We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
67
26
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
26
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp store deluxe cabin heated pool echo lake free shuttle rustic cabin bathrooms were clean big rigs island explorer bus office staff acadia national park cleaned daily nice playground main cabin kids loved worked flawlessly recreation area
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016

A small family campground that has clean bathrooms with free hot showers, playground for the kids and a small camp store. Hookups for campers and RVs. We camped in a tent on a small site and our neighbors were 10 feet away. The monster RVs were parked in a separate section occupied by the retired crowd who spent rainy nights watching TV while we huddled under the tarp. The campground has numerous young children riding bikes and playing in the road so drive slowly. The location was close to the Acadia entrances and is a good option if the Acadia campgrounds are full. This is not the place if you want privacy or if you are the party crowd.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kevforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Drove all the way from Florida to stay at Smuggler's Den while vacationing in our 30 ft trailer. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Beautiful wooded campground, extremely well kept, full hook-up, big-rig friendly, large sites, wonderful owners, excellent location, great store, nice laundry area, large playground area, basketball court, & beautiful pool with slide that kids AND adults both loved. Our site was beside the pool and we enjoyed watching the kids and adults have fun. They had live entertainment on Monday evenings which we loved because it was tunes from the 70s. The free shuttle comes to the campground several times a day and takes you wherever you would like to go. That is a huge plus and saved us from driving and looking for parking spots. We've camped at Disney and I would rather be at Smuggler's Den any day. Do yourself a favor and stay here when visiting the Bar Harbor area. Best campgroung & nicest owners ever!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. At best a thin line of trees between sites. Lots of other campers only stayed one or two nights and would leave early. The playground was great for under 10 year olds with a large field and some balls and other fields games to play as old kids. The pool was also a huge hit. Clean and included a slide that my kids loved. The bathhouse was too far from our site and caused lots of exercise. They should possibly consider a coed style for either bathroom while they are cleaning one of the two. Inside the only main bathhouse it was clean and sufficient for the amount of traffic.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Gary323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Our family hasn't been to the Bar Harbor area of Maine for 20 years. We usually camped at the Blackwoods Campground in the Acadia National Park. Unfortunately they cannot accommodate big rigs. We searched the area for campgrounds and stumbled upon Smugglers Den. Great choice. Campsites are plenty big. Full hook ups are available. Great pool, for the grand children and convenient to all the areas great sites.

I highly recommend this location

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank joeeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Camped here for one night - two families in two adjacent campsites (155A, B). There is good separation between RV/camper sites and tent sites. The campground was very clean, especially the showers and restrooms!! Nice pool and recreational areas. Good service by the front desk where you can buy some last minute necessities + firewood and ice.
We could have done without the "live performance" of old country and folk songs in the evening, but overall a very nice stay and we will certainly be back next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdbos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews