We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We recently went on a 2 wk road trip to New England, and we would highly recommend the Schooner Bay Motor Inn. We stayed in a different motel almost every nite and this one is excellent. Very clean, comfortable,and hosts were such fun people. This is one of the top 3 for us. Thanks David & Dayle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    37
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
45
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

There is absolutely nothing bad that I can say about the Schooner Bay Motor Inn. The rooms are immaculate, the continental breakfast in the morning is great, the decor is charming and inviting, the owners make you feel so welcome that it was hard for me to leave! Easy to find, great rates, amazingly comfortable beds; there is no reason not to stay here. I will definitely come back and use this Inn next time I come to explore the Camden/Rockport area.

Room Tip: End room on second floor with two queens is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I commute to Rockport/Camden area due to work, and has been staying overnight in the local motels. Schooner Bay Motor Inn is an excellent choice for me who need a clean place to stay. SBMI is clean, well-kept, has wifi, and is in a great location, right on the main road that runs through Camden-Rockland. David and Dayle are gracious hosts. The breakfast is a little treat to top off my stay. You will not be able to find better rate anywhere in the mid-coast Maine area for such a great combination of everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiantraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I chose The Schooner Bay after reading other TripAdvisor write ups. We found our little room very clean and comfortable. Continental Breakfast is nothing fancy but that was fine with us. There was hot coffee, fruit, toast and cereal offerings. The location is perfect for a trip to Camden for a sail on a schooner. Great value, location and people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For the price of the room, compared to the other places in the area, it was an alright deal for a last minute room. The room smelled like a basement, until the air conditioner was turned on, and then the smell subsided somewhat. Other than that the room was clean and cute.

The continental breakfast was average, but yummy. Very cool toaster! And a very cute eating area. Had to walk up to the main office for breakfast, which is not connected to the motor inn. But it wasn't very far to walk though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholeBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bro248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
We are sorry the reviewer found an odor in the room. This is a room, which is on our second floor and is used frequently during August. It is thoroughly cleaned during each stay and upon each check out. We pride ourselves on providing rooms that are clean and free of odors. If the reviewer found a problem with the room, it should have been brought to our attention at the time. Another room could have been easily provided to the reviewer’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable, excellent WiFi. I was fortunately able to book a last-minute reservation for a weekend night during the prime summer season, in the popular Rockport/Camden area.

Dayle and David were perfect and helpful hosts. The motel has rooms on 2 floors. Dayle considerately suggested a room on the ground floor since, as a woman traveling alone, I would not have to carry luggage up a flight myself.

The breakfast was more than adequate. The location on Rte 1 is very convenient. It is very close to a Hanneford supermarket and a Renys department store.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was booking a room last minute during the Lobster Festival and basically, this was the only place that had availability and was fairly affordable (given the season and the festival). Ended up being surprisingly nice. They had a very light breakfast (English muffins, cereals, fruit cup, juices and coffee), rooms were clean, the owners were very friendly, cable tv, and room was quite a bit bigger than I expected too. Also had a mini refrigerator in the room. Right on Route 1 and close to Rockland and Camden.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
4.0 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
2.2 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
8.2 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
4.3 km away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,259 reviews
0.1 km away
Starlight Lodge at Seven Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Bay Motor Inn

Property: Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Address: 337 Commercial St, P.O. Box 544, Rockport, ME 04856-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Bay Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Inn that caters to our quest needs by providing legendary customers service. Full day trip itinerary planning by the owner (who has lived here there full life). Rooms are small but very quaint and immaculately clean. We will start your day off with a home continental breakfast which includes fresh quiche, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. We are conveniently located in mid coast Maine 3 miles north of Rockland and 2 miles south of Camden at the head of the bay in Rockport Harbor home of Andrea the seal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Schooner Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Bay Hotel
Schooner Bay Motor Inn Rockport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing