We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Motel(York Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nevada Motel(York Beach)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cutty Sark Motel(York Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands by the Sea(York Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
215
207
149
70
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
207
149
70
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium buildingindoor poolacross the streetocean suitesplash padlong sands beachthird floorfree coffeedonutssmall fridgeget awayhigh tidegas fireplaceroom was clean and comfortablewe've stayedshort drivenubble lighthouse
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 733 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Once again, the location, comfortable rooms, and amenities (pools, hot tub, etc.) led to another good time in York Maine. If it's beach weather, you will enjoy the stay.

The rooms are relatively small by today's standards, but the beds are comfortable, the a/c and flat screen tv work, and the view from the third floor is awesome; so all was good. The stairways and other common areas are a bit worn, but they served their purposes and didn't detract from a good time.

We were there with five other families; a total of 26 with adults and kids. The kids are mostly early teens and were able to roam at will between the beach, pools, hot tubs and rooms. They loved surfing, boogie boarding, kiting, etc. The adults just hung out; drinking, eating, bocce ball, frisbee, mexican train and trivial pursuit.

An added benefit of this hotel is that you don't have to move your car once parked. There are good eating options within minutes by foot, and there is a shuttle that stops out front if you want to explore the town.

It's not the Ritz, but we always enjoy this laid back, comfortable beach resort!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Hi LaxFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that you (and the other families you traveled with!) enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear from all our guests, but especially our returning guests! The third floor in the Main Building is one of the best spots for an ocean view on the property - so glad that you were able to enjoy it as well.

We look forward to seeing you back in the future!

Patti D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Before we went to the Anchorage last month, I was reading these reviews and got a chuckle from “Patti D’s” responses. All the miscommunications and misunderstandings…..so nice that she posts responses to clear up all the confusion.

Anyway, we’ve stayed at the Anchorage three times now:
1) June 2010: The first was on the 3rd floor Main building. The room was gross, but the location and proximity to beach was great. The room décor can best be described as tired and the balcony configuration is odd, not to mention the fact that you have to lug everything up two flights of stairs.
2) August 2010: So we came back again and stayed at the Ocean Suites. It was great. Room was very nice, heated floors in the bathroom, comfy bed.

Me, my husband and our two year old son decided to stay for a week this summer and made the reservation about 3 months in advance. We check in and everything is great (save for the policy of charging everything upfront, but we already knew that).
Got to the room, unpacked everything and headed down to the Ocean Suites pool. A couple of hours later, we make our way back the room to get ready for dinner. When we get to the room, our keys won’t work and we hear people inside our room. We knock on the door and Patti DiCesare (the manager) and someone from housekeeping open the door. They have a luggage trolley and it appears they are about to start moving our stuff out of the room. We ask what is going on and Patti demands to know who we are and if these are our belongings. She then proceeds to accuse us of breaking in and squatting and saying she had no idea how we got in there. (Right, we broke in with our Pack & Play and box of diapers). I tell her these are our things and they just took $2500 of our money for us to stay there for 5 nights. Patti asked, “How am I supposed to know that?". I showed her the paper folder the keys came in with the room number written on it and I told her to go ask her staff. She said her staff had gone home for the day. I suggested maybe she could check her receipts. They don’t leave the room until I start wondering aloud if I should call the police as who knows what of our belongings might be missing.

She calls the room and tells up we don’t belong in that room and need to exit immediately. She tells us she is sending her staff up to assist.

As the staff was moving our stuff, Patti sidles up to me and thinking she is being magnanimous, tells me they are including a bottle of champagne. After I tell her we don’t drink, she offers us a bottle of soda. I laughed at her. She starts to explain that she really is non-confrontational and keeps repeating this. I realize then that there is something seriously amiss with this woman.

Sadly, if they had just owned up to their mistake instead of trying to intimidate us, it wouldn’t have been that big of a deal.

BTW, there is no “concierge” – we were there for a week and the desk/chair in the lobby were empty the entire time. There was however a binder with printouts of local activities and menus (from 2008).

The “manager’s reception” consisted of some stale cheese and half a sleeve of crackers being guarded by a staff member.

I realize I’m bashing Patti DiCesare, the manager, here and though she clearly should not be dealing with hotel guests, I suspect the real blame here belongs with the owner, Ray Ramsey. Ramsey owns the Anchorage and also an establishment at Stowe called the Mountaineer Inn. From reading the reviews on this other place, it seems the same nonsense goes on there – belligerent management, insistence on getting full payment upfront and refusal to give even a nickel refund when they screw something up.

Needless to say, we won’t be back. I don’t trust these people and don’t like the way they operate. For this price (and lower prices), there are better places to go.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
12  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Hi Elizabeth J,

Thank you for taking a moment to give us feedback on your stays at the Anchorage.

As I mentioned when we were working with room mix-up, we have many guests who come to stay with us and request specific room or room types. The suite type that we had reserved for you and had given you keys for was different then the suite that you moved your luggage into. I am honestly not sure how you ended up in the incorrect suite.

We had another couple who had specifically requested the suite that you moved your luggage into; they were traveling on their honeymoon. With it being the only suite of that type, we were bound by our commitment to our guest to get them into the suite that they had reserved for their trip. As we do our best to honor all suite type requests, this is why I personally went up to your suite. Had it been you in the reverse situation and you requested a specific suite for your trip, I would have responded accordingly and in a similar fashion.

I personally apologize that you felt we handled this incorrectly. We were doing our best to satisfy all of our guests. By no means was I at any time attempting to intimidate you and I am sorry that you got that impression.

The happy hour that is available does include beer or wine and a light snack.

We wish you the best with your future travels.

Sincerely,

Patti D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have been coming here, once or twice a year since the late '90's. Great for kid and adults, accommodations for every pocketbook

Right over Maine border and across the street from the beach with indoor and out door pools

Great restaurants in the area. Relaxing and fun. We will be back again next year.

Bob F

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xxxmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Hi Xxxmilo,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay.

We are always thrilled to hear from repeat guests! It is great to hear that you enjoy York so much.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Patti D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were extremely disappointed first and foremost with the carpet in the room. This is room 107. Our feet turned BLACK walking around for 5 minutes, it was absolutely disgusting. The room and everything in it was damp, which we attributed to the weather, but the condition of the carpet was unacceptable. We had to keep our shoes on the entire time or our feet and socks turned black. I asked one of their people about it, if she had ever had a complaint like this and she said no, which I find EXTREMELY hard to believe. We have a 2 year old daughter and were concerned about exposing her to whatever was wrong with that floor, as it could be mold. Also, when the room was "cleaned", it was apparent they did not vacuum. There was a pile of dirt - DIRT! - on the floor in the bathroom. Also unacceptable, especially with a young child. We were also disappointed that at $200 a night, there was not a microwave OR a small coffeepot in the room. I assumed we could get coffee in the lobby, upon finding out it was $1.50 for a tiny cup I was further disappointed. It felt like we were being nickel and dimed. My car also got scratched in the parking lot by what must have been a low suitcase on wheels with an irresponsible owner. I used to greatly enjoy staying at the anchorage years ago, but in my opinion this place has gone downhill. The pools are wonderful but we have a pool at home and would have preferred to stay home for free. I do not think our experience was worth $200 a night. My husband and I both grew up spending summers in York, and I ranted and raved about this hotel prior to going. The rooms in the pictures on their website do NOT represent the room we stayed in, I can't believe how small the rooms are now and how tiny the bathrooms are (the sink was OUTSIDE the bathroom and in front of the AC, so you had to turn it off to brush your teeth or freeze). The bed was very uncomfortable and the sheets kept coming off while we slept. There was no way to turn off the outside lights which greatly disturbed my daughter's sleep. The blinds on the doors just aren't enough. It felt cheap, and I expected more. The towels were nice but the detergent and/or fabric softener used to wash them is obviously cheap. We only get a couple of days a year to be able to take off work and spend with our daughter as both of us work full time. We need to spend our time and dollars wisely and neither happened at the Anchorage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klyn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Hi Klyn610,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay.

I was there when you checked out and the person that you spoke with. As I expressed to you at the time, I do wish that you had let us know your concerns when you were in house and prior to check-out. We always have housekeeping staff available and address any concerns immediately that are expressed to us.

I did want to let you know that we will be adding coffee pots to all of our standard rooms during the off season. There is a small charge ($1.25 +tax) for coffee in the cafe with free refills all day long.

We do hope that you were able to enjoy the beautiful weather and everything that Long Sands Beach and York has to offer.

Sincerely,

Patti D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My family and I stayed there for 3nights and honnestly we won't return! First of all, my mother called to have information about the hotel and what we could have for 5 persons.The receptionist didn't know anything : she told us we could have breakfast for one day for free..(no breakfast is include if you're not in the ocean suites)..Everytimes we asked a question she didnt know the answer and put in hold for at least 5 minutes ! At this point, we hang up but we did give them an other try and it was the good one! When we arrived to the hotel we knew it was too earlier for check-in but decided to see if by any chances we could have the room earlier. We were told that previous customer just check-out so it wasnt ready. I gently asked if it was possible to tell the cleaning ladies to make the room in priority because we had a 7 hour-trip from montréal and my dad drove even tho hes restricted capacity personn. He would had appreciated it A LOTto just lie down....She told us that they could get in touch with the cleaning staff and they had their own way to make the room!!!! Working in the hotel business I can tell this is not acceptable! Why having so much staff around and couldnt get in touch with them? I still dont know what it would had change for the cleaning staff to make it first...We came by almost every hour to see if it was ready..Around 1-2pm we saw a room on the 2nd floor with and extra cot and were sure it was our...but again since any front desk staff could check it out for us we had to wait...til 2:45..The room was SO TINY for 5 person we couldnt even walk all 5 at the same time! We had a view on the beach with pillars just in front of the windows...Of course, lots of kids there so many running and need to keep your windows-door and blinds closed so no one could see inside the room...It's really expensive for what you get considering the fact that there are many other motel around...At least it was clean ! And yes, WIFI was really a pain! Even in the room we werent able to stay connected!!! Need to log out everytime otherwise you cant log in for at least 4hours!
"Gym" has a very few machines for exercising but I guess the plus are pools, beach accross the street....
Last, staff! Nicest person was the lady in the kitchen who warmed up food for us! Not even a single GOOD MORNING when we had question....When I check out the manager (a man) saw me enter and even tho I said Good morning, he said abruptly "CHECK OUT ROOM....... THANK YOU" I really think that it is unacceptable (coming from a manager!!!) the way guests are treated! Should REALLY Review customer service because it's terribly POOR (2/10 for the cleaning and kitchen lady not even for a front desk)Going for vacations you want to feel as welcome and confortable as you're at your home and we had the impression to pay only for the beach and the pool...Wont recommand to any of my family, friends and guests ...
PS : Despites all, we are not pickies guests and this was the first time I wrote a review but I really feel like I needed to because I wanted to share our personnal experience!!!
I wish I could have read this before booking and it didnt worst the 2nd shoot we gave it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah131306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorageInnManager, General Manager at Anchorage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Hi Sarah131306,

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay.

I do apologize that your experience making a reservation was not a positive one. We do our best to meet the needs of all of our guests and you did not see us at our best during this process.

During the busy season, the housekeeping team works extremely hard to have our arriving guests rooms ready as soon as possible. After rooms are cleaned by the team, the head housekeeper then checks them to ensure they are completed properly. We do express the check-in time of 3pm when the reservation is made and also in the confirmation email. Guests are always welcome to arrival early and enjoy the amenities and beach until their room is ready.

I apologize that the person who checked you did not greet you when you entered the office. We don't currently have any male managers on staff; but do have a male front desk associate. This is something I will definitely be addressing with our entire front desk team. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the cafe, the pools, and Long Sands Beach.

Again, thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback.

Sincerely,

Patti D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews