We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
516
362
96
25
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
362
96
25
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenstudio suiteshipyard breweryold portparking garagesmall kitchenwithin walking distancefew blockswater viewfree breakfastshops and restaurantsshuttle serviceeastern promenadefront desk staffbagelspool and hot tubferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

With our stay in Portland, ME, this was home for 3 nights. Location is good and very accessible to everything. Our room was upgraded and it was beautiful. The staff were great too. My birthday week became so nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dprudenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Portland. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Portland area. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

Sincerely,
Adam G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Booked our room with points because the prices were really high at this time of year. The location can’t be beat. We’re upgraded because of Presidential status to a larger room, much appreciated. Nice to have a kitchen and free best is a plus. There is a shuttle service which is AWESOME! Parking is $20/night and in the lot next door, you get a parking card and it is charged to your room. We walked all over downtown and the waterfront. Loved our trip to Portland. Did go to lighthouses, Kennebunk and Kennebunkport, and on an evening sunset sail. Saw many other attractions as well. We’ll be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Portland. It was truly a pleasure to serve you, and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgraded two bedroom suite. Thank you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your comments will be shared with the hotel staff to make sure we continue to deliver the type of service our Marriott customers have come to expect. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Portland area. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

Sincerely,
Adam G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Nothing to complain about the hotel though wished the parking was closer. Lots of construction nearby. We booked 3 nights in Portland but wished it had been less. Underwhelmed by the place even after some nice waterfront walks and one good seafood dinner. Maine offers more. Wished we had spent more time in Boothsbay Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. While I'm glad to hear you liked the hotel and had no complaints, i am sorry to hear that Portland let you down. Portland has become a major focal point for Maine vacationer's, and has many attributes through out the city. Portland has become known for its top notch restaurants, and many different bars and distilleries. If this is not something that interests you, there are a number of different boating and sailing tours that depart only a short walk from our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were able to talk in a beautiful walk on the promenade which is also minutes from our hotel. If Portland itself wasn't appealing to you, I do hope you at least had a chance to enjoy some of the amenities the hotel has to offer, like our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, or our indoor heated pool and hot tub. Also, we offer a complimentary shuttle service that you could have used to check out the Portland area. If not this time, hopefully you can the next time your in town. We hope to see you again should our travels ever bring you back to the Portland area.

Thank you
Adam G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2018

I recently relocated to the Portland area and have been staying at this hotel for over a month. The staff has been extremely friendly and accommodating. They have helped me get acclimated to the area and have made recommendations for food, fun, etc. I will definitely stay here again if the opportunity occurs.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norris357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Portland. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Thank you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your comments will be shared with the hotel staff to make sure we continue to deliver the type of service our Marriott customers have come to expect. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Portland area. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

Sincerely,
Adam Green
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

While we only spent one night at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown, I would definitely stay here again while in Portland. This hotel is very nice, from it's lobby, bar, breakfast eating area (one of the nicest I've seen at a Residence Inn), and the actual hotel rooms. It is also very clean and looks to be in fresh shape.

I knew that we would enjoy it here when I observed checking in how the front desk staff treated the guests. While waiting to check in, one of the desk clerks was assisting a guest who was having difficultly understanding where he could park overnight - the clerk was patient and respectful and even offered to go outside to guide the guest to the parking garage. This is how any of the staff that we encountered treated us.

Found our room to be good size and I enjoyed having a full kitchen, even for one night. As for the room rate, we ended up using Marriott points as we found the room rates were creeping towards $ 400 per night with our time there being height of season. The location, while not exactly on the water, was great, as everything we went to was within a few blocks walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

We appreciate your business, and you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel staff in order to help us understand how we can continue to deliver exceptional service that our Marriott customer's have come expect when staying here. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and truly appreciate the wonderful comments directed towards our front desk staff. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Portland area. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly anytime.


Sincerely,
Adam G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews