We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful venue for special events” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for special events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

An amazing place for a mini destination wedding. Great experience with every staff member at the Inn, from the front desk to the general manager. Great ambiance in this wonderful historic hotel. Both families were extremely pleased with the quaintness of town, wonderful restaurants (especially Masons for the rehearsal dinner), terrific inn service, and charm of the Inn. As someone else mentioned in a review, our kids wedding was a red carpet event for all who attended and will be remembered by us for many years to come. Thanks to the management and staff of the Tidewater Inn for an unforgetable weekend experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maadiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We are so delighted you had a pleasant stay and a great time while in Easton. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays! Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    136
    60
    47
    22
See reviews for
86
176
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great central location for historic Easton and surrounding areas such as Oxford and St. Michaels. Good restaurants in the immediate area (1-2 blocks). Limited WiFI, only available in the library on first floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review and comments! We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and your trip to Easton, MD. We do offer hard-wired internet connections in our rooms and are working towards having WiFi availability in our rooms in the future.

We do hope you will return soon for a visit. Happy Holidays!

Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I came to Tidewater for a getaway with my fiancé and we really enjoyed our stay. The historic but modern feel of the hotel was really romantic and charming. All of the staff was really nice which only added to how pleasant our stay was. We will definitely be back and are even looking at it as our wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are considering the Inn for your wedding venue. If there is anything I can do for you or my staff regarding your wedding plans or your next stay with us, please don't hesitate to give me a call. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Could not have been a more amazing place for that destination wedding. The ambiance of the Inn and the quaint town with fine boutique's, pubs/restaurant's and high end stores all within walking distance made the weekend a true memory for all. The beauty and warmth of the Inn starts when you cross the threshold. The rooms are older with character and charm, the beds are comfy, the facility is immaculate, the food and drink right your feet, literally, and the staff are professional and very attentive to your needs. You are made to feel like "family". Truly a lasting, positive memory. A red carpet event for all attending the wedding . For the bride and groom...truly their fairy tale Prince and his Princess wedding event. Long to be remembered by all! And a place to return to without any question. Thank you Tidewater Inn. Ms.Ski

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the courtyard was amazing especially in the evening with the blue lights. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaWilchinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We are so delighted you had a pleasant stay and a great time while in Easton. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays! Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have stayed at Tidewater Inn numerous times over the years and our reaction upon checking out is always "nice place but..."

There's is plenty to like about the hotel. It's in downtown Easton near excellent restaurants, has a beautiful lobby and a nice bar, and the staff provides great customer service. The rooms themselves are rather small but that's to be expected in an older hotel. They're also fairly priced. We just stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for $149, which was only a few dollars more than standard rooms.

But it's the little things that keep this hotel from being the crown jewel of the Eastern Shore. We have stayed in rooms where the windows could not be opened. Even one of the three windows in the Honeymoon Suite wouldn't open. This can be a big problem because it seems as though the HVAC system is as old as the building. I believe either heat or a/c runs but you don't have individual control. The temperature last night was in the mid 50's but even with heat off our room, and the whole hotel was warm for that matter, was warm. Ended up spending a sleepless night.

I also tried to get internet access but the signal was so weak that it never could connect. And while I love dogs, wet one's can stink and they definitely leave notice of their passing in an elevator. I noticed a sign in the elevator that asks patrons to be respectful of other guests when going to and from rooms which I believe is a reference to those attending the numerous weddings held at Tidewater Inn.

In the end, we'll go back, although more and more we stay at Cambridge Hyatt. And I'd recommend this hotel with reservations and a few suggestions. Definitely ask for one of the renovated rooms (and check the windows upon arrival), find out if a wedding is scheduled during your stay and beware of the three day cancellation policy.

Room Tip: Make sure windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortunesmiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at The Tidewater Inn, as well as offering constructive feedback on your experience. Please accept my apologies for any facilities problems that you encountered. We have definitely been renovating the hotel since we bought it two years ago and continue to make improvements to both rooms and bathrooms. I have also forwarded your comments to our maintenance team so they can look in to the HVAC issue you had; we certainly welcome all feedback from our guests as that is the best way for us to identify any issues with our operations and fix them immediately. Should your travels bring you back to Easton, I hope that you might give us a second chance, so that we may offer you the kind of experience that you would expect from The Tidewater Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Tidewater Inn during my recent visit to the annual Wildfowl Festival this past weekend. Even though the hotel was crowded, I received first class treatment from check in to check out. The staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and appreciated as a paying guest. I have never been to a hotel where everyone was so kind. I took all my meals in the Hunters' Tavern and the food could have not been better. The General Manager was the hardest working person I have ever had the pleasure of observing. The front desk person, Donna, did everything she could to secure a room as I had checked in earlier than anticipated. The room itself, facing Dover Street, was most comfortable and spotlessly clean. The houskeeping staff was friendly and the linens were just right. I cannot wait until my next stay at the Tidewaterr.

Room Tip: Book early for busy periods. There are only ninety-eight rooms and they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. Waterfowl Festival Weekend is quite the challenge for sure! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have stayed in many high end hotel rooms, but Tidewater Inn was by far the best experience we have ever had! From the amazing suite to the great time around town. Everything was top notch. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Inn. We are so delighted you had a pleasant stay and a great time while in Easton. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
12.9 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
11.5 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn Easton
Comfort Inn Easton
#6 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
12.7 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 101 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3001
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming and elegant hotel located on the Eastern Shore with roots that trace back to 1712. A romantic hideaway nestled in historic downtown Easton, Maryland, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries, gourmet restaurants and the famed Avalon Theatre. The Inn features 95 well-appointed boutique guest rooms, a tavern style restaurant and banquet rooms. A luxurious retreat just outside of Baltimore, Washington, DC and Wilmington, the Tidewater Inn is appointed with modern comforts, state-of-the-art conference space and exquisite banquet rooms ideal for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing