We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
29
14
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express done nicely pancake machine staff was very friendly breakfast buffet exercise room room was clean great sleep stayed here would stay here again parking lot front desk common areas college visit a great place to stay yogurt off the highway
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We arrived almost two hours before the posted check-in time. The nice front desk clerk reassigned us a different room, so we could check-in early. Due to my Spire IHG status they upgraded us to a 2 queen suite. It was one of the most spacious suites I have ever stayed in, especially the living room was enormous. Too bad they did not put a coffee table in front of the large sofa. The suite was clean and both A/Cs worked fine in the summer heat.
The property was old, but the remodeling was done nicely and quite thoroughly. Breakfast in the morning was standard HIE, check-out again quick and friendly.
All in all a very nice overnight stay right of the Interstate.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms, relatively new place which hasn’t had the time to get the smell of time or past smokers. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, and if you get a back room it is quiet. They have a breakfast buffet. The stuff is nice and courteous.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cacabesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Good central location for us with family scattered throughout ME. Booked in June with help from front desk staff Rebecca (who remembered me from previous stays)! We use this hotel repeatedly due to having Suites with separate bedroom with Queen beds (and a door for privacy). Renovation by IHG updated the decor of hotel (used to be Choice hotel). Suite is spacious with mini frig, microwave, sink, counter space and small table with 2 chairs. Lots of drawers but no kitchen tools except one hot pad and a corkscrew/canopener. Plenty of closet space and roomy bathroom (we are 3 adult family with 2 women). Clean, comfortable, a good value. Could not beat price even though I researched several websites for deals. Because we enjoyed our stay, joined IHG loyalty program. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Level 2 is very convenient - easy walk to breakfast (included in price) on same floor.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank EmkDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We arrived just before 10:00 pm after driving for over 12 hours that day. The day before we drove for 7 hours, and the day we left we had another 3 hours. We were very tired and just wanted to get to bed. We rented the 2 bedroom suite because we have four kids. The check in process went quickly, but they mentioned that the hotel was full that night and the wifi was not running well. They said that they hope we are able to find a spot in the parking lot because the hotel was so full.

The hotel looked like it was overhauled, but it still showed it's age. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The suite was larger than I anticipated, which was nice.

There were some sports teams staying here, and the kids were in the hallway being very loud well past 11:00 pm. The walls were very thin, and it was difficult to fall asleep with the noise. We even bring box fans to drown out the noise, but you could still hear the kids. Our room was close to an elevator, which didn't help. We were about to call the front desk, when we finally fell asleep.

I understand that they were very booked, but there were not nearly the amount of seats needed for breakfast. There were so many people, and just nowhere for people to sit. It was crazy. The breakfast was typical hot breakfast. Instead of a waffle machine, they had a pancake machine. We thought that was a nice change, and we all enjoyed the pancakes.

We would stay here again if passing through. I think the issues with noise and seating that we had were really just because the hotel was so full that night.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BethWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

I must tell you we will never stay on the bottom floor again, if we even ever decide to spend our hard earned money at this location ever again! Everything in our room was damp and or wet! I actually had to wipe off the phone because it was actually wet like someone poured water on it. Our pillows were damp and the bedding was damp. It was gross and smelled musty like a damp dirty basement. We were with family who also had the same issues in their rooms. Their rooms were in either side of mine. We had 3 rooms in total. We are in Waterville about 4 to 6 times a year visiting our daughter and we will definitely think twice about staying at the Holiday Inn again. During our last 2 visits we stayed at the Fireside and had no issues.

The pool area was so hot it was unbearable and the pool was actually very cloudy and murky looking. We had the door to the outside cracked to try and get some air in there but someone came down and said the door had to stay shut. Anyway, because it was so hot, we left the pool area because we couldn’t even breathe in there. We were also told we couldn’t have any drinks in there yet the list posted says no alcohol and no glass. I had water in a cup with ice. Well, the ice melted in about 3 minutes of getting there but I had water.

The morning breakfast was not stocked. We went down around 9:15 ((breakfast goes until 10:30) and there was a spoon full of old eggs, no bacon, no sausage, no bagels, a few English muffins that were soggy, and 1 old looking cinnamon roll. The woman stocking the breakfast finally restocked it about 15 minutes after we arrived.

This is strike 2 for this location for us! Last time we stayed it was a free for all for a bunch of unattended 10 to 12 year olds that ran the halls screaming all day and night and had a food fight at breakfast. No one said a thing to them! The funny thing is we got spoken to for having a plastic cup of with water in the pool area and the door cracked open.

I tried to submit this on the IGH site but they would not approve it. Lol I said ok, I will post it everywhere else then.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews