We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Summer 2011 my family and I went to Maine for the first time. We stayed at Oceanside Meadows Inn while in the Acadia area. It was kind of different when we arrived as we could not find anyone to help us. Once we did though we had an extensive orientation of the property and then taken to our rooms. They were clean, but truly this is an old residence and you need to be okay with that. The location was out, which we knew that was the case, again you need to be okay with that. It was close to the Scoodic Penisula portion of Acadia National which was beautiful!!! But, let me say the breakfast was absolutely the most impressive of any we had on this trip. Truly gourmet and beautiful presentation! I loved the fact that herbs and edilbe flowers were grown on the property and used fresh daily. There was quite a bit of wild life that we were able to see, although hoping to see a moose and we did not. Anyway, a nice stay for a natural feeling no frills other than breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a nice ocean view room that we'd stayed in before, 4 years ago, and indeed this was my third visit . I can understand and agree with the comments about "lack of warmth" and "owners missing in action". I'd also add that in my experience that email requests require following up and its sometimes hard to establish communication. I honestly think they're happier with internet bookings. The other thing that needs saying is that the local dining options can be few and far between especially out of peak season, especially if you want something more than middling in quality.

These aside the place is comfortable and nicely located right by the shore in a beautiful area . I'd stay again for that reason alone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you like a peaceful spot surrounded by the ocean, immaculate grounds, conservation land and trails, you'll really enjoy Oceanside Meadows.
Our 2nd floor room in the 1820 farmhouse was very pretty and overlooked the private beach and cove. Breakfast each day was a real treat, with local ingredients like Maine wild blueberry pancakes, exquisitely prepared and presented. One dining room overlooks the ocean while the other view is of the gardens and grounds. The weather had become too cool for swimming but I am sure it's a delight on a summer day with a nice 200 yd beach and sandy bottom in the cove.
It's clear that Ben and Sonja are deeply committed environmentalists and are cordial hosts as well. Staff was very helpful and take pride in their work. It's like stepping back to a less hurried/ plugged in time. The Acadian Schoodic drive is nearby and breath-taking. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onthetee01742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in September. We had the room in the Sea Captain's home overlooking the ocean. The room was pleasant but the deck was in poor disrepair and the outside furniture should have been thrown out years ago.

The owners never made themselves available. We both felt the inn LACKED WARMTH and hospitality. VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!

Overpriced, for vegetarians (take heed) and generally no warmth to speak of except for the wood stove that was lit in the parlor at night and caused so much smoke we had to close our windows.

This was a weekend to celebrate 23 years of marriage and although we loved Winter Harbor area we would not recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed two nights in September 2011. I honestly have never stayed at a B&B where the owners were missing in action. We did meet the owner, Ben, initially (by accident) otherwise we never saw them again...I found that rather cold and sterile. If I want to stay at an indifferent inn, I would have chosen a chain.

The location is pleasant and if you are into hiking, you are at the right place...I just felt the overall it overall lacked a personal touch when asll we met were the hired help. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing time at Oceanmeadow's Inn. Beth checked us in, and spent ample time explaining everything to us, answering questions, and making dinner reservations for us. The servers were most accommodating and pleasant, describing the ingredients in each carefully prepared dish. The Innkeeper, Ben, visited our table at breakfast and was responsive to any and all requests.

It was clear to us how much thought was put into everything at the Inn - the carefully chosen and skillfully prepared, totally delicious breakfasts, the ginger snaps and tea ready for us at any time, the educational brochures we were given at check in - with all sorts of fascinating information about the local flora and fauna. Great care has been taken to preserve both the environment around the Inn, and the delightful old buildings themselves. But effort has also been made to educate the public, in a non-intrusive way. Wonderful seminars are held in the summer in the newly renovated building out back.

We actually appreciated not having the option of TV. We found ourselves drifting into the common rooms, enjoying the warmth of the wood stove, and conversations with other guests from all over the United States. We played Scrabble, worked on a community puzzle, read our books - and yes, occasionally checked the all important e mails, or researched places we wanted to visit the next day. Not having a TV in our room, or in the common area, served to foster a sense of community - something so important yet so lacking these days. (Sports fans could always catch the latest game at one of the nearby restaurants or pubs - and not having the TV on, certainly didn't limit the "sports chatter!".) We appreciated the staff's excellent suggestions of places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed outstanding meals at both Bunker's Wharf the first night, and Fisherman's Inn, the second.

While we were physically unable to do much by way of hiking or exploring the nature preserve on the vast property, the eight mile drive around the Acadia National Park at Schoodic was breathtaking. It was quite cool when we were there, so we only took a short walk down to the private sandy beach across the street from the Inn - in pristine condition, by the way - but could easily imagine how wonderful it would be to sit in the sun and splash in the water, on a hot summer day.

My only constructive criticism would be to add a warm blanket either to the beds, or in the closet on a shelf, for those guests who visit in late September and October. While we were there it got quite cool, and we felt the need for a warmer blanket. (Had we asked, I'm sure a blanket would have been provided!)

This place is a little piece of Heaven on earth. The beautiful gardens, gurgling brook, sound of the surf and beautiful sunrises nourished our souls! The entire experience served as a reminder that these marvels of nature are gifts, gifts that should not be taken for granted, can't be replaced and simply must be preserved. We'll be back next summer!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the second floor of the 1820's farmhouse - 3 ocean view windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had reserved another B&B, but due to a conflict in reservations, we had to change our destination. We lucked out when Oceanside Meadows Inn had a room available. We stayed in a very roomy bedroom with attached bathroom on the first floor of the farmhouse. However, the people above us got up at 4:30 and, although they tried to be quiet, we could hear every step. The second floor would have been quieter. The view of the bay out our window was lovely and the breakfast was fantastic. The owner was very nice and had good recommendations of things to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room. It is an old home and the floors are squeeky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn

Address: 202 Corea Rd, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: $178 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings! I, Ben, and my wife, Sonja, would like to welcome you to Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn. We encourage you to discover the serenity and hospitality of Schoodic Peninsula, located in the heart of beautiful Downeast Maine. The buildings of our Inn stand on 200 acres at the head of Sand Cove in picturesque Prospect Harbor.At Oceanside Meadows we have two very specific goals: to ensure that you have an extraordinary experience staying at our historic inn and to introduce you to our ever-evolving 200 acre nature preserve. Explore our sandy beach, rocky shore, dunes, meadows, forest, ponds, streams, and pristine salt marsh environments, which offer a great diversity of habitats and wildlife. My wife and I, who have a background in science and conservation, are committed to the preservation of this extraordinary place. Oceanside Meadows marries all that you would expect from a historic inn that has been open since 1860 with an unparalleled opportunity to explore and to understand Maine's environment and natural splendor.We invite you to join us here for a relaxing respite on the ocean. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf on our private sandy beach. Individually appointed bedrooms are lavishly furnished with your comfort in mind. Our rooms feature ocean and meadow views, private baths, flowers from the garden, and the refreshing sea breeze. Enjoy hearty gourmet breakfasts in our gracious dining room as you watch the lobster boats ply the Atlantic just yards away. Feast on wild blueberry pancakes, specialty omelets, homemade breads and other delights. We are glad to cater to vegetarian and other dietary needs. Our unique sandy beach is a great place to have a picnic, to lie in the sun or to take a dip in the brisk Atlantic. Explore the rugged coastline, tidal pools, and lighthouses; spot an eagle or osprey overhead; try sea kayaking, yachting, fresh water canoeing. Head out on a real Maine Lobster boat, see the seals basking in the sun, whales breaching, the puffins at Petit Manan Light, on your way back in to the dock pull lobster traps, truly immersing in the real wonders of the Downeast Maine coast. Try the trails of Acadia National Park at Schoodic 5 mins away or our own just behind the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing