We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steakhouse

The Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Crowds and more crowds, food is great as are the prices.

Helpful?
Thank daverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    134
    58
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Love this restaurant...always enjoy our meals...there is a long wait in the summer, so be prepared...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank tripmember24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you like steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

If you like steak, this is one of the best steak houses in Maine. Plan on waiting for a table, if you go after 5.

Helpful?
Thank 893waynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great steak and potatoes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Go early, they are so busy. Nice atmosphere. The food is awesome,

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank sheila2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I can't stop thinking about that steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

When we visit our daughter and family we usually spend one week with them, timeshare for a week and then another week with them. October, 2011 was a timeshare in Wells, Maine. While exploring for a restaurant for dinner we noticed a rather plain sign that said "Steakhouse" and that appealed to us so we turned in. What we found was a large wooden barn without much signage on the barn but figured we'd go see if that was it. Judging from the number of people there we decided the food had to be fairly good. The wait was about half an hour but we had fun chatting with locals and people who lived close by. When we were called for a table we asked one couple, who had another 30 minutes or so to wait, if they'd like to join us at our table for four. Our new friends told us we were in for the best steak in the world. Having grown up on a ranch, I mentally said to myself, "I doubt that!". Hubby ordered a ribeye and I went for a small fillet. Our appetizers (salad and bread) were good so we were hoping the steaks would also be good. ON MY GOSH! The steaks arrived and my fillet was on the small side. But when I bit into it, it melted in my mouth with a taste that instantly caused an addiction! That was absolutely the best steak I've ever had and coming from a western state, m'friends, that is saying a lot! Of course we planned to return at least once more but due to a family emergency had to fly back to Arizona before we could return. If I were a millionaire, I'd fly to Maine just for another steak!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing