We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
27
19
12
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
19
12
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool york beach third floor unobstructed view coffee maker our favorite place walking distance enjoyed our stay balcony ocean infant trolley surf
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 75 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We visited York Beach at the end of July for a weekend trip. We booked 2 nights through hotels.com. We had a little trouble with out credit card through the site but the people at the hotel were quick to help us get it figured out (it was a fraud alert, thankfully our CC company figured it out quickly for us). Prior to our visit I called to reserve a roll away bed for one of our children. When I requested it, we were charged an additional $25 for the use each night, which we were fine with. Our room was on the first level. The view was absolutely stunning. Parking was very convenient since there is a trolley stop right in front of the Inn. We could walk to several restaurants or take the trolley further into downtown York. Our room was on the first level. It was also nice to open our windows to hear the waves and get a fresh breeze blowing through.

When we arrived, there was a very friendly gentleman behind the counter who explained everything to us and even gave us extra pillows and recommended a seafood restaurant down the street a bit.

Our room was EXTREMELY clean, just a bit dated but we didn't mind at all as long as it was clean. The Grand View has daily maid services providing clean towels, remaking beds, and restocking cups and coffee.

We swam in the indoor pool, which was clean and warm.

The only things I could comment on about our room are the beds are quite hard. It wasn't a huge problem for me but my husband had difficulty sleeping. Also, there is no ventilation fan in the bathroom. I used the vanity/counter in the main room to get ready for the morning so it wasn't a huge deal.

We enjoyed our stay at The Grand View and will likely return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

The view from the balcony was beautiful! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our 3rd floor room was clean, comfortable and inviting! The indoor pool looked lovely, although we didn't have a chance to try it. The only drawback - narrow wooden stairs to access the 2nd & 3rd floor rooms. I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Second & third floor rooms have rear, wooden stair access that could make accessibility difficult for some.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank F7193DQdonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

I've been going on vacation to the coast of Maine for over 20 years, this was the worst experience I ever had. Only good thing was the view. Beds were ridiculously hard, like sleeping on a box spring with no mattress. No screens on the balcony doors, so much for falling asleep listening to the ocean. Bathroom - no hand towels, no electric outlet, giant ants in the tub, and toiletries consisted of one tiny industrial bar of soap per day. Uncomfortable wicker chairs on balcony with no cushions. Came back from dinner one night and outside door was so covered with bugs, we had to have someone spray the door so we could get in. Dingy, smelly, outdated room. Owners have a "take it or leave it" attitude. Plenty of other options, don't stay here.

Stayed: June 2017
3  Thank anonymousV7444UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

The #1 reason you stay here? Location! Right across from the beach. Our simple - but clean - room has a balcony with unobstructed view. We were able to walk to nearby restaurant for dinner and enjoy the beach. The only downfall? The staff in the office were very sassy - any question asked was met with a harsh response. It was nearly comical. Would I come back? Probably. Decent for the price - and that view!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeannie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Ok so the hotel is average ,clean and tidy there wasn't a screen on the patio door but didn't stop us from leaving it open to listen to tje ocean all night (nice touch of ambiance) , the staff are nice but the views are what your here for and we loved it. Walking distance to several locations , lobster cove closed early on Friday at 9 bummer as it looked nice but Mimmos Italian restaurant was open BYOB ( go to have known earlier). Excellent food and quaint dining area.sun and surf Resteraunt also closed at 9 ( rite on the ocean)... would recommend 2nd or 3rd floor rooms for the balcony views and security of open door while there

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paulesmithco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews