We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Can I rate higher than a 5?!

We've played golf courses all over Maine. This rates high on our list for three main reasons... read more

Reviewed July 21, 2017
pattiannpete
,
South China, Maine
via mobile
Beautiful 36 hole golf course

This course will surprise you. It is absolutely beautiful. It is one of the best courses in New... read more

Reviewed February 19, 2016
sabrowne1117
,
Vassalboro, Maine
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hole courses browne family maine arrowhead tomahawk
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Challenging, interesting and well-maintained. Two 18 hole courses to choose from. Open to the public. Lots of parking. Warning, no water or vending on the course, take plenty of beverages.

Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We've played golf courses all over Maine. This rates high on our list for three main reasons: First, you will not find nicer owners or staff anywhere. The Browne family and their staff are accommodating and truly want their guests to have a good experience. Secondly, it is the only 36 hole course in Maine. So if you live or summer in the Central Maine area or if you are merely traveling through you have choices!Arrowhead is the older of the two courses with Tomahawk being the newer (and more challenging for me). And lastly, it is a bargain compared to nearby Belgrade Lakes Golf Course. The clubhouse is nice with wrap around porches to enjoy a cold one post match. Just 20 minutes from the Augusta exit 113. My husband and I highly recommend a visit; it will keep you coming back for sure.

Thank pattiannpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

This course will surprise you. It is absolutely beautiful. It is one of the best courses in New England. I am very lucky to live on a street that borders a portion of the course. I get to see it at all times of the day and in all types of weather.

Thank sabrowne1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2016

This golf club has two 18 hole courses Arrowhead and Tomahawk. Arrowhead is very good for the average golfer and Tomahawk is good if you like a more challenging game. Either course is a lot of fun

Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

I was just at Natanis this past Wednesday. It's golf perfection even if I did hit my ball into the water. The course it beautiful and perfectly maintained. There's never a bad golf day here.

Thank ImaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great course, great folks. Such a nice relaxing place to play and swear at little white balls. I've played here off-and-on here since high school (only play a couple times a year). This course is better maintained than most of the private courses in the state.

Thank Volator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Browne family are just plain good people! They make you feel welcome and there is no sense of snobbery like you might find in some clubhouses. The family has built this course up from a rough field of play to a very competitive and respected course in Maine while trying to make it affordable for the average golfer. The newer 18 will leave you talking to yourself as some of the par four holes are quite long. There is sufficient challenge for all ability levels. even if they are having a tournament, which is quite often, the second 18 holes are open. So, give it a try and I am positive you will want to return and they may even remember your name.

1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This 36-hole layout in Central Maine is a great golf destination. Decades ago, the Browne family, which still owns the course, decided to give up dairy farming and build a golf course. Their initial emphasis was on "growing grass" and making the playing area as good as it possibly could be. Initially, their clubhouse didn't even have locker rooms or a restaurant. As the years went on, they added more holes to the initial 9-hole layout and eventually built a nice new clubhouse that now houses a pro shop, a snack bar including alcohol, locker rooms and club storage. But the real emphasis still remains on the course itself. One 18-hole loyout is slightly more forgiving and player-friendly, but still can offer a good challenge to the low-handicapper. The other, newer layout (also eighteen holes) is definitely more difficult and is often used for state schoolboy and schoolgirl championships. Both offer a variety of terrain and most players will find themselves using every club in the bag at some point during their round. Because they have 36 holes (and are the only course in Maine with 36 regulation holes), tee times are almost always available, even on days when they're hosting tournaments. From the greeting you recieve as you walk into the pro shop upon arrival, to the cheery "So long" from the snack bar staff, you'll find Natanis a friendly, playable, enjoyable way to spend some time on a great golf course!

Thank Mainer-On-The-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews