We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Italian- Service excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varano's Italian Restaurant

Varano's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrific Italian- Service excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a sure bet for great Italian food with excellent service. There a never ending supply of a bread basket that has a different bread for any tastes. Though it's an Italian shop, their steaks are as good as any around the area,

As for the seafood dishes, try the Cioppino which a seafood stew with shrimp,lobster, scallops, mussels, and calamari, Served on a grilled ciabatta bread.

.The kids menus include "adult like" dishes in a smaller portion.

The owner is always there to ensure the service is what you expect.

The bar downstairs is a friendly place to wait for your table.

Downside (only one), the owners don't wish to have any seats reserved for regulars or call aheads. There are many times that we decided to pass on this place because of an overly strict "be here when we call your name" policy. The idea of placing your name, and returning at the given time doesn't hold any wait. If the hostess tells you it;s going to be 45 min...you return 45 minutes later, and they were running 10 minutes ahaed, you are out of luck. No exceptions, no grace period. Doesn't seem like a great way to handle customers, but it appears to be their only fault. This restaurant is extremely well managed and aside from the name/wait issue, by far, the best restaurant in town (and beyond).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonDaveQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    109
    49
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian at it's best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you want authentic Italian food that is prepared with expertise, care and using the best ingredients, then this is your restaurant...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The food, the service, the selection--all wonderful. One of the owners was on site and took the time to say hello, which was impressive to us! We do not drink, but saw the wine selection was incredible. The appetizers were exquisite and unique!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We vacation at least two or three times a year in Maine and when we are in the area we always go to Varano's restaurant, the food, service and the atmosphere is always wonderful here

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Although known as a local family Italian restaurant, I was delighted to find that the food equaled if not surpassed many of Portland's top foodie hot spots as well as challenged the nearer by places in Kennebunk, Kennebunk Port and so on. Although the decor and ambiance is a bit dated, the food was divine. The Tuscan style chicken liver pate with black truffle, homemade apple butter and cracked pepper, served with grilled ciabatta bread was my first dish, and I remained eyes closed, savoring each morsel. The lamb ragout with fresh ricotta and mint was done beautifully, if you like lamb this is a must. I wanted to order the Shrimp, Scallop & Lobster Sauteed with Fresh English Peas in a Vodka Gorgonzola Lobster Cream Sauce tossed with Fettuccini but there's just so much we could have. All the food I saw around me looked and smelled wonderful, it's well worth the trip and if you have children they will be quite welcome.

I think they should open a smaller chic Bistro, but we'll have to see.
Kudos to the chef

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Varano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing