We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$305
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
US$110
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$187
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$299
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$209
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
383
497
190
61
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
497
190
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay viewold portcivic centerwithin walking distancefree shuttleshuttle serviceparking garagekeurig coffee makerart museumcasco bayfront desk staffrooms are cleanhotel restaurantindoor poolhotel shuttlefew blockscongress street
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn, nothing fancy at all. The location is amazing. You can walk to everything Portland has to offer. So many fantastic restaurants and excellent shopping are within 10 mins. Rooms are decent. A little dated and the view is nothing to write home about. It's very nice to have a microwave and fridge in every room. O.K. workout room. Nice indoor pool for the kids. The restaurant and bar have pretty good food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed for one night recently. Booked a King non-smoking with a bay view; stayed in room 906. If you are not from around here, let's just be clear, the view isn't that great. But, I guess it beats the other side of the hotel with a view of a street. The room wasn't overly large, but adequate for the two of us. The bathroom, however, was tight with very little counter space, especially with a coffee maker sitting there. Easy fix though…moved the coffee maker. There was a fridge and microwave, as well as a flat screen TV with about 40 channels, free WiFi, a few toiletries, iron and ironing board. I have a Priority Card through Holiday Inn and received a coupon for a free beverage in the lounge as well as a coupon for 50% off another beverage. Also got a bag with bottled water, a Maine magazine, a couple of snacks and a coupon for free tea or coffee in the restaurant. Used the beverage coupons later that evening in the lounge when we came back from Old Port. Very nice vodka tonics! There is free parking on-site as well as a free shuttle that will drop off and pick up until 1am. This was convenient because we didn't walk to walk to/from Old Port in the cold. My only issue with the room…no exhaust fan in the bathroom and no extra blankets. The following morning, we had the breakfast buffet for $11.99 pp. If I had just ordered an omelet and added on veggies, meat, fruit juice, etc., it probably would have been more that $11.99. Breakfast was just average…dry eggs, overcooked French toast and stuffed pancakes. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt, breads, and pastries. I’d probably stay here again, as it was clean, quiet and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savys_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We liked it here very much. My husband and my daughter stayed overnight and the room was so clean and comfortable. The public restrooms were so clean and there were vases of flowers everywhere. The hotel staff were so accommodating, including the reservation people, the restaurant staff and the shuttle driver, Michael. Very hospitable. We walked to the Old Port area as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSwenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Portland, it is a few minutes walk to the Old Port (downtown area) which was our main attraction. The hotel is located between a residential area and the Old Port. The room was a decent size, the room itself was clean, bathroom could have been a little cleaner. Our room had a view of the bay but I don't think I'd pay extra for that, your main view is of the neighborhood and the roadways and then the bay beyond that.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
Thank brn679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

my family and i travel frequently thru the months of oct thru april for our sons ice hockey, this hotel is by far the cleanest as well as up to date hotel that we have stayed in. The stafff there is very friendly and accomodating. If you like to take advantage while you r away from home, from room service then this is the best place to be as their food is excellent!! The rooms are very well kept and very cozy. they offer free coffee and hot chocolate from machines NOT form a packet in the lobby hahahah..the location of this hotel is very easy to find.we are a family of five and the rooms are very spacious specially with all of his hockey equipment. If you are going to be staying in the portland area then this would be my recommendation for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews