We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
36
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews several years moosehead lake stayed nights dennis eagles dock hosts restrictions cabin dog greenville
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a quiet, week long stay in Cabin 7. The view of the lake wasn't the best of the cabins, but I picked it for the bedroom and kitchen layouts.

Dennis & Emily are great hosts and help make the experience worth reviewing! I loved the darkness so thick you couldn't see your hands in front of you at night, the quiet family atmosphere (there are quiet hours in place and no partying went on while we were there), hearing the loons and eagles, and it was great that our dog could join us for a nominal extra fee!

Canoe and kayak rentals are available, too.

Would definitely visit again!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LG1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2020

Been staying here the last several years for our annual spring Moosehead Lake fishing trip. Dennis and Emily are great friendly hosts (as are their sons). The dock and cabins are set up perfect for this fisherman. Cable TV and wi-fi for inclement weather when you can't get on the lake or enjoy the great view. We live on the Maine coast and arrived the first week the camps were allowed to open because of the state Covid-19 restrictions. The cabins are all far apart and social distancing is not an issue except in the immediate boat dock area. We basically had the place to ourselves as all the out of state guests had cancelled because of the required quarantine restrictions. We plan to be back next year.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2019

Six wonderfully old-fashioned cottages right on the shore of Moosehead Lake with a splendid view of Mt. Kineo. You can see both dawn and sunset sitting right by the water on one of their double swings. We were sold by the screen porch. In Maine, you want a screen porch; there is nothing like sitting in a rocking chair with a good book, looking out at one of the most magnificent lakes in New England, protected from the bugs! The cabin itself was immaculately clean and well supplied. Although the layout is a throwback to the Fifties, all the plumbing and fixtures were very new. Dennis and Emily were friendly and responsive. Best, maybe, was the community of folks we encountered who have been coming back year after year. Every evening, there was a friendly gathering around the barbecue and fire pit on picnic picnic tables at lake's edge. A very sweet and appealing place.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank ekuhlman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Emily, Dennis and their boys are a great family who run a great family business. They are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. They have worked hard to update the cottages. We recently stayed in their new addition to available cottages. Very quiet, clean with incredible views. Emily and Dennis are very accommodating, we have been doing business with them for approximately 4 years and have already booked our cottage for next year. Enjoy your stay.

Room tip: All cottages have a wonderful view, with kitchen equipment supplied. Cottages are very clean.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louiedegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2019

We just returned from our first stay at Rockwood Cottages. We had rented from Emily & Dennis in recent years at another property, so we were enthusiastic about their new venture. They continue to be the perfect hosts, immediately available, always going above & beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The snowshoeing, hiking and cross-country skiiing nearby were fantastic. The cabin was very clean, quiet, and well-equipped, and we got tons of sleep. We stayed 3 nights and seriously did not want to leave. We've found our winter happy place, and we've already booked for next year. Thank you, Dennis & Emily!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrishE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews