We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again...”
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Beautiful, quiet, clean, comfortable, fantastic views, ample continental breakfast among interesting fellow travelers - all describe this very special motel on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island. But the thing that brings me home from a beautiful spot in Spain to celebrate my birthday here is the genuine welcome and attention offered by Dave, Vicki and Speedbump! This is my absolutely favorite motel, located in one of my absolutely favorite places on earth and run by some of the most absolutely kind and caring folks I know. My yearly visit has become a treasured part of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainewanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Seawall is a very nice place to stay at while traveling in acadia national park. the rooms are clean and big with a huge bed, the area is very beutifull & there is a near light house & a couple of hiking trails. we also liked the fact that it has a very close to the nature feeling . the owners dave is very very nice & helpful man, everything he recommanded turned out to be great. there is also a very nice breakfest. prices are good and you get full value for the money. if we ever visit again in acadia we will defintly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

You can not bet the location if you want to be in a beautiful, quiet place, away from the madness of Bar Harbor.
Of course, you are a fair drive from Bar Harbor, if that is your goal. Not mine...

The view of the ocean is perfect. right across the road.
The owner are great, helpful and really nice.
The room is simple but quite big and very, very clean.
Washers and dryers in the vending room.
No a/c, just a fan...yes, there is great cross ventilation, but that means leaving the windows..and curtains...open, with people walking by. In Sept/Oct. maybe not an issue but in the summer it might be.
The breakfast, available in the office, was surprising nice. Hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, danish, english muffins, bagels...and really great coffee.

My only issue.
Spiders. A LOT of spiders on the second floor. On the ceiling, on the stairs...and spiders creep me out.

Room Tip: Second floor best for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caitemaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSL123, Owner at Seawall Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

You are right!! There were a lot of spiders upstairs! They come out in great numbers in late Fall. We clean them out, but this year there are more than ever, and they've out done us! We will keep up with them until they are gone in a few weeks. Thanks for pointing it out. I appreciate seeing it from your vantage point. The summer evenings are cool enough that we've never had a problem with privacy and open curtains. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

A wonderful spot to experience the 'quiet side' of Mount Desert Island. Dave and Vicki are the perfect hosts. When we left we felt like extended family. They were full of suggestions of things to do, places to go, and places to eat. We wanted to go on a picnic hike and they loaned us an insulated lunch bag. Mornings begin with a hearty continental breakfast shared by guests and local residents in the office/ common room. There are no tables, everyone sits on benches and shares their stories. Frank, a retired lobsterman, is full of local information and stories of his fishing days. Well marked facilities are available for recycling. All rooms are non-smoking and smokers are requested to smoke by the stairwells away from the windows and doors. I saw smokers but our room was always fresh. The beds are firm and very comfortable. Yes, the walls are thin but we found this to be a minor inconvenience as most people are considerate. The lack of towel bars or hooks in the bathroom made it difficult to follow the request to 'use your towel twice'. We missed having a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker in the room but it was nice having coffee, tea, and hot chocolate always available in the office. Free wi-fi service is nice as I had no cell phone service and I did see Dave let a guest use the office phone. Dave and Vicki go out of their way to help every guest have a great Maine experience.

Room Tip: All second floor rooms have nice balcony views with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

this is a great place. One of my favorite in the world (and I am a traveler!) This note is just a repsonse to the person who said they didn't have room rates. They are clearlk stated on the web site and are a GREAT value!!! Happy Seawalling!
Kathleen in Boston

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waxwing69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed during the end of the season for $80 ($65 off seaon). You can see the seawall from the upper rooms and it just a stroll across the road. Rooms aren't flashy but they are clean.

Included a continental breakfast but we perferred a cooked breakfast but the coffee was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbj04769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

There are two reasons to stay here: the proprietor and the price. We had absolutely no plans when we showed up for our three-night visit to the island. Dave recommended the best food we had on our trip (Beal's lobster pier) and an excellent bike rental (Bar Harbor Bicycle Shop). He also sent us to a local bar for some good, cheap, beer and a fun night of karaoke far away from any other tourists. Every morning, Dave hangs out in the office to brew delicious coffee and help guests plan their stays. The price couldn't be beat. The motel is pretty basic and the walls are thin, but if you're not looking for luxury and don't mind basic accommodations, I'd highly recommend it. I'd encourage you to request a room on the top level. If you're on the ground level, ask to be situated closer to the office.

Room Tip: I'd try for the top level, or rooms closer to the office (1-5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatieMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
4 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
5.4 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
100 reviews
20.7 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
5.3 km away
Harbor Ridge
Harbor Ridge
#2 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
472 reviews
6.7 km away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Address: 566 Seawall Rd, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawall Motel is located on the quietside of Mount Desert Island in the Southwest Harbor area. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Motel borders the Seawall entrance to Acadia National Park. It adjoins a pine forest and a fresh water pond which provides ample opportunities for birdwatching and scenic photography. The Seawall is a naturally occurring granite, loose boulder and rock seawall with easy shore walks and tide pools to explore. There is a picnic area to watch the waves crash on the rugged shoreline and a spot to watch the sunrise over the Great Cranberry Island. On a clear night, it is one of the best places in the country for stargazing. Just beyond the scenic areas, you'll approach two of the many walking trails of Acadia National Park: Ship Harbor and Wonderland. Each is less than a two-mile hike along the ocean and nature trails. A short drive from these trails is the Bass Harbor Lighthouse that has been guiding mariners with its light since 1858. The dramatic setting, especially at sunset, is a photographer's dream. The Seawall Motel sits directly across from the famed seawall and close proximity to many activities of what the park has to offer. It is a two-story Motel with free Wi-Fi, in-room phones, cable TV and complimentary continental breakfast. These budget-friendly motels has twenty spacious, comfortable, and exquisitely clean rooms with a choice of two-queens or king size beds. A community room is available for all guests to use which includes the vending and ice machine, refrigerator, microwave, and coin-operated laundry machines. The free Island Explorer Shuttle can be accessed from our parking lot for easy travel to restaurants and shops in downtown Southwest Harbor, and to many other locations on the island. Top-rated in TripAdvisor, the Seawall Motel is the perfect place for your Maine vacation! Enjoy the beautiful scenery, the wonderful staff, and freshly brewed coffee ready for you every morning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing