We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRE SUCK INN - Like mold we grow on you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is NOT, I repeat NOT a three star hotel. It's just not. The entire hotel is filthy. Absolutely filthy. I cringed the three unique travel trips I stayed here, believing each time my experience was an exception and not the rule. Unfortunately, three strikes you are out. Specifically, my room should be cleaned. If you see urine in the toilet flush it before the new guest arrive. EW! Entering a hotel at midnight is no fun, and worse when in the darkness you walk across the floor and the carpet squishes - you think what's that. And only when you take your shoes off do you notice that the humidity is so high insight and ventilation so poor, that the carpets are wet from it all! UGH! Finally, a trip to the gym to work off some stress, only added a near heart attack as I stared at a pile of gewy sticky icky god knows what on the treadmill panel. I will NOT stay here again. It's convenient location grew on me like mold, but frankly the extra few minutes to another hotel is worth ALL the time so as not to endure the feeling that bed bugs and grime might suffocate me in the night.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place. Bring your own pillows there's are all lumpy. Wear clothing to bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fairnobjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It is our goal to make every guest’s stay with us an exceptional experience. We strongly value repeat guests such as yourself for the business you give our hotel. If you would like to contact us directly and give us another chance we promise you will receive nothing less than a perfect visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel this past weekend and was extremely disappointed. The woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful, but she is the only person who seemed to care if we had a comfortable stay. Housekeeping walked in and out of our room numerous times without knocking, and they had bad customer service and rotten attitudes. My ipod was stolen and management made me feel like a liar and bother to them for reporting it. Our rooms were never cleaned, things were just moved around. There was a half eaten french frie under our tv and thick layers of dust. We did not get our beds changed and we had to ask more than once for towels. I would NEVER stay here again nor recommend staying there to anyone else. It was the most awkward couple of days and they are very unprofessional. Hope this is helpful, I dotn want anyone else to have missing property and an experience like mine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know your stay was less than satisfactory. We are glad to hear our front desk staff was courteous, and apologize for the housekeeping experience you had. Losing anything while on vacation is very stressful. We are pleased to update this review by reporting your missing item claim had a happy ending.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Maine. We chose to stay at the Fireside Inn because it was centrally located, inexpensive, had decent reviews, and free breakfast. We were happy to see that we were allowed to check in early (1:30pm) even though their check-in time was 3pm. When we got to the front desk we were greeted by a very nice staff and whoopie pies! We checked in to our room and it was your standard hotel room. King sized bed, arm chair with foot rest, desk, dresser with tv, etc.

Unfortunately, my husband and I have spoiled ourselves at home with an amazing mattress so nothing can compare. With that being said, we found the mattress to be very hard and the pillows were small and uncomfortable. It wasn't our best sleep, but it also wasn't unbearable.

We were a little disappointed with the "continental breakfast". It's yogurt, oatmeal, two choices of cereal, coffee/juices, and toast (when we arrived there was only one bagel left), but as I said, "you get what you pay for" and it sure beat shelling out $200 a night to stay in downtown Portland and have to pay to park in a garage.

If you're spending a night in the area, I think this hotel is worth it, but if you're staying for longer than a short weekend I would probably spend the extra $$ for a more well-known chain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SweetCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the place to stay when you’re looking for the best value. We offer complimentary parking, early check-in, WI-FI, whoopie pies, coffee, newspapers, and continental breakfast. Our continental breakfast is available each morning for all guests to enjoy. It includes everything you mentioned and more. Our restaurant staff works very hard to make sure everything is stocked and maintained during busy times. We are always here to help guests if they need anything.
While the Fireside Inn & Suites brand is new to the Portland area, there are several other properties located throughout Maine in Auburn, Bangor, & Waterville. We hope to accommodate you in the future in Portland or any of our other locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Anything we asked for they got it. I needed a refrigerator for some medicine and the found one. I asked for extra pillows and blankets and they got them. The staff was very very nice.
Room was nice. Bed was great.
They just bought the place and they added an elevator for the 2nd floor! This Fireside group is really trying to update this place.
The staff is really really pleasant!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We appreciate you for taking the time to give us a positive review, thank you!
Many of our courteous staff members have been here for years, and we are happy to hear that all your needs were met quickly and efficiently. We are here to serve you and give the best experience possible.
We are glad you enjoyed the addition of the elevator. We are constantly working to improve our property to ensure our guests will come back to us again and again. We look forward to your next visit with us fireside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Fireside Inn. The gentleman who checked us in was very pleasant and welcoming. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant Zachary's. Were very accomadating to the kids. Enjoyed the woderful woopie pies they give you at check in. Thanks very much Fireside! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmf103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback!

We are happy to hear you received great service during your stay, both at the front desk and in our restaurant. Our staff is here to make each guest’s experience the best and most comfortable it can be! The whoopie pies are a nice touch aren’t they?!

We thank you for booking with the Fireside Inn and Suites in Portland, and look forward to another visit from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The treats you get during check in we're amazing and the staff were super helpful and go above and beyond in there guest service. The location was great nothing more the 2 miles from anything you need!

They have a great shuttle service to the airport and if it's full they comp a taxi, how great is that?

I travel for my line of work and the next time I am around Portland this will be where you find me!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the whoopie pies at check in, as well as the rest of your stay here.
We are conveniently located off Interstate 95 in Portland. We are three miles from Portland’s historic Old Port, the Portland Arts District, shops, galleries, museums, and the Maine Mall area. Our easily accessible location makes us a great choice!
Our friendly staff will be here to welcome you on your return visit to Portland. We look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

First time at the location for the Fireside Inn and Suites. I stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites in West Lebanon and loved the place. I gave their Portland property a visit and was just a pleased. They have everything in one place. Amazing room that seemed to be recently updated with state of the art TV and programing, a mini frige, blow dryer, coffee maker and microwave in every room. They had a great pool that was perfect for my kids. We spent most of our two night stay in the pool. Their restaurant was delicious and catered to my children's needs. The service was very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: If a non smoker ask for a room in a nonsmokng hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We have been working hard on updating and renovating all of our rooms. We have a wonderful “kids eat free” program and we’re glad everything was satisfactory in our restaurant, Zackery’s. Our hotel staff is pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back soon! We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,749 reviews
4 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
610 reviews
4.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
5.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $93 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing