We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not Worth The Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arriving at the Super 8 in Westbrook/Portland I noticed a McDonald's bag and litter in the parking lot. I decided to still stay here for the night and definitely regretted my decision. The front desk clerk was professional, friendly and customer oriented. However, the building itself is disgusting and my room was not very clean. The hotel carpets are stained and there is missing trim on the walls in the hallways. In my room there was hair in the tub and on the wall. There was also lint on the floor and worst of all when my wife opened one of the end table drawers she discovered that there was leftover food in the drawer including a banana, cookies, crackers, a ramen bowl and a ripped up styrofoam cup. This hotel may be cheaper but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    145
    145
    90
    60
See reviews for
184
142
42
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
augusta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

As I was about to check into the room, the cleaning staff blocked me and they were concerned about a left over fish smell from the previous tennent. THey immediately ran to the office, switched rooms and took care of the paperwork. Now that is being concerned about the details and making sure I had a pleasant stay. My room was clean with plenty of elbow room. The lazy boy chair definately needs replacing, you just sink into it. They are updating the hallways which is needed. I always stay in nonsmoking rooms so the room smelled fresh. I will stay here again when back in Portland.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

First time at this property and was suspicious of some of the negative postings. I found the hotel to be of standard quality and the room I was given was very clean. The beds were too soft for my comfort and probably need to be replaced due to their age. The hotel is undergoing a great deal of updating before the summer travel season. The WiFi signal was very strong and I had no problem using my laptop. The hotel pictures seem to suggest the pool is much bigger than it really is. The included complimentary breakfast was adequate and I particularly enjoyed the inclusion of hard-boiled eggs. I plan to stay here again when I return to the Portland area.

Room Tip: Numerous restaurants and a supermarket in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I tried economy accomodations on my latest business trip. The employees were friendly and I had no real problems with the room, but this is not a place I will stay at again. The floors were stained with grease and tar from all of the construction workers. The stale cigarette smell was very off-putting.

On another note, I was e-mailed by the manager of this location to thank me choosing his hotel. I told him the same things I mentioned above and he was very polite, thanked me for the feedback, and said that they work really hard to keep a clean hotel despite the construction patrons they serve. I thought this personal contact was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronmhuotari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pros: Quiet enough, good location off I95, Good free breakfast, ample parking
Bad: Febreeze or airfreshener stinking up the room on arrival, soot stains on sheets, tv in a weird location in room
Ugly: The pool and hot tub were sooo gross. It doesn't even look like it was cleaned and there was sludge on the bottom of the hottub.

I'd stay elsewhere if there was somewhere else in the area, with a similar price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurensmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Westbrook, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review. You are right, our location is convenient and our free breakfast is always well accepted. I am sorry to read that your stay was unpleasant and I wish I learned of your problems during your stay. I can guarantee you our sheets are clean and changed every day, we have laundry on site. Our pool and spa are cleaned, tested and regulated every day. We empty our spa on a regular basis. There is a chipped bottom in the spa that might come across as not clean, but I can assure you we have clean facility. I hope you will give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is consistently one of the cheapest places to stay in the Portland area. Rental car or other vehicle is a must, as taxis are quite expensive. But anyway I stayed here in August. Back in June I stayed at the nearby Howard Johnson and that was nice. The Super 8 chain is supposed to be slightly a step down below HoJo from what I understand (since it's the same parent company, Wyndham), but I liked the Super 8 a lot better. The breakfast is great, considering it's free.

The rooms are pretty good. Beds are comfortable, sheets are clean and everything. Sure, the room might not be spotless (especially the bathroom) but you shouldn't seriously expect 5-star quality at a 2-star motel. I stayed in a double room the first night and a king bed room the second night. The king bed was nicer and that room had a recliner and a fridge.

The staff here are phenomenal. I had booked the rooms on two different websites, so I had to sort of check out and re-check in; but during breakfast I asked and by 10:30 they called me in my room to say the new room was ready. They also bake cookies daily and have them at the front desk, although usually they run out around 9pm (as I learned the hard way last time). Breakfast starts at 5 or 6 I think, so if you're on an early morning flight you're almost out of luck -- there's a 24/7 Burger King right next door. Nonetheless, this was one thing I liked about the Super 8 -- the HoJo had a restaurant and a Friendly's, so no free breakfast (you got a substantial (20-30%) discount with your room key). A free breakfast is always better than a free-ish one ;)

The parking lot goes around the entire property, so you're able to park close to your room. I didn't go in the pool but you can see it from outside (huge windows -- which might be sorta creepy but I'm sure it's nice when it's a nice day out). It was large enough for several small parties to have enough space. Looked like a nice facility although you could smell the chlorine in the hall immediately outside of the pool area.

Overall, I think this place is a winner. Don't go in expecting too much and you will be pleased. I'm heading back to Portland in a few weeks and with all the promos that Wyndham Rewards is having, as well as the quality and value of this facility, I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else.

Room Tip: King Bed rooms are nicer; mine had a recliner and a fridge. Also, the ends of the hallways are wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingFriday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at this motel 2 nights in mid-September. The essentials of the room were equal to what we had paid about double for the night before in the suburbs of Boston. The free breakfast menu exceeded in variety and prearation all others we had throughout our 16 day vacation in New England and Maine. Being able to park near the room and the provision of breakfast made early morning departures easy.
The staff memebers were friendly, ready to be of service. They run a very good operation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms risk less disturbing noises from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
7.1 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area

Property: Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Address: 208 Larrabee Road, Maine Turnpike at Exit 48, Westbrook, ME 04092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Westbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Westbrook/Portland Hotel Westbrook
Super Eight Westbrook
Westbrook Super Eight
Westbrook Super 8
Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing