We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
528
366
97
26
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
366
97
26
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen studio suite shipyard brewery old port small kitchen parking garage within walking distance water view few blocks short walk make your own waffles free breakfast shops and restaurants shuttle service eastern promenade front desk staff ferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

I normally shy away from chain hotels because they often don't lend character and a sense of the city to my stay. We decided to visit Portland on short notice, and several other places I tried were already full. I thought I'd give the Residence Inn a try. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. The place had a refreshing vibe. We had a beautiful studio room overlooking the harbor. The room was clean and the decor was attractive and up to date. The bed was incredibly comfortable. All of the staff, from the clerks at the front desk, to the bar tender, to the guy who was vacuuming the stairwell, were incredibly friendly and courteous. Parking was right next door (although it had a hefty $18/day charge). The breakfast was amazing! Eggs, waffles, oatmeal, sausage, cereal...you name it, it was there...and fresh and delicious, as well. We enjoyed using the courtesy van to get back from dinner. There was a lovely indoor pool and gym, which we just didn't have the time to use. I would definitely stay here again the next time we're in Portland. What a wonderful introduction to this city by the bay.

Room tip: Harbor View on a higher floor
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfries10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewNolan, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

We are not only thrilled that you choose to give us a try, but that you had such a memorable experience! Your review has warmed our hearts as this is the lasting impression we want you to have. From our spacious guestroom and beautiful views to our friendly service, we are happy you enjoyed your time here. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We checked in during a driving January rain storm for an anniversary celebration in historic downtown Portland. We appreciated the warn welcome and smooth checkin by the front desk staff, and Adam’s thorough explanation of the parking, amenities, and the local shuttle service. Later that night, Adam took to right to our restaurant in the shuttle. We couldn’t ask for more than door to door service in the pouring rain! We’re planning to return later this month for more “big city” fun.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewNolan, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Thank you Sue for your great feedback! It was our pleasure to welcome you in from the rain and provide you with everything you needed to make your stay complete. We are thrilled you appreciated the warm attentive service by our team and look forward to welcoming you back in February for another memorable experience at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

Went to the lobby to buy some cold otc medicine. I wanted Nyquil, but did not have. Josh asked what was I looking for and checked at the storage area but did not find any. Hotel Manager Adam went in his own car to a nearby pharmacy and got it for me. It was delivered to my room by Cesar. Amazing service, ABOVE and BEYOND!!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewNolan, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Giovanni, we appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and hotel. I'm hoping that you are feeling better. Our guests comfort is one of our top priorities, and we know that traveling when you are not feeling well, can be difficult. I am happy to read that our team exceeded your expectations and I will share your comments with them. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Residence Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront the next time you find yourself traveling to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in mid December. We were a little concerned about construction, but it wasn't an issue. Every employee we met was helpful and friendly. Nice large, clean rooms and excellent breakfast and staff. Would stay again!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sullyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewNolan, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

I am so pleased to learn that our staff made you feel welcome and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We look forward to having you return to the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017

The Marriott Residence Inn abuts the Shipyard Brewery and is only a short walk away from the harbor and downtown shops and restaurants. The rooms are quiet, despite recent local construction, and the buffet breakfast is filling. Convenient parking is available in the adjacent garage and a nearby grocery provides incidentals.

Room tip: Bay view, upper floors
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewNolan, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Chris, I am so glad to read that you found our accommodations, and our location to your liking. Thank you for selecting our hotel during your trip, and mentioning we are also a pet friendly property. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews