room themselves.The desk clerk was very unfriendly and seemed to hate her job. I have never run into unfriendly hotel staff before but their was only one employee here that was friendly and professional. We were really impressed with how friendly and helpfull all the other retail and restaurant personel were in Portland. This Hotel gave us a terrible first and last impression of Portland.There are a lot of other Hotels in this area. I would not stay here again due to its poor management. P.S- they would only give us one roll of toilet paper each night even though there were three of us in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We found nothing to recommend this other than convenience and price.
This was motel style accommodation, and our ground level room opened directly to the outside. It also faced the adjacent interstate highway. Soundproofing was poor. Security was questionable and the whole of the accommodation was cramped.
The wash basin was in the main room, not in the bathroom.
If you’re used to UK Travelodges don’t expect anything like the same standard.
It's located about 4 miles from downtown Portland, but convenient for the interstate if that’s what you want.
(One of 8 accommodations reviewed this holiday)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRobJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.6 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,604 reviews
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.8 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
3.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Travelodge

Property: Portland Travelodge
Address: 1200 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102-1029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portland Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portland
Portland Travelodge Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing