We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Five of us crammed ourselves in the room (one roll-away). The room was clean and the free breakfast was great. The breakfast selection was huge. There were Belgian waffles, sausage, eggs, toast, doughnuts,cold cereal,juice, milk and coffee. There was a shuttle that would take you to the Metro (subway) or you could walk, it was not that far. There were restaurants and stores in the area within walking distance. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The exercise room was nice, except the television was a bit fuzzy. The business office had a computer and printer, more than one would have been nice, but I had no problem checking my mail.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willtravelfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Selected this hotel for our 1 night stay on route home because it was reasonably priced, pet-friendly & the reviews were favourable, We were completely impressed and would definately chose to stay there again if passing through or planning a trip to Washington DC. Parking is included, the hotels seems to be in a safe, quiet area. The rooms although not large are very clean, comfortable & well decorated, lots of fluffy towels, soft pillows & comfortable bedding. We happend to have a corner room with windows providing 2 views. The breakfast is well set-up, fresh fruit, fruite juices, cereals, eggs, bagels, sweet breads, waffles-nothing too different from other food choices @ breakfast included hotels however, the attendant kept the counters shinning, everything looked spotlessly clean, there were plenty of tables to sit at & one never felt crowded or rushed, there were no line ups. We did not have time to tour but spoke to some other travellers that told us the hotel provides a shuttle service to the metro station, they said getting downtown is easy from the hotel. The pool was closed of course due to the season but it is located outside beside the hotel-there is a spacious grassy area with picnic tables & benches to sit and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieRed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at this pet friendly hotel last night and were happy with the service, room quality, quietness and pet friendly. They served a nice breakfast and it was well attended implying a hotel others like.

Bit tricky to find the location but nonetheless, good quality for your money

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with the convenience of the Metro to explore the D.C. area - THIS IS THE PLACE! Our group was amazed at the friendly, helpful and professional staff. They all greeted us like family! The hotel is within walking distance to the Shady Grove end of the red line but the hotel offers a courtesy ride to and from the station! There is a good breakfast waiting for you in the morning. Spacious comfortable rooms and a special Tuesday night social. I've never stayed in a "Five Star" but I'd give this place "Six Stars"!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My father and I visited DC and chose Comfort Suites again. We were very pleased. It is a wonderful place to stay while visiting DC. The hotel offers a shuttle to METRO but my father and I enjoyed the walk in the mornings and evenings. Hotel staff is wonderful and the breakfast area clean and enjoyable. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Check with management for great deals on rooms... especially if you have a group. They are very acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We used to stay at the Courtyard Marriott in this area (also in Shady Grove), but this venue is less than half the price of the Marriott, and every bit as satisfactory. There is an outdoor pool, a small fitness room, wi-fi in the rooms, an ample buffet breakfast (eggs, sausages, yoghurt, waffles, cereal, juices, pastries, toast, english muffins, and coffee), and the rooms (at least the one we had) clean and compact. The shower worked; the TV easy to operate; the staff courteous.

Altogether a good value. As we're staying here for a week, at more than $100 less a day than the Marriott, we're saving $700. There is nothing at the Marriott that warrants an extra outlay of $700 for a week.

Room Tip: End rooms quiestest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The lobby seemed more like a classy European hotel than a $100/night place. Front Desk was very helpful. Good location...a bit of noise from the traffic, but convenient restaurants located next door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jwolfgang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.6 km away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
512 reviews
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
443 reviews
1.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
54 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Shady Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Shady Grove

Address: 16216 Frederick Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range: $131 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Shady Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven stroy brick building with interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Shady Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shady Grove Hotel Gaithersburg
Shady Grove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing