We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
67
26
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
26
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp store deluxe cabin heated pool echo lake rustic cabin bathrooms were clean free shuttle island explorer bus office staff cleaned daily acadia national park main cabin kids loved worked flawlessly recreation area good size bar harbor
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in our RV. We arrived late, but they left directions to our pitch on the door, and we then checked in the following morning. It looked like you could also just turn up and do the same... Maybe because it was the end of the season?
The campground was still quite busy, but it still felt calm and tranquil...really nice.
The showers were very clean too!
It was a 20 minute drive to Acadia National Park.
We had no idea what we wanted to do, so asked the lady on the desk for her recommendations, and she was fantastic! She gave us a map and showed us where to go for breakfast (Brandon & Laura's Cafe) and where should visit on the island.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2015

This campground has to been the cleanest campground I have ever stayed at . Dog friendly ,but a problem with the dogs . minimal lighting around the grounds ,so you still feel like your camping ! . The water at the hook up tasted like spring water , the cleanest bathrooms of any campground I've ever stayed and the quietest .I will definitely come back again . and a heated pool .

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

RV park bordering one side of Acadia national park..20 minute drive from the main entrance. Very convenient with all the amenities: cable..Wi-Fi...full hook ups...concrete slabs for those who wish or cheaper under the trees parking. Cabins available too but we parked under the trees. We're very appreciative that they're open when everyone else is closed...right at the peak of the beautiful Maine foliage. Very very nice rv campground...not too many spaces so I'd suggest reservations.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank davida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2015

Yes, you can go home again and that is just what it feels like very time we return to Smugglers Den. Rain and Tod welcome us like family and we feel very at home here. The tent sites are wooded and very large; they range from rustic to having both water and electricity. Both open and wooded RV sites are available. We have graduated from having a tent to a basic cabin to the deluxe cabin and have enjoyed every accommodation. Now with the deluxe cabin we can enjoy off season cooler weather and the availability of a shower without having to walk to the bathhouse. Because Smugglers Den is on the quiet side of the island the traffic is lower and the noise level very low.

Room Tip: All camping areas are perfect
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blackcat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015

Clean and quiet campground. Lots of trees makes all the sites very cozy. Very friendly staff. We had trouble hooking up the Cable Tv and Todd helped us solve the problem even though it was a problem with our motorhome. He even drove to the hardware store for a part! Very grateful!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Diazai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews