We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground good facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smuggler's Den Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We spent four nights here in a full service RV spot. Our friends had a deluxe cabin. Both were excellent locations. The cabin was nearly brand new. The public restroom was in excellent condition and very clean. We had nothing to complain about; it was all top notch.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MeriR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We have been going here pretty constantly since 2001. After taking a year off to give the next generation a chance to walk first we returned.
1. Great playground for the kids-check
2. Heated pool with a perfect water slide into the pool for a 5 yr old - check
3. Free hot showers - check
4. Nice little camp store - check
5. Big field to watch the stars play your favorite sport - check
6. Island explorer stop - check

Now with little kids it has become great for a whole new set of reasons.

We stayed in site 61. Plenty of room. Close to the playground and a short walk to the pool and bathrooms.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank NHIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A small family campground that has clean bathrooms with free hot showers, playground for the kids and a small camp store. Hookups for campers and RVs. We camped in a tent on a small site and our neighbors were 10 feet away. The monster RVs were parked in a separate section occupied by the retired crowd who spent rainy nights watching TV while we huddled under the tarp. The campground has numerous young children riding bikes and playing in the road so drive slowly. The location was close to the Acadia entrances and is a good option if the Acadia campgrounds are full. This is not the place if you want privacy or if you are the party crowd.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank kevforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Drove all the way from Florida to stay at Smuggler's Den while vacationing in our 30 ft trailer. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Beautiful wooded campground, extremely well kept, full hook-up, big-rig friendly, large sites, wonderful owners, excellent location, great store, nice laundry area, large playground area, basketball court, & beautiful pool with slide that kids AND adults both loved. Our site was beside the pool and we enjoyed watching the kids and adults have fun. They had live entertainment on Monday evenings which we loved because it was tunes from the 70s. The free shuttle comes to the campground several times a day and takes you wherever you would like to go. That is a huge plus and saved us from driving and looking for parking spots. We've camped at Disney and I would rather be at Smuggler's Den any day. Do yourself a favor and stay here when visiting the Bar Harbor area. Best campgroung & nicest owners ever!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. At best a thin line of trees between sites. Lots of other campers only stayed one or two nights and would leave early. The playground was great for under 10 year olds with a large field and some balls and other fields games to play as old kids. The pool was also a huge hit. Clean and included a slide that my kids loved. The bathhouse was too far from our site and caused lots of exercise. They should possibly consider a coed style for either bathroom while they are cleaning one of the two. Inside the only main bathhouse it was clean and sufficient for the amount of traffic.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Gary323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Our family hasn't been to the Bar Harbor area of Maine for 20 years. We usually camped at the Blackwoods Campground in the Acadia National Park. Unfortunately they cannot accommodate big rigs. We searched the area for campgrounds and stumbled upon Smugglers Den. Great choice. Campsites are plenty big. Full hook ups are available. Great pool, for the grand children and convenient to all the areas great sites.

I highly recommend this location

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank joeeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Camped here for one night - two families in two adjacent campsites (155A, B). There is good separation between RV/camper sites and tent sites. The campground was very clean, especially the showers and restrooms!! Nice pool and recreational areas. Good service by the front desk where you can buy some last minute necessities + firewood and ice.
We could have done without the "live performance" of old country and folk songs in the evening, but overall a very nice stay and we will certainly be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdbos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southwest Harbor hotels
2.8 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
1.2 km away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
2.4 km away
Cafe Drydock & Inn
Cafe Drydock & Inn
#9 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Harbor Ridge
Harbor Ridge
#1 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
477 reviews
2.8 km away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
3.1 km away
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Pier One Vacation Rentals
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Den Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Den Campground

Address: Rte. 102, 20 Main Street, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-0787
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worcester family began Smuggler's Den Campground in 1969 and continues to operate it today. Our goal then and now is to provide our customers with a comfortable and relaxed camping experience on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island. Enjoy our 22' x 44' HEATED POOL with slide and kiddie pool or it is just a 20 minute walk to Echo Lake Sand Beach in Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Den Campground Hotel Southwest Harbor
Smuggler's Den Campground Southwest Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing