We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
87
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
6
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning wonderful place breakfasts were great rooms are comfortable scott area house maine locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

This was a two night stay. Scott was the consummate host. He sent a very informational email before our arrival and provided more info and a map of the peninsula when I arrived. Our accommodations were perfect, a comfy bed, roomy bathroom with lots of fluffy towels, and a nice flat screen TV. The coffee was freshly brewed early each morning and Ruby’s fantastic breakfast was served, shortly thereafter. Elsa’s might be a little remote for some but it has all the characteristics you expect in a really nice bed and breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vipirdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMeg, Manager at Elsa's Inn On The Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2020

At Elsa's we try to provide a welcoming traditional B&B approach to lodging. While we have easy access to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor, this area is becoming better known in it's own rights. Previously considered more of a satellite to MDI and Bar Harbor, this area now resembles what I remember of MDI 30 or 40 years ago. The villages are still genuine, mostly fishing villages, the area of the Acadia here, the Schoodic District of Acadia, is much more pristine than the more traveled area on MDI. The pace of life, or pace of visiting here, is much more relaxed. Most fo our guests discovert this on their first visit and then come again...and again. We take that as huge complement and so enjoy seeing them return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Am so thankful that I got to visit Scott and Ruby at Elsa's again this year. They made me feel just as welcome this year as last. Even got to stay in Dorothy's room again, it was awesome! Ruby makes breakfast a can't miss event. I had to leave for a tour very early one morning and she was kind enough to make me breakfast to go. The day I was leaving I had a low tire on the rental and Scott got me fixed up and on the road. I just can't say enough wonderful things about them and this lovely B&B. Hope I can "Threepeat"!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmjd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMeg, Owner at Elsa's Inn On The Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

We enjoyed seeing you again and yes, it's like having friends come back and visit! Glad you had a good trip this year and we hope you'll be back again too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2019

Although Elsa's is a 40 minute ferry ride or 45 minutes by car to downtown Bar Harbor - it is well worth it. We really enjoyed the more quiet Winter Island and that part of the Arcadia National Park. Scott (owner) and Ruby (chef) were fantastic and made sure our experience was wonderful. The local knowledge (where to eat, what to see and everything in between) that Scott provided and the breakfast Ruby provided - it really made it a wonderful trip for us.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Coastal424997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMeg, Owner at Elsa's Inn On The Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. There is so much to see and do in the area it can be hard to decide how to make the most of your time here. Then again, there is nothing wrong with just sitting and watching the water either!

Hope you will come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2019

Elsa's offers great taste in decor with many rooms wallpapered with delicate pink flowers. It is so attractive inside, that one wants to flop down, on the antique bed (with new mattress), open the window, and feel the harbor wind as it blows in from across the street. The owner, Scott, goes out of his way to make one comfortable and describe local sites. Ruby, the breakfast lady, prepares a beautiful breakfast as guests sit comfortably around the table and chat with each other. The only draw back for this site is that there are almost zero places to eat lunch on the Scodiac Peninsula, but it is quiet and peaceful with excellent hiking, biking and touring. A very accommodating B&B. Thanks Scott and Ruby !

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMeg, Owner at Elsa's Inn On The Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind words! It seems I failed to tell you about lunch places! There are several but, like other things in the area, some of the best ones are hard to find! So, now, you'll have to come back! Corea Lunch on the Wharf - named best lobster roll in the country a few years ago, The Pickled Wrinkle - way better than your average pub-grub, Ben and Me - hot dogs and such but, don't leave without their ice cream for dessert, The Hot-Dog Cart outside Fisherman's Galley - amazing hot dogs plus lobster rolls and more, JM Gerrish - great lunch options, sit on the porch on Main St., DownEast Mexican - how does DownEast Maine sport on of the most authentic Mexican take-outs? and more!
We so enjoy our guests, it is hard to see them go...I hope you'll be back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2019 via mobile

We can’t say enough about our quick little visit to the gem that is Elsa’s Inn on the Harbor. The proprietor, Scott, was a wealth of info and hospitality, from the original confirmation email to the bag of goodies left for our very early departure. It is located on the beautiful Schoodic Peninsula and is off path just enough to allow you to experience Acadia without all the tourists and traffic in neighboring Bar Harbor. But if crowds are your thing, there is a local ferry, or you can drive, to Bar Harbor and experience the shops without too much of an inconvenience. Each morning was an excellent breakfast and there were always homemade goodies out for those who enjoy later evenings. Small touches like providing locally made soaps and shampoos and including chocolates on the nightstand enhanced our first Maine experience. It’s a visit we won’t soon forget, and we look forward to visiting Elsa’s again in the future!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BandJennM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMeg, Owner at Elsa's Inn On The Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

It is always fun to help our guests explore and enjoy the area! There are lot of tourists spots but, also just as many hidden secrets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews