We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“was better in the past” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anjon's Italian Restaurant

Anjon's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 85 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1954 Anjon's Italian Restaurant has been serving the people of Scarborough and Southern Maine area only the finest Italian cuisine, choice steaks and freshest Maine seafood. Our world famous gourmet pasta sauces and stuffed bread are award-winning and mouth watering; come in and see for yourself! Offering private rooms for functions or large parties and catering available for pick-up
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“was better in the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have not been to Anjons in many years but always had a great meal before. This time it was not good. My fish tasted like it was frozen from the supermarket frozen food aisle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisykmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    33
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have been going here since the 1980's and I will continue to go there when in town. I must admit this has always been I place I go for Lobster and they do it right. Usually they have Lobster specials so I really do not eat the Italian but my wife does and she enyoys it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeDetroit_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
397 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Solid Italian food at a reasonable price. Portions are generous and service is a cut above average. The place gives the impression of having been one of "the" places to eat back in the day. Not worth a special trip but a solid choice if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st Petersburg, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food well prepared and well served”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Anjon's has been serving southern Maine with excellent food for more than 30 years. Having frequently dined at Anjon's over this period my wife and I celebrated an birthday lunch at Anjons' and were very well treated with good food. We enjoyed an appetizer of Haddock Chowder and had Fried Haddock, the food and service were top notch. The pricing has steadily increased over the years to the point that it is now quite expensive. The specials are well priced but most other menu items are quite expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Specials you wouldn't believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

A few miles north of Old Orchard Beech, Maine - on Route1, This Italian/Steak/Seafood eatery has been established since 1954 and you can see why it's still going strong if you make this a stop. I had a special which was a 10 oz. sirloin steak with a good sized Maine lobster for $20. What a deal, and it was so delicious. You could also get twin lobsters for $20. There is also a great variety on the regular menu. This is forth time there in the last 3 years. Would eat there more often, but we live 5 hours away in New York. Great place with very nice atmosphere and very nice people working there. Dress can be casual to formal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anjon's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anjon's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing