We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, Unattentive Staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smuggler's Den Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We camped here with different mgmt and had a positive experience so we returned BUT the management is now the owner and it is not well managed for campers. At night, it was loud through the night with parties. Drunk people and more people arriving through the night. Management does not care. We do not recommend this site for anyone who is looking for enjoyable camping. Being exhausted during the day due to loud parties and drunk people isn't worth a penny. We left and found somewhere else to stay for our vacation.

Room Tip: Campers Beware, Loud, Lots of Parties
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank discoverturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rain3944, Owner at Smuggler's Den Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry you had a negative experience at Smuggler's Den. Smuggler's Den Campground has been owned and operated by the Worcester Family since it was established in 1969. This review was written in April and we opened for the 2016 season May 27th. I am not sure if you were here last fall and had a bad experience but as always there is a night manager on site and their number is posted on the office door and on site maps handed out upon check in. Smuggler's Den honors quiet hours which are from 10pm - 8am (campfires are okay, radio's and loud/angry talk are not). We are happy to receive any call from a camper who needs assistance. Your vacation matters to us greatly. Again, thank you for your review and we hope your next camping experience is a great one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in our RV. We arrived late, but they left directions to our pitch on the door, and we then checked in the following morning. It looked like you could also just turn up and do the same... Maybe because it was the end of the season?
The campground was still quite busy, but it still felt calm and tranquil...really nice.
The showers were very clean too!
It was a 20 minute drive to Acadia National Park.
We had no idea what we wanted to do, so asked the lady on the desk for her recommendations, and she was fantastic! She gave us a map and showed us where to go for breakfast (Brandon & Laura's Cafe) and where should visit on the island.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

This campground has to been the cleanest campground I have ever stayed at . Dog friendly ,but a problem with the dogs . minimal lighting around the grounds ,so you still feel like your camping ! . The water at the hook up tasted like spring water , the cleanest bathrooms of any campground I've ever stayed and the quietest .I will definitely come back again . and a heated pool .

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

RV park bordering one side of Acadia national park..20 minute drive from the main entrance. Very convenient with all the amenities: cable..Wi-Fi...full hook ups...concrete slabs for those who wish or cheaper under the trees parking. Cabins available too but we parked under the trees. We're very appreciative that they're open when everyone else is closed...right at the peak of the beautiful Maine foliage. Very very nice rv campground...not too many spaces so I'd suggest reservations.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Yes, you can go home again and that is just what it feels like very time we return to Smugglers Den. Rain and Tod welcome us like family and we feel very at home here. The tent sites are wooded and very large; they range from rustic to having both water and electricity. Both open and wooded RV sites are available. We have graduated from having a tent to a basic cabin to the deluxe cabin and have enjoyed every accommodation. Now with the deluxe cabin we can enjoy off season cooler weather and the availability of a shower without having to walk to the bathhouse. Because Smugglers Den is on the quiet side of the island the traffic is lower and the noise level very low.

Room Tip: All camping areas are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blackcat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Clean and quiet campground. Lots of trees makes all the sites very cozy. Very friendly staff. We had trouble hooking up the Cable Tv and Todd helped us solve the problem even though it was a problem with our motorhome. He even drove to the hardware store for a part! Very grateful!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Diazai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

My wife the twins and I stayed at Smuggler's Den Campground right after school got out. The staff was very helpful and the camp sites were very nice and easy to setup our camper. The kids enjoyed the playground and loved the pool!
I would recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Craftsmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southwest Harbor hotels
2.8 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
1.2 km away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
2.4 km away
Cafe Drydock & Inn
Cafe Drydock & Inn
#9 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Harbor Ridge
Harbor Ridge
#1 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
477 reviews
2.8 km away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
3.1 km away
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Pier One Vacation Rentals
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Den Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Den Campground

Address: Rte. 102, 20 Main Street, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-0787
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worcester family began Smuggler's Den Campground in 1969 and continues to operate it today. Our goal then and now is to provide our customers with a comfortable and relaxed camping experience on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island. Enjoy our 22' x 44' HEATED POOL with slide and kiddie pool or it is just a 20 minute walk to Echo Lake Sand Beach in Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Den Campground Hotel Southwest Harbor
Smuggler's Den Campground Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing