We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was wonderful, but they need to upgrade the plumbing and electrical in the Inn rooms.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Surry Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Surry B&B and Inns
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The food was wonderful, but they need to upgrade the plumbing and electrical in the Inn rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at this inn for 2 nights during a heat wave. Only one receptacle worked in our room and the smoke detector wasn't working. Everything was plugged into an extension cord. The cold water in the sink slowed to a trickle one time and came out hot another time when I wanted a drink of cold water. (The hot side was also hot). The shower temperature varied a lot. Each room should come equipped with a fan. (The other places we visited did if they didn't have AC). You may want to bring your own fan if you can. Our room had a picture window with 2 narrow operable windows on the side. We had a good view of the water, but we sweltered both nights. There were too many mosquitoes outside to try to go outside to cool off. Our dinner was the best we had and the breakfasts were good, also. We got the Great Escapes package. I believe the 15% service charge for the meal was charged on the cost of the room and not just on our meal.(19% total) She said that was how they tipped the server for breakfast. We spent 3 weeks in B&B's and Inns and this was the only place where we were expected to tip for breakfast. They were very accomodating in getting our breakfast ready for us early one morning when we had a tight schedule. They just need to spend some time on their rooms. Also, the canoe that they advertised as being available isn't there any more.

Room Tip: Bring a fan and insect repellant. I'd rate the room as
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDHCD1361, Owner at The Surry Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
In accordance with all laws in the State of Maine, our smoke detectors are hard-wired and are interconnected. The battery back-up smoke alarms are just that - back-up in case of a power outage. The alarm in this room must have been chirping, indicating a low battery, and I must have pulled it out meaning to replace it. I'm sure it was disconcerting that the battery was not in the receptacle but you can still see the green light indicating that the alarm is on and working. I've since replaced the battery and should have done so right away. Clearly, perception is as important as reality when dealing with a health and safety issue. There are also three pull stations, and at least two large central fire alarms that would go off if smoke were detected anywhere in the building, as would the back-up alarms.

We have fans for all guest rooms but generally people request them if they are hot . These guests never indicated that they were uncomfortable or we gladly would have offered them a fan. We would also recommend that people bring bug spray to Maine but if you forget yours, ask to borrow ours. We live here too and have to fend off invading hordes of mosquitos and black flies until midi-to late August when they all seem to disappear. As for the water, it remains one of those quirky 1830s farmhouse issues. Now that we drain the pipes in the winter, it usually takes awhile to get everything sorted out. The plumber usually walks around for a day or two scratching his head trying to figure out what each successive owner was trying to accomplish by extending pipes in one direction or the other. We thought we had things straightened out but apparently not. At one point we had hot water flowing in the toilets! Had the guests brought this to our attention we could have gotten it fixed, or at least given them ice water to drink. I'm glad they enjoyed their meals at the Inn. They were very friendly people. Perhaps because they are from the south I underestimated that a Maine heat wave wouldn't be a match for what they are used to. We would rather have made them comfortable then have them leave unsatisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    2
    5
    15
See reviews for
5
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had not made any reservations yet. A hotel owner in the area recommended the Surry Inn to us. The setting is beautiful, the people are friendly. One feels truly welcome in the Surry Inn. The room we stayed in was ok. It was clean and neat. The dinner was a wonderful change of pace. Scallops in almond crust with mango sauce was heavenly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menotomy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

The Surry Inn is run by a very nice woman and her hubby but they need to reinvest some money into the place. The reputation for food is well earned and wonderful. The room reputation is also right on the money...sad.
If they put 30 K in the place and fixed the windows and doors it would show some respect for the travelers that stay there. It would take a guest with very low expectations to stay more than one night
Great folks but spread too thin. Inn has good "bones" . Even trimming the overgrown shrubbery would help and that only costs time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainer04917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDHCD1361, Owner at The Surry Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
The Surry Inn has stayed in business for 30 years when many other inns have come and gone because we provide delicious food, comfortable lodging in an 1830s historic farmhouse, and an unbeatable view at very affordable prices. We have a tremendous amount of repeat business because we are friendly, the food is delicious and we spend a great deal of time providing very personalized service. Some of our repeat business comes from people who have stayed at other inns in the area and have returned to us because they find us to be an excellent value and a very welcoming place. Area residents refer their friends and family to us because we are conveniently located for family visits as well as exploring all Downeast Maine has to offer. When we see people coming up from the beach, sitting out on the lawn reading, or enjoying a cocktail (their's or ours) and watching the sun go down, we know we are sitting on a very special place. We could jazz it up and make it $300/night but then it would lose its character and we would be another fancy, over-priced inn in Downeast Maine. We are fortunate that more people love us for what we are rather than dislike us for what we are not. We'll never be for everybody and there are other very lovely inns for other tastes, but we have been home-away-from-home for thousands of travelers to this area. It is a disappointment that this couple did not enjoy their stay. They were nice people and we very much enjoyed chatting with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surry hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted to get away from it all. My wife has been enchanted by old New England farmhouses and Inns for years and that is what we were looking for. The Surry Inn was all that and then some. Old world charm and get away, no phone, no television and no internet. It was awesome. Clean, comfortable rooms and the dining was fantastic. If you are looking to get away drive on up throw your cell phone in the trunk and enjoy peace and solitude. The staff was so nice and accommodating they took care of us from beginning to end. Thank You all so much for such a memorable anniversary. We will be back!
Larry McGuffie, Baltimore, Md

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryMcGuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

This really was the worst place I have ever spent the night! My husband and I were brought up to the room. The bedroom door would not close or lock. The room was musty and moldy smelling. The bathroom had bugs in the corner behind the toilet. No hot water in the shower or sink. The breakfast in the morning was something anyone could whip up any day of the week. Friendly enough staff, but it definitely didn't make up for the run down dirty house. If we knew what we were getting into we would have rather slept in the car!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JILT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDHCD1361, Owner at The Surry Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
It was a surprise to read this review as these guests were among those who arrived in Downeast Maine in early August without advance reservations and might have actually had to sleep in their car except that we had a room remaining for the night. They were referred to us by one of the many hotels in Ellsworth that was already full. They arrived late in the evening on a very busy night so we would already have heard from other guests if there was no hot water in the sink or shower. If there were bugs behind the toilet I should think they would have said something. We are in the country and it's possible that we miss the occasional spider from time to time but if there are not and never have been bugs behind the toilet. Our breakfast is a complimentary hot, cooked to order breakfast that includes a choice of eggs any style, bacon, toast, juice and coffee; french toast (made from the bread we bake at night for the dinner service) and bacon; and hot or cold cereals. We don't advertise a fancy breakfast and most people are happy to sit down at a table, have their order taken and have hot food served to them. Our dining room looks out on a beautiful water view. We are a simple -- most people say charming - country inn with beautiful views, delicious food, nice people and is well situated to take in most of the attractions this area offers. We are sorry they were disappointed with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

The pictures on the web looked good and the location looked nice, but when we got there and saw the inn and looked at the room they had for us, I said I'd rather sleep outside or in my car. The handrail to the second floor was broken and was a sign of the state of disrepair that the entire inn showed. The roof was sagging, the windows rotting and paint peeling and dusty smells. We didn't stay and decided to forfeit our deposit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank wshfultravls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I recently stayed at The Surry Inn again for the seventh time.It is one of my favorite places to stay. It is in a beautiful setting, accomodation is good, the food is great, to be enjoyed in a lovely dining room. The staff is friendly and caring and I am al always made very welcome.
If you like the great old style country inns this is the place for you, try it!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surry
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
6.3 km away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
5.4 km away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.3 km away
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant
#9 of 10 in Ellsworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surry Inn

Property: The Surry Inn
Address: 884 Surry Rd, P.O. Box 25, Surry, ME 04684-3428
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Surry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Surry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surry Inn offers six rooms with private bath on almost three acres of beautiful Maine shorefront. Overlooking Contention Cove, the Inn is conveniently located between Acadia National Park and the Blue Hill/Deer Isle Peninsula. The Inn is an old-fashioned, country inn with ocean access and a spectacular view. The Inn's restaurant features local, fresh seafood, filet mignon, pan-seared duck breast and homemade soups, salad dressings and desserts. Breakfast is included with the room and is a full breakfast cooked to order ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing