We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croquet with a harbor view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Claremont Hotel
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Croquet with a harbor view”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Claremont has been beautifully restored and evokes the feeling of what it would have been like to stay in a 19th century hotel. They have made some modern improvements such as the large dining room with an excellent view of the harbor. The bar/restaurant down at the dock is a great place for lunch. The most amazing thing is the 3 championship quality croqet courts. Whether you play or not it is fun to watch the games from the wrap around porch with the sea breeze and sailboats coming and going. Highly reccomend the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preservation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    51
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We've been coming back to the Claremont for at least 20 years now, and I can't think of another hotel where we recognize so many faces, summer after summer. We simply love this place. It feels like a family compound, with it's good points and also stuff that just isn't perfect. If you are the kind of person who likes discovering a truly special place, that feels authentic in a way that hotels just don't feel anymore, and you want to wake up in the morning to fresh wild flowers on your bureau, an array of books from the 19th and early 20th centuries on your bookshelf, and a view that is as spectacular as any view in Maine -- you will be utterly delighted. But -- if you care about fast and reliable internet connection, a workout room, operating phones and fax, or even finding an ant or two in your bathroom -- forget it, you'll never be satisfied here.

One of the highlights of the Claremont is the view from the dining room and the food has improved immensely in recent years; it's now one of the best restaurants on the island. Don't miss lunch or a drink down at the boathouse, which is as close to the water as you can get, but a quiet oasis.

My best advice when you book -- be specific in asking questions about the accommodations, they vary greatly on the property. I care and ask about recently renovated bathrooms and mattresses. Many of the cottages dotting the property do not have views, but some have spectacular settings. We really like Phillips House, next to the main hotel, because the rooms are a bit bigger, and the walls seem thicker. I love the quiet living room and fireplace there too. A new addition, Rouse Cottage, has a sensational ocean front location and was renovated last year.

One small suggestion to the management -- I always recognize the people at the front desk, and even if they don't remember me, it would not be hard to note on our arrival information that we've been to the hotel before, and should be greeted with a "welcome back" (in our case, gosh, nearly yearly for 20 years- it feels almost odd to have the front desk greet us as if it was our first stay!)

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel of great charm with nice view and big park. Some facilities (bath and elevator) are showing their age and difficult to use (the lift must be operated by an employee of the hotel, there were a nice bath in our bathroom of early twentieth century but completely unsuitable for showering); good dinner in hotel and great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcello41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Claremont for our 20th anniversary as we honeymooned here 20 years ago. We stayed in W3 cottage and had a wonderful time. I think that the reviewers who weren't happy with the atmosphere at the Claremont were probably looking for a different type experience and just didn't read up on what the Claremont offers. The Claremont is an old fashioned inn, one of few that still has dress codes for dinner and celebrates crochet tournaments and other traditions of long-ago. The atmosphere is somewhat formal, but not stuffy. I felt like I was taken back in time and loved it! However, if you are looking for a more casual or modern hotel experience, you should not stay here. I loved the little formalities and graciousness offered by the staff. The check-in receptionist was especially gracious as she escorted us to our cottage and upon check-out, was more than willing to walk out to the grounds and take our picture. We loved seeing the young children run across the grounds, laughing and having fun. The restaurant offers earlier dinners for those with young children so that couples can have quieter dinners later. We loved our cottage. Rustic but the bed was super comfortable and the view to the water was spectacular! A wonderful experience once again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaware012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The pace is very slow here and all things are preferred to be done by hand (they don't like to take credit cards, prefer personal check)... it feels like an Ivy league alum gathering place from days of old. An annual croquet tourney was going on when we arrived... appeared to be very serious. The rooms are comfortable, with what appears to be original furniture from the turn of the last century except for the mattresses are new and very comfy. Our bathroom was added in more recent years and was v. tiny, so much so that it was hard to shower. Our breakfast the first morning was v. good, but we had to leave too early for breakfast the next day. The night clerk put some day-before pastries in a box for us, after I asked. The folks are Maine friendly and the place is in beautiful setting, but it's just a bit too old fashioned and quiet for us. (But the Boathouse bartender, Vicki was a refreshing lively personality!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our short stay at the Claremont was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Coastal Maine and New England. Sitting on a hill overlooking the nation's only fjord, and catching the first rays of sunlight on American soil, the peace and tranquility and unspoiled views provided by the Inn will remain a treasure in my mind.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111 and were warned that it was over the kitchen. There was very little noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in a cottage on the grounds for four nights with our two adult children. The accommodations were extremely simple (very cozy main floor but comfortable bedrooms; bathroom that practically opened onto the living room; no microwave in the kitchen). But the house was quiet and private, we lit a fire in the fireplace on cold nights, and the deck was secluded and peaceful. All of Acadia is within a short drive. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept, and there's not much to compare to the view from the Claremont's porch in early morning, midafternoon, or at sunset. (Practical note: while the hotel bar is charming, stick with wine or beer if you go--the bartender on duty while we were there couldn't make a decent drink.) Perfect spot for travelers seeking peace, quiet, and a vacation like the one your grandparents (or great-grandparents) took.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NannarellaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
14.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
0.3 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
184 reviews
15.0 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
2.6 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
14.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: PO Box 137, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-0137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Claremont Hotel Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing