We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Country Inn at Camden/Rockport(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
US$324
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Crest Inn(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)(Great Value!)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
72
41
10
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
41
10
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichekind ownercomfortable bedsoffice closesrockport camden areadifferent kindsstaff went out of their waysmall bathroomenjoyed our stayroad tripbar harborthe east coastking bednew englandhomemade muffinsgreat roomfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 134 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

There is absolutely nothing bad that I can say about the Schooner Bay Motor Inn. The rooms are immaculate, the continental breakfast in the morning is great, the decor is charming and inviting, the owners make you feel so welcome that it was hard for me to leave! Easy to find, great rates, amazingly comfortable beds; there is no reason not to stay here. I will definitely come back and use this Inn next time I come to explore the Camden/Rockport area.

Room Tip: End room on second floor with two queens is wonderful
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spudzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I commute to Rockport/Camden area due to work, and has been staying overnight in the local motels. Schooner Bay Motor Inn is an excellent choice for me who need a clean place to stay. SBMI is clean, well-kept, has wifi, and is in a great location, right on the main road that runs through Camden-Rockland. David and Dayle are gracious hosts. The breakfast is a little treat to top off my stay. You will not be able to find better rate anywhere in the mid-coast Maine area for such a great combination of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank asiantraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I chose The Schooner Bay after reading other TripAdvisor write ups. We found our little room very clean and comfortable. Continental Breakfast is nothing fancy but that was fine with us. There was hot coffee, fruit, toast and cereal offerings. The location is perfect for a trip to Camden for a sail on a schooner. Great value, location and people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2011

For the price of the room, compared to the other places in the area, it was an alright deal for a last minute room. The room smelled like a basement, until the air conditioner was turned on, and then the smell subsided somewhat. Other than that the room was clean and cute.

The continental breakfast was average, but yummy. Very cool toaster! And a very cute eating area. Had to walk up to the main office for breakfast, which is not connected to the motor inn. But it wasn't very far to walk though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholeBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bro248, Owner at Schooner Bay Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

We are sorry the reviewer found an odor in the room. This is a room, which is on our second floor and is used frequently during August. It is thoroughly cleaned during each stay and upon each check out. We pride ourselves on providing rooms that are clean and free of odors. If the reviewer found a problem with the room, it should have been brought to our attention at the time. Another room could have been easily provided to the reviewer’s satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable, excellent WiFi. I was fortunately able to book a last-minute reservation for a weekend night during the prime summer season, in the popular Rockport/Camden area.

Dayle and David were perfect and helpful hosts. The motel has rooms on 2 floors. Dayle considerately suggested a room on the ground floor since, as a woman traveling alone, I would not have to carry luggage up a flight myself.

The breakfast was more than adequate. The location on Rte 1 is very convenient. It is very close to a Hanneford supermarket and a Renys department store.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews