We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island View Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just the perfect spot, great rooms, great views, close to Camden! No complaints

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimisfaveplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    34
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
53
196
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

View: PERFECT Rooms: GorgeousService: KindestOverall: BEST TRIP EVER

Helpful?
Thank Lindseyloo211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The desk person didn't have our reservation and the place was almost full. After a search, she found that we were expected the night before. In any event, she put us in the one remaining room, a 1 BR suite, at a small increase over the rate for a standard room. It was a very spacious, comfortable room overlooking a small cove. In a word delightful. This property is in a lovely setting and convenient to Camden and Rockland, but very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband and I took our first trip to Maine to consider a move there and explore the entire coast! I found this property online and fell in love and the pictures became reality the moment we got there! HOWEVER, we got there a day later than planned due to a rental car catastrophe that left us stranded in Portland. I was crushed because I was sooo excited about this place and couldn't bear the thought of loosing a day there! I called to notify them that we wouldn't be up that night and they informed me I'd still have to pay for the full night no matter what. I completely understand "policies" but was angered that our cancellation was completely out of our hands and there seemed to be no sense of customer service to accomodate us with at least a reduced rate for our missed night. We asked repeatedly to speak with the owner, but he was conveniently "out" for 3 days. We chose this property because it was not a large hotel chain and would be more personable, however, the management did not give us that cozy inn feel at all! Don't get me wrong, the place is clean and beautiful, but this experience really took away from our being able to enjoy the visit like we wanted to. We called the B&B we were to visit next and when they agreed to cancel our reservation for that night free of charge so we could stay another day at Island View. We decided we'd rather give Innkeepers like that our hard-earned money and proceeded with check-out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, il
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed there late September and had a really good experience. The pictures are exactly what you can expect. great location "tween" places, nice view off the balcony, nice size room at a decent value. Of the five hotels we stayed at during our coastline tour, this was probably the nicest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyrell1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeton NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I spent a week at the Island View Inn in Rockport at the beginning of October. The place is spotless and the room was beautifully decorated. It is next door to the Strawberry Hill Inn which is my favorite place to stay in Maine. It was full so I stayed in its sister property next door and wasn't disappointed at all. The view overlooking the cove is terrific and you can follow the path down to the water where there are chairs and an umbrella. I spent a very comfortable afternoon down there just watching the water and reading. The Inn is quiet, my room was lovely and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will return over and over to either the Island View Inn or the Strawberry Hill Inn. Hint: Reserve early for a fall stay as they get full pretty quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, I had the only room without one. A huge room with a loft and fireplace that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We took a trip to Maine this past weekend and stayed at Island View Inn, which was recommended to us, and we are very thankful. The Inn is located in beautiful surroundings at Rockport, which is only a few minutes away from Camden and from Rockland. Its units all overlook the ocean including the bottom floor with its patio. There is a big hill leading to the water but not too big to walk down to it where adirondak chairs await you with their umbrellas. A small red boat sits on the water as a focus for a gorgeous picture. Coffee and tea was available in the lobby. A laundry room is also onsite as well as a heated pool. The rooms are nautical in decor with lots of storage space and a big bathroom with its little plastic "ducky" waiting for your first relaxing bath.

Room Tip: Room 115 and a full moon night would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.1 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
6.4 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
15.0 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.2 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
14.2 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Inn

Property: Island View Inn
Address: 904 Commercial St, Route 1, Rockport, ME 04856-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#2 Family Hotel in Rockport
#5 Business Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Island View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Hotel Rockport
Island View Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing