We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My daughter was cheering at a tournament game and we thought a night away would be fun. This hotel was conveniently located across the street from the civic center so once we arrived in town we were able to park and walk. Great location! The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    450
    171
    56
    33
See reviews for
211
434
51
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
543 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn, nothing fancy at all. The location is amazing. You can walk to everything Portland has to offer. So many fantastic restaurants and excellent shopping are within 10 mins. Rooms are decent. A little dated and the view is nothing to write home about. It's very nice to have a microwave and fridge in every room. O.K. workout room. Nice indoor pool for the kids. The restaurant and bar have pretty good food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed for one night recently. Booked a King non-smoking with a bay view; stayed in room 906. If you are not from around here, let's just be clear, the view isn't that great. But, I guess it beats the other side of the hotel with a view of a street. The room wasn't overly large, but adequate for the two of us. The bathroom, however, was tight with very little counter space, especially with a coffee maker sitting there. Easy fix though…moved the coffee maker. There was a fridge and microwave, as well as a flat screen TV with about 40 channels, free WiFi, a few toiletries, iron and ironing board. I have a Priority Card through Holiday Inn and received a coupon for a free beverage in the lounge as well as a coupon for 50% off another beverage. Also got a bag with bottled water, a Maine magazine, a couple of snacks and a coupon for free tea or coffee in the restaurant. Used the beverage coupons later that evening in the lounge when we came back from Old Port. Very nice vodka tonics! There is free parking on-site as well as a free shuttle that will drop off and pick up until 1am. This was convenient because we didn't walk to walk to/from Old Port in the cold. My only issue with the room…no exhaust fan in the bathroom and no extra blankets. The following morning, we had the breakfast buffet for $11.99 pp. If I had just ordered an omelet and added on veggies, meat, fruit juice, etc., it probably would have been more that $11.99. Breakfast was just average…dry eggs, overcooked French toast and stuffed pancakes. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt, breads, and pastries. I’d probably stay here again, as it was clean, quiet and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savys_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We liked it here very much. My husband and my daughter stayed overnight and the room was so clean and comfortable. The public restrooms were so clean and there were vases of flowers everywhere. The hotel staff were so accommodating, including the reservation people, the restaurant staff and the shuttle driver, Michael. Very hospitable. We walked to the Old Port area as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSwenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Portland, it is a few minutes walk to the Old Port (downtown area) which was our main attraction. The hotel is located between a residential area and the Old Port. The room was a decent size, the room itself was clean, bathroom could have been a little cleaner. Our room had a view of the bay but I don't think I'd pay extra for that, your main view is of the neighborhood and the roadways and then the bay beyond that.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brn679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

my family and i travel frequently thru the months of oct thru april for our sons ice hockey, this hotel is by far the cleanest as well as up to date hotel that we have stayed in. The stafff there is very friendly and accomodating. If you like to take advantage while you r away from home, from room service then this is the best place to be as their food is excellent!! The rooms are very well kept and very cozy. they offer free coffee and hot chocolate from machines NOT form a packet in the lobby hahahah..the location of this hotel is very easy to find.we are a family of five and the rooms are very spacious specially with all of his hockey equipment. If you are going to be staying in the portland area then this would be my recommendation for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

So I travel for a living and have my computer, camera, passport, and numerous other valuables with me. Apparently even if you leave your 'do not disturb' sign on your door not only do the maids ignore it, but they come into your room, go through your stuff and move it around, and clean even when you DON'T want them to because its their "policy". I understand they want to make sure you're still alive and not doing, anything illegal, but why cant they just call and leave a message when you ARE in the room to let someone in to check on you like any other hotel in the country if you need service? It is absolutely rediculous that they wait until you're gone to go in to search through your stuff. I don't care that the rooms are only mediocre, even for a HI, and its downtown, I will tell everyone I come across that this place is shady and dangerous. At a 5 star place or even a crappy motel in the ghetto, you don't get treated like this.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequenttraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing