We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
13
13
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
13
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new brunswick bagged breakfast rustic charm stayed here for one night rocky beach canadian border lobster boats rooms are clean the river downeast maine canada property balcony bay furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 44 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Our room was spotless, large and had a beautiful view of the St. Croix River. With limited options in a very small town, we decided to have dinner in the motel's large main house. We made the right choice! It is truly a family affair with the owner and her daughter doing the cooking and the grandson serving. The food was fabulous and the specialty drinks delicious. I had a creamy seafood meal with a light pastry topping. The dining room is filled with lovely English china and resembles a quaint tea room. We sat at a corner table overlooking the St. Croix River. Our server was a young college student who gave us information about the area. He was gracious and very efficient. His mother and grandmother could not have been nicer. They shared information about the ship building business in Robbinston, Maine so many years ago. The main house was the home of a ship builder which was interesting to me because my ancestor was a ship's carpenter in that very town. We had a great experience staying at the Redclyffe Shore Motel. It is a great price for a very clean room with nice owners. Keep in mind that your cell phone may pick up Canadian roaming charges - we needed to alert our cell phone provider which is common in this area. Discount comes with AAA membership which the owner cheerfully intormed us. We would definitely stay here again when traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from highway overlooking the St. Croix River.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank VineyardKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2012

One review I read spoke about the hot water being tepid, and hoping it was fixed. It wasn't. AAA said the Redclyffe has wireless internet, but it sure didn't work in our room, and we were told that it didn't in those further from the office. I was tempted to drive around the parking lot to find where it did work. The bedding and towels certainly do need an upgrade. The fridge was nice, and we had a nice view, but it's a basic motel in a great setting with large rooms.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a great view, a large room and not much else, this works.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were given a room in the newer section to the right as you are facing the motel. The room was roomy and clean. The room was about $65. Great view of the water!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank depfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2011

First of all, the restaurant is terrific, much better than you would expect in such an out-of-the-way place. The seafood is all very fresh and beautifully prepared. Our guest had chicken, which she said was also excellent. You must try the garlic mushrooms - worth the trip! And even the salad was made from fresh local greens, not the iceberg I was expecting.
Having said all that, I must say that I would NEVER sleep here again. While the rooms (as other reviewers have mentioned) were large and airy, and the linens were scrupulously clean, this is clearly an aging motel with problems. We nearly stepped through the bathroom floor in the first room we were assigned, and they were pleasant about changing us to another room. The floors sloped so none of the doors would close. The mattresses were saggy and smelled frankly musty, if not worse. I have had more comfortable nights' sleep on the ground in a tent, and at one point I was seriously contemplating moving off of my torturous bed and sleeping on the floor.
In conclusion, eat here for sure, but surely don't sleep here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here during a motorcycle trip of Maritimes and some of Maine. It was recommended by a booked B&B in Calais when we were looking for something close to the border, en route to Eastport and Campobello. It fit the bill; the price was right. Charmingly quirky, it has huge rooms with gorgeous views, small refrigerators and built-in coffeemakers from the 1960's. It's the kind of hotel where you get a real key and the paper band around your toilet.
Our linens were fine; walls were thin. No hot water for a bit; the repairman found the switch was simply turned off.
Kitsch-filled gift shop and restaurant where we had one of the best seafood meals of our entire 2-week trip - excellent food and service - it has character.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies or closest to river have best views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews