We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Clean, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It is very clean hotel, about 4 years old, service was excellent, smiley people at the front desk and housekeeping staff, food was really good, coffee is available 24 Hrs. You can’t go wrong by choosing this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherifG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
What a nice review you wrote about our hotel, thank you so much. We are so pleased that you found our staff so accommodating. Our suitekeeping team take special pride while cleaning the suites and it shows throughout the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again when travelling to the Greater Portland, Maine area.

Warmly,
Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    126
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
227
182
22
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect about this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.

The room was up to date and spacious. Bedding is very comfortable. The housekeeping staff did a great job in the room and throughout the entire building. And even though the hotel was busy, It was very quiet in the room

The desk staff was very friendly and professional. The location is just a few minutes to the airport and about 10 minutes to downtown Portland. WiFi worked flawlessly and was fast enough to stream video.

On top of all that it's very competitively priced. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in town.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Spitfires135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
320 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Unfortunately our second visit to this hotel was a big disappointment, especially given how good it was the first time.
As we approached our room there were really strong food smells in the corridor which we assumed came from one of the neighboring rooms, however it turned out that they came from the room we were given. We were in a hurry so just left our bags and headed out, so it was only when we returned and went to bed that we realised the food smell was ingrained in all of the fabrics, pillows, mattress, etc. by which time we didn't want to get up, pack and move rooms. Instead we sprayed copious quantities of Febreeze but it failed to mask the food smells and we slept very badly. The odor had also pervaded into our bags and clothes so everything we had taken into the room needed washing / dry cleaning.
The room itself was clean (just very very smelly!) and the receptionist who checked us in very welcoming however when we mentioned the problem at checkout that receptionist didn't seem interested and just shrugged.
The breakfast was not great - the host was sullen and the food selection poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your return visit to our hotel. It was disappointing to hear that felt as though you didn't have as pleasant a stay this time as in your previous visit. You certainly deserved a clean, fresh, odor-free suite. As a Homewood Suites by Hilton hotel, some of our extended stay guests make themselves at home by cooking some of their own meals. I apologize if you experienced some lingering cooking odors in your suite. I do hope you will give us another chance and choose Homewood again when in our neighborhood.
Sincerely,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

It is very clean, everything in the hotel is either new or in a very good shape, bathroom tubs are new. Also extremely friendly staff.
Overall, we were shocked how much better it is than many 4* hotels we stayed in.
Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilunMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear LilunMtl,
Thank you for the vote of confidence! We take extra pride in taking excellent care of our hotel so that our guests will continue to come back, time and time again. We hope to see you soon.
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were told by a family member that this was the best place to stay in Portland. The family member was right! We traveled with our 2-year old and it was the perfect place as she could take a nap and/or go to bed at night in the bedroom while my wife and I were able to still talk with one another and watch TV in the other room without keeping her up.
The leisure of having a kitchen made life much easier as we could have a wider variety of snacks to choose from during our stay as well as prepare our own lunch and dinner instead of going out to eat all the time.
The service was wonderful and the hotel was very clean. We went to the pool one morning and as we arrived we noticed all the towels were gone. A quick trip to the nearest worker helped get a full rack of towels within 5 minutes from when we asked.
The breakfast is not like any other "free" breakfast. There was a nice variety of hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, french toast, waffles, egg sandwich, and hash browns) and everyday items (yogurts, fruits, bagels, toast, danishes, coffee, tea, and juice) throughout the two mornings we ate there. The morning staff worked hard to keep the place clean and all breakfast items well stocked.
All in all, this is a great place to stay for the price. I hate to give away all the secrets of this hotel as I hope they'll always have room for my family when we're traveling to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineTraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Maine Traveler82,
With such a wonderfully written and positive review, we also hope that we will always have a suite for you when you and your family travel to Portland! On behalf of the entire Homewood Team, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious suite, the breakfast, and the helpful staff. We recently added waffles to the breakfast offering and feature them 2-3 times a week and our guests just love them. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the great review!
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Room was extremely quiet, staff was very nice and the whole place was immaculate. The halls, elevator, pool, lobby room were all spotless. This hotel offers a few smoking and pet friendly rooms, which I was nervous about, but you would never know it when you're there...they must have an amazing housekeeping staff.

The breakfast was more than adequate and the free dinner was actually pretty good too! (I think they only have the dinner on weeknights)

My only complaint is the temperature control in the room...it blew hot or cold air, no neutral fan option, so we just kept it off most of the time.

Overall, this is a great family friendly hotel and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hi LBRod,
You are right! We do have an amazing housekeeping staff! Thanks for the great review of our hotel, your comments are very important to us. We look forward to having you return as a guest again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Kim Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Three of us had been working in Haiti for the previous week, and we had a late night arrival into Portland. I had booked a "nonrefundable" internet rate, and the staff assured me that arriving after midnight would not jeopardize our reservation or price. We were weary and worn and really looking forward to a hot shower and a good bed. Well, upon arrival, everything was spotless, new, clean, inviting. Rudy, the desk clerk, had our reservation ready, and got us assigned to the double queen room I had booked with a pull-out couch. I'm a Hilton Gold member, and upon his hearing us deliberating who'd get the pull-out couch, he said, "just a second...I think I have a better plan for you guys." He set us up in Room 318, a 2 bedroom King suite with two queen beds in one room and a King in the other. The living room/kitchen were beautiful, and the rooms, each with a bath were just what the Dr. ordered. Thank you, Rudy!! We enjoyed the free microwave popcorn packet, and awakened refreshed from a fantastic night's rest ~ quiet, and perfectly comfortable. The breakfast was great, staff really helpful and friendly, and the ambience is brand new. For 3 of us to stay in this caliber of hotel in a King Suite with breakfast for $132 was over the top fantastic! Keep up the great work, Homewood Suites Scarborough!!

Room Tip: I don't believe there's a bad room to be had in this great hotel. We were on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim_dennis, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are so glad that you found our Homewood Suites by Hilton comfortable! After travelling to Portland late at night, after your week in Haiti, it was wonderful that Rudy was able to upgrade you to our two-bedroom suite. It was a perfect fit! We are thankful to have Rudy greeting our guests and we hope to have you back with us again soon.

Kim Dennis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
8.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
7.8 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
8.3 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Address: 200 Southborough Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-5904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our indoor pool and Jacuzzi will keep all children, young and old, entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Hotel Scarborough
Homewood Suites Scarborough
Portland Homewood Suites
Portland Hilton
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portland Maine/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing