We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
16
15
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
15
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fully stocked kitchen old orchard beach room was clean borrow furnishings maintenance gym portland amenities bedroom property
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We have recently stayed at Candlewood Suites in Portland while my husband participated at the Atlantic Pickleball tournament, and we really liked the place. It is cozy, clean and inviting, and perfect for extended stays. It looks brand new, with clean modern decor. The kitchen had all the needed supplies, and so did the bathroom. Full size bath essentials (shampoo, conditioner and shower gel) were provided not the standard tiny bottles, which was great. We only stayed for 2 nights, however we wished we could have stayed longer. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and I will stay here again when in the area.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank anvacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edana M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thanks anvacationlover! Love the name by the way! In an effort to be more green we did replace the small plastic travel size bottles with full size shampoo, conditioner and shower gel attached to an unit in the shower. We exchange the bottles as needed and have reduced our plastic waste considerably!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay over the 4th. We had a suite and it was perfect as we had 3 adults and 2 children. The kitchen was fully stocked with cups plates and everything else you would need. The beds were very comfortable and the pull out sofa works great for my kids. They even have crackpots and blenders to borrow. We saved a lot of money in not dining out. They do not offer breakfast but do have free coffee all day. They have a laundry facility and a gym. The location is a short ride to Portland and old orchard beach.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank bean620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edana M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thanks Bean620! You summed up our hotel pretty well! We are right across the street from a grocery store as well! making things even more convenient!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We were booked at the Extended Stay down the street which was so bad we couldn’t stay due to horrible conditions and the smell of the hotel. We walked into Candlewood and they went out of their way to find room for us. We were able to book a two bedroom for three nights. Just wonderful!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Clarise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edana M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

We were more than happy to do what we could for you! We strive to live up to our "home away from home" motto, no matter what the situation we will do everything we can to accommodate you! It was our pleasure and hopefully we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

This was our first time in Portland and I selected one of the best hotels in the area. The Candlewood Suites has an exceptional floorplan. For a double you get two separate bedrooms, a large common area with a eat in table, full size fridge, couch and recliner, microwave, dishwasher and an induction 2 burner range top. This is so convenient with the conveniences of home for a very reasonable rate! There isn't a complimentary breakfast. Sam's Club is across the street and there are retail stores down the street as well. Just a short drive to downtown and all the attractions there to see was worth staying at this location. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeane141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edana M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

It is true that Candlewood Suites by brand standards does not offer breakfast but having the kitchen in your room provides an awesome place to relax and enjoy breakfast, with grocery stores so close by you can find what you would like, rather than another continental breakfast. We also have items available for purchase that you can eat on the go, or back in your room. Also, Portland, Maine has become a foodie destination, so if you don't want to prepare your own breakfast there are award winning restaurants within a 10 minute drive :) So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Recently renovated hotel. Clean and quiet. Good location with grocery store at the end of the driveway. Room is not cleaned daily which means we don't have to pick up our mess every day. Laundry in each building if you need it. There are enough pans to cook a meal so you don't have to go to a restaurant for every meal. Old Orchard beach and old Port about 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edana M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

A stay at our extended stay hotel is definitely a little different than a "normal" hotel. We offer a non intrusive stay, while we do not offer housekeeping every day, we can switch out towels or any other disposable items you may need as you need them. As you stated we offer a guest laundry room in both of our buildings, that is free for guests to use during their stay with us. The Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough is located close to so many attractions and destinations it's a great place to call home while vacationing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews