We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pad Prik Khing (crispy pork) = poor value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pom's Thai Taste Restaurant & Noodle House

Pom's Thai Taste Restaurant & Noodle House
Ranked #137 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 7 Days a WeekVegetarian - Gluten free - Kids menus availableFacebook: Thai-Taste-MaineEst. 2007
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pad Prik Khing (crispy pork) = poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I usually go with the create your own soup option and have had Pad See-Ew and Pad Thai, but the Pad Prik Khing was puny and saltier than a cheap hotdog. I paid over $9 to feel taken. Please stick to the big soup options (back of menu), as it's the only consistently good and sizable option.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pH2Oville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    46
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“staff is goofy, food is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The food here is typical Thai, nothing really stands out as a must have, the staff was a bit lost when asked for a few things, I have spent a lot of time in Thailand and Bangkok so I know Thai food pretty well - even cook it -and the staff was a bit lost with my requests for chili/garlic paste and it took 3 of them to get me another hot water for tea.... I have eaten here quite a few times, it's probably the best thai in Portland, but still average elsewhere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinonthestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“BLOWN AWAY, AGAIN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Let's get this right out in the open: the congenial and beautiful owner Pom is one of the most impressive businesswomen I've ever met (and have told her as much) and I'm regularly blown away what an outstanding job she does. We're talking hands-on ownership here, even if she can't be in all places at the same time, and my wife and I (both professionals) marvel at the quality of food and attention to detail at any of Pom's restaurants (now totaling 4). I said she was impressive. Always fresh, always delicious, always reasonably priced, and always with an extensive menu; these are just a few of the reasons we keep coming back - and the quality is never lacking - never mind the always excellent service we receive, but Pom herself is the star here (or there), as are her restaurants.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must have the Butterfly Dumplings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had a quick lunch- and I highly recommend the butterfly dumplings and the avocado sandwich! So so so good. Service was great and the food was even better!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food but they seemed confused about what to do with us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I visited Portland and I looked up on tripadvisor what the top restaurants were and Poms was in the top 3 so we decided to try it. The location was pretty neat and they decorated very well. It had a great atmosphere for sure. However, when we walked in the saw us standing there but didn't really seem to know what to do. Neither did we. We stood there for about 5-10 minutes watching the 2 servers walk around and they would glance at us every now and then. Finally they sat us and after that everything was great. The food was incredible. The sauces they had out on the table were excellent as well. The service was good once we were seated, it was just those moments of confusion when we first entered. I was incredibly hungry so I might be exaggerating the situation.

Very good restaurant overall. I'm sure the service confusion was just a hiccup. If we visited again I probably would not go back, not because I did not enjoy it because I did thoroughly enjoy it, but because there are so many other neat little restaurants that I would want to try during my visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrZoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pom's Thai Taste Restaurant & Noodle House also viewed

 

Been to Pom's Thai Taste Restaurant & Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing