We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely guest house this is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miles River Guest House
Ranked #5 of 5 Easton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2011

What a lovely guest house this is! We were so comfortable and relaxed while we were there; the hosts, Will and Dorothy Howard, were gracious and did all they could to accomodate us. The house itself is nicely furnished (good beds!) with everything to make your vacation special; the owners added a vintage jukebox and arcade game (both free play!) which provided some extra entertainment for us. Additionally, there is a two person kayak and canoe for the guests to use; we absolutely loved taking the kayak out on the beautiful Miles River. The view is very special there on the point (sunsets are incredible) and are enjoyed from the pool area or from the bench at the end of the dock. The Howards made sure we had a fully stocked refrigerator for breakfasts and were happy to fill our special requests. Our hosts made several dinner reservations for us while we were there and made several recommendations that were spot on! Bottom line: we will most certainly be repeat guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlmgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

We spent a glorious relaxing weekend at the Miles River Guest house, which was incredibly warm and inviting. Our hosts were lovely, very engaging and quite interesting. You will be hard pressed to find a more spacious and comfortable get-a-way. We spend lots of time exploring, but couldn't wait to get back to the comfort of this B&B. I highly recommend this B&B, with the views of the Miles River, both from the 'house' and the pier. This one requires a re-do!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I were looking for some place new and quieter to spend New Years Eve and Day and this is just what the doctor ordered. The owners were attentive and very warm and welcoming, but not intrusive. We heard the faint sounds of birds like the honking of geese flying overhead and, since it was hunting season, the occasional sounds of shotguns in the distance in the mornings and evenings which the owner kindly warned us about. We pretended they were all part of the New Years celebrations. The owners' dog barked once from inside the house when we arrived and we only heard Murphy one other time, but not so loud as to disturb us. There were also the sounds of a car coming or going a few times. Over all we got the solitude and peace that we so desperately needed and throughly enjoyed our stay. The guesthouse more than exceeded our expectations being clean, well decorated and fairly spacious. The jukebox and video game were a big plus, adding to our New Year's celebrations. We enjoyed it so much that we ended up canceling our plans to go out for breakfast one morning, our hosts having stocked the fridge per our request with eggs and bacon in addition to providing for a continental breakfast. The location was just about perfect and we enjoyed a chilly, but beautiful last sunset of 2010 sitting on the loveseat on the private dock. We can't wait to come back for a longer stay. The only suggestion I would have for complete privacy is to have curtains to cover the large window with the sliding glass door overlooking the river as there are around the other windows in the ground floor livingarea.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folger830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We had such a wonderful stay at this great cottage. The grounds were beautiful and secluded....it was so quiet and calm. The hosts were very gracious and kind to us. We hope to get a chance for a return visit some day. What a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

After spending a week at the Miles River Guest House, we are easily reminded of Mark Twain’s exhortation to “sing like no one's listening, love like you've never been hurt, dance like nobody's watching, and live like its heaven on earth.” A week at this wonderful guest house releases you of all inhibitions and stress, provides a refreshing change of pace and enables a respite quite unlike any other you have experienced.

Your adventure begins with the turn into Quailsar Road, a tree-lined drive winding you back through a bucolic horse farm until you arrive at the end of the road and turn into the property itself. The guest house is situated on a beautiful, private, waterfront property with expansive views of the Miles River. Innkeepers Will and Dorothy Howard—and their yellow lab, “Murphy”—welcome you with every grace and hospitality conceivable. At the same time, they respect your privacy and allow you to enjoy the serenity of the guest house and all of its amenities in complete tranquility if you so choose.

The Miles River Guest House is spacious and accommodating, and delights visitors with a fun collection of memorabilia, including a working jukebox. But the real treasure of staying here is simply enjoying the outdoors and sitting on the dock looking over the river. This piece of waterfront represents nature largely undisturbed since its creation and you would have to live through several lifetimes to experience sunsets like the ones you will see there.

My wife and I found the guest house to be a perfect location from which to embark upon day trips to various points along the eastern shore. And, we always looked forward to “returning home” back at the guest house later in the day. By far and away, one of the best vacations and stress-busters we have ever experienced. We can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chestnutridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the Miles River Guest House. This bed and breakfast is an excellent place to escape from the hustle and bustle of normal life. It's situated in a serene location on the Miles River and offers amazing views of the water and water life. Sitting on the dock with a glass of wine at sunset is a must while jumping into the inviting pool to cool off in the day shouldn't be missed.

Our hosts, Will and Dorothy Howard, could not have been more friendly, accommodating or helpful. They were there when we needed them but also gave us lots of privacy. Their hospitality started even before we arrived, when Will asked if we had any special requests for breakfast and it continued over the weekend when he dropped off treats from a local fruit and vegetable stand, offered to make restaurant reservations, put us in touch with a massage therapist who came to the guest house, and even brought out his historic 1950 MG TD. We also loved Murphy, the family's yellow lab/golden retriever mix. His tail was always wagging to welcome us back to the house.

Enjoy your trip to the MRGH. Check out all the memorabilia that decorates the house. Enjoy the juke box, video game machine, telescope overlooking the river, kayak and much more. We had a great time and highly recommend this location and don't miss an opportunity to dine at some of the great restaurants along the water in nearby St. Michaels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoytraveling33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at the Miles River Guest House July/2010 and the ad said no pets however the owners dog who is in the attached house barked the entire time we were there. If you want privacy forget it!!
the owners are always there and watching your every move, we tried to have a romantic dinner by the so called private pool and the owners wife was by the pool pulling weeds while the husband (owner) was riding around our table with a loud lawn motor. We had made plans for dinner before we arrived but the owner changed all of our plans and it was not good. The house is old and is not well maintained the drapes are old and dirty and falling off of the rods.
We felt duped and ripped off by there ad, please be warned and do not waste your money on this place. It was a nightmare for us and we had not had a vacation in two years.

3  Thank deerubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourVideo_com, Owner at Miles River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

We deeply regret these guests not having a wonderful vacation. We share the house next door and believe that honoring their privacy is very important. Our yellow lab Murphy did bark from inside our house when they arrived but not after that. He is very friendly. We did not make or change any plans for these guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.7 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
501 reviews
9.6 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
3.8 km away
Bartlett Pear Inn
Bartlett Pear Inn
#1 of 5 in Easton
227 reviews
3.8 km away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miles River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miles River Guest House

Address: 8862 Quailsar Rd, Easton, MD 21601-7482
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range: $330 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miles River Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Miles River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miles River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing