We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

First time staying here. Arrived with a roomsaver coupon which they honored with no problem even though they were very full. Had dinner in the dining room, very tasty. Peaceful sleep. They offered a free continental breakfast but the room was very full and since a hot breakfast was only $3.99 in the dining room, we opted for that. Beautiful courtyard with a gazebo to sit in and an outdoor pool, indoor pool also. Was very impressed with the helpfulness of all staff we dealt with.

Room Tip: I would ask for one facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    179
    137
    77
    47
See reviews for
168
171
26
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had meetings all over the Portland area plus one in Boston - this Hotel is very well situated, so easy to get onto the Maine Turnpike. The room was more than adequate, it was clean the bed was comfortable there was plenty of hot water and we got a great rate. Please note that I just sleep at a Hotel I do not think of it as a destination. We did not eat at the Hotel (there are plenty of restaurants across the road), we did eat breakfast one morning definitely not too inspiring.

Room Tip: We had an inner room facing the pool which was quiet (may not be the same in Summer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stetson, maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were flying out the next morning really early so we came to stay over night to get a good night's rest. The people checking us in were very friendly. They even gave us delicious whoopie pies at check in. How's that for a welcome :). We enjoyed the pool as we unwound from our long drive. The beds were extremely comfortable. They had some sort of padding on them. We got up early and the shuttle van took us over to the airport. The driver, Mark, was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeann2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed one night at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Portland Me for business this week. The room was payed for so I do not know the price but they seemed to offer around $100 a night on most travel websites. The entire property needs a thorough cleaning and updating the common areas seem clean but the room needed a good cleaning. The furniture is very dated and there was mold on the bathroom ceiling, behind the bed was filthy. The TV was a Zenith from who knows how long ago and had a terrible picture. The only saving grace for this hotel was the excellent customer service I received. The staff I encountered were both welcoming and helpful. Aaron at the front desk was very helpful in solving an internet problem I was having, he went above and beyond to make sure the problem was solved. This property would have redeived a 2 star rating if not for the great attitude of the staff members.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we appreciate it! We are glad to hear you received outstanding service from our staff. They work hard to ensure you have a pleasurable experience with us. Besides our great customer service, our rates include a continental breakfast and complementary Wi-Fi. We hope these extra amenities added value to your stay. If you stay in the Portland area frequently on business we have a great Rewards Program that can get you complimentary upgrades! Our upgraded room types have newer flat screen TVs, and in the future all standard guest rooms will have them too. We hope to accommodate you in the future, and thank you for staying with us Fireside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is NOT, I repeat NOT a three star hotel. It's just not. The entire hotel is filthy. Absolutely filthy. I cringed the three unique travel trips I stayed here, believing each time my experience was an exception and not the rule. Unfortunately, three strikes you are out. Specifically, my room should be cleaned. If you see urine in the toilet flush it before the new guest arrive. EW! Entering a hotel at midnight is no fun, and worse when in the darkness you walk across the floor and the carpet squishes - you think what's that. And only when you take your shoes off do you notice that the humidity is so high insight and ventilation so poor, that the carpets are wet from it all! UGH! Finally, a trip to the gym to work off some stress, only added a near heart attack as I stared at a pile of gewy sticky icky god knows what on the treadmill panel. I will NOT stay here again. It's convenient location grew on me like mold, but frankly the extra few minutes to another hotel is worth ALL the time so as not to endure the feeling that bed bugs and grime might suffocate me in the night.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place. Bring your own pillows there's are all lumpy. Wear clothing to bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairnobjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It is our goal to make every guest’s stay with us an exceptional experience. We strongly value repeat guests such as yourself for the business you give our hotel. If you would like to contact us directly and give us another chance we promise you will receive nothing less than a perfect visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel this past weekend and was extremely disappointed. The woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful, but she is the only person who seemed to care if we had a comfortable stay. Housekeeping walked in and out of our room numerous times without knocking, and they had bad customer service and rotten attitudes. My ipod was stolen and management made me feel like a liar and bother to them for reporting it. Our rooms were never cleaned, things were just moved around. There was a half eaten french frie under our tv and thick layers of dust. We did not get our beds changed and we had to ask more than once for towels. I would NEVER stay here again nor recommend staying there to anyone else. It was the most awkward couple of days and they are very unprofessional. Hope this is helpful, I dotn want anyone else to have missing property and an experience like mine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know your stay was less than satisfactory. We are glad to hear our front desk staff was courteous, and apologize for the housekeeping experience you had. Losing anything while on vacation is very stressful. We are pleased to update this review by reporting your missing item claim had a happy ending.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Maine. We chose to stay at the Fireside Inn because it was centrally located, inexpensive, had decent reviews, and free breakfast. We were happy to see that we were allowed to check in early (1:30pm) even though their check-in time was 3pm. When we got to the front desk we were greeted by a very nice staff and whoopie pies! We checked in to our room and it was your standard hotel room. King sized bed, arm chair with foot rest, desk, dresser with tv, etc.

Unfortunately, my husband and I have spoiled ourselves at home with an amazing mattress so nothing can compare. With that being said, we found the mattress to be very hard and the pillows were small and uncomfortable. It wasn't our best sleep, but it also wasn't unbearable.

We were a little disappointed with the "continental breakfast". It's yogurt, oatmeal, two choices of cereal, coffee/juices, and toast (when we arrived there was only one bagel left), but as I said, "you get what you pay for" and it sure beat shelling out $200 a night to stay in downtown Portland and have to pay to park in a garage.

If you're spending a night in the area, I think this hotel is worth it, but if you're staying for longer than a short weekend I would probably spend the extra $$ for a more well-known chain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SweetCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the place to stay when you’re looking for the best value. We offer complimentary parking, early check-in, WI-FI, whoopie pies, coffee, newspapers, and continental breakfast. Our continental breakfast is available each morning for all guests to enjoy. It includes everything you mentioned and more. Our restaurant staff works very hard to make sure everything is stocked and maintained during busy times. We are always here to help guests if they need anything.
While the Fireside Inn & Suites brand is new to the Portland area, there are several other properties located throughout Maine in Auburn, Bangor, & Waterville. We hope to accommodate you in the future in Portland or any of our other locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing