We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was amazing and the service excellent. The rooms were very nice and clean. We would totally stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's always rewarding to hear when we've pleased our guests. We look forward to seeing again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness, cleanliness, and quality oy this place. Next time we're in Portland again, you can guess where we'll be staying! Pet friendly too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for taking the time to tell us so. We promise you the same level of service on your next visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The location of the hotel is far from any shopping centers (Maine mall, cabelas, and downtown Portland). About 10 - 15 minute drive. We drove down from NB with a GPS. So no taxi fares to worry about. The beds are comfortable, lighting isn't the best, TV is an old tube, just an average room.

Noise levels within this hotel is quite high. Walls can't be thicker then 2" with no insulation. You can easily over hear conversations from rooms around you. Unless you have ear plugs, drink to pass out or visit you local drug store, you won't be falling asleep before your neighbors.

All in all, we're down here for shopping, not a honey moon. This hotel will do just fine.

No fridge or microwave.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Thank you for choosing the Fireside Inn Portland for your recent shopping trip to Maine and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take our guest’s comments very seriously. We were very sorry to hear that you were bothered by boisterous neighboring guests. All of our walls are six inch thick concrete block with layers of sheet rock on both sides, which should have blocked out much of the noise. However, some rooms have connecting doors which will let more noise come through. Unfortunately, sometimes in hotels we have noisy guests and we do try to quiet them down when we’re made aware of the situation. We are genuinely concerned that your sleep was disturbed, and had we been notified, we would have been happy to relocate you to another, quieter room.

We have started putting 42 inch flat panel TV’s into our guest rooms, which are much nicer I do agree. Microwaves and refrigerators are included in the price of our poolside rooms and by request for a nominal fee in the remaining rooms. On your next visit, be sure to ask. Again, please accept our apologies. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The outdoor pool area looked very nice, but it was too cold a night to go in. The small indoor pool was inviting. The small fitness area was used by several people. I could tell the property has been making improvements. The bathroom had been updated. The continental breakfast was very basic (cold cereal and pastries). The whoopie pies at check in were a nice treat. Location is good if you are stopping for the night while trying to get someplace else. If you are doing the tourist thing, be aware that it is an easy short drive into downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSfromWTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a former Holiday Inn property. Full service hotel has all the amenities.
Staff, at all levels, is always courteous and accomodating.
Restaurant food quality is good, as well.
'Nice' touches include whoopie pie and coffee at check-in, Bath & Body works soaps / shampoos and, continental breakfast.

Room Tip: "Inside" rooms are quieter (from turnpike noise) and afford nice view of inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbenn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were attending a party at friends in Gorham and picked the Fireside for its proximity both to their house and the highway. It was easy to find, the reception desk staff was friendly and welcoming (even gave us free whoopie pies at check-in!) and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed is a little firm. My companion who likes a very soft bed found it too firm, but it was fine for me. We only got a glimpse of the pool area, it looked clean but small.

We were there during a snowstorm and were offered late checkout to 6:00 PM for $25 or an extra night for $49 - a deal if you were stuck.

Comfortable enough that we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkc288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

While it is in an odd locaton (right on the highway) you can't tell once you are inside, and even when you're outside at the (heated) pool you wouldn't know there was a major highway nearby.
The staff was incredibly friendly, gave my welcome whoopie pies!
They accidentally gave us keys to the wrong room, and instead of letting us go into an already occupied room, or simply not having the keys work, an employee was dispatched to greet me in the hallway with the correct room key and apologized profusely.
While the hotel itself hasn't seen an upgrade in a while, it was still a nice place to bed down for the night on a coastal road trip.
The free continental breakfast wasn't very good (cold danishes, mini-muffiins..no bagels, or english muffins) but from what I gather it was quite picked over by a large group by the time we arrrived.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knycks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
4 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
609 reviews
4.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
5.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $94 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing