We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$111
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveller rating
942
481
97
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
481
97
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinggreat locationsebago brewing companyold portbrew pubwithin walking distancefree breakfastvalet stafffore streetbreakfast staffrestaurants and shopswould stay here againgreat place to staybusiness centerper daycorner roomwater view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,450 - 1,455 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Rooms are clean, staff is very friendly, and the rates are lower than some of the other nearby Old Port hotels. Parking was around $12/day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The desk person and valet were very helpful and friendly. When the taxi we called didn't arrive in time for my daughter's appointment, the valet volunteered to drive her in the shuttle. He then went back to pick her up when she was done. The front desk called the taxi for us when we had to get to the train station, and it got there in 5 minutes. The front desk person was very helpful and informative about restaurants and shops to walk to. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed dinner in the attached restaurant. We didn't have to go out in the cold! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lbw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and staff. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for our 20 something wedding anniversary for the weekend. For less than $200 a night, we got what the desk clerk called "the best room in the hotel." She wasn't kidding, the room (#502, top floor) was huge and was in a corner, providing large window views from two sides. The room was divided by a large desk. Front view had two large windows, one from bed area and one from the living area. The window on the side also had a water view, but mostly overlooked the street (but a bonus here was being able to see your car in the valet lot). The water view is a working harbor, which we found charming. The TV was attached to the desk, and on a swivel to view from either side of the room.
The living area had a long wet bar with frig and microwave, and some storage. There were also two closets for storage and the ironing stuff.
Couch, which is a sleep sofa, had two hassocks for comfort. The bathroom was basic but functional. Plenty of room here for a family if you use the sleep sofa.
I wasnt a huge fan of the pillows, and slept lightly. But there was no noise from the hall or other rooms.
Sebago Brewing, which is on the first floor, was very good. We ate lunch one day, dinner another, and had a night cap one night as well. Every visit the food was good, and the staff was very friendly and outgoing.
Hampton breakfasts do not dissapoint. Both mornings was it was good.
Old Port is a fun place, we explored both days. A lot within walking distance. We only took the car once when it was too cold for walking one morning.
The only thing I noticed that I found odd was that there was no On Demand service for the TV. But you do get two HBOs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Our staff appreciates your comments. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Even though we live in Portland, we decided to celebrate our anniversary at Portland’s new downtown Hampton Inn. We couldn’t have chosen a better place for our mini-vacation. The staff at the hotel is efficient and friendly, especially Gail at the front desk. The morning of our stay I called and requested an early check-in. Gail called back in a short time. She wished us a happy anniversary and told us that our room was ready.

We stayed two nights in a King Studio Suite on the top floor with a view of the harbor. We walked to dinner that night and to lunch the next day. Walking around in the Old Port is one of our favorite things, but it was hard to leave that beautiful corner room with three big windows. While having coffee in bed, we watched seagulls, tugboats and ships. The wet bar and refrigerator in the living area made it convenient for happy hour before going out in the evening. We highly recommend this comfortable hotel with the perfect location in the Old Port.

Room Tip: Room on water side for harbor view, higher is better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J_and_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and about Gail. She tries to be helpful to all and when her efforts are recognized we appreciate it. Glad you had a great Anniversary. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012. We are a family of 4, children ages 9 and 12. Our room was clean, new, and much larger than other hotels at which we have stayed in the past. We had a large window, and, even though we were on the 2nd floor, we could see the water. The pool was clean and large enough for play. The breakfast was varied, and while not gourmet (which one would not expect) it was good, and the gentleman in charge was charming and really seemed to care about his guests (and I use the term "guests" truly here. Often, hotels call their clients "guest" but really are just customers). Housekeeping was nice, we had a spill and it was not a problem to get extra towels and a replacement pillow was brought quickly. The gym, especially for this type of property, was great. Several treadmills, 2 elliptical trainers, stationary bikes, weights, balance balls and a water cooler. Free wi-fi and the fridge and microwave ensured that we did not have to go out for every meal or drink. I wish all hotels were this good. And the price could not be beat. Thanks to the Portland Hampton Waterfront for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof2Paris_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews