We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, even met the owner”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stopped here last minute and got first-rate service from the night desk clerk (James, I think). The room was clean and nice. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff were attentive (thanks, Stephanie!). As we were checking out, we got to speak to the owner for a few minutes. I complimented the staff and said that I thought we had gotten a very fair price for the room. We would stay again if we go that way!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA_to_VA_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

This motel was completely beneath the standards of any Comfort Suites I have ever stayed in! Cable service was almost terrible. NO ESPN! Totally unacceptable. Room needed a good cleaning. At first glance it appeared clean but the longer we stayed in the room the more I could see it needed a thorough cleaning. If it had not been so late we would have left. Next morning things got worse. A couple staying brought their "service dog" into the breakfast area and proceeded to hand feed it from the table. YUCK! The staff gathered around to comment on how "cute." Not cute to everyone. I understand that people need their service dogs to be with them but I have never seen them feed from the food being served and by hand from the owner. We complained and the staff said by law they could do nothing (not to sure about that)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesTeam1, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. The installation of the new DirecTv equipment has been completed and we now have over 150 channels,including 4 ESPN stations.
The Department of Justice ADA requirements state that "Under the ADA, State and local governments, businesses, and nonprofit organizations that serve the public must allow service animals to accompany people with disabilities in all areas of the facility where the public is normally allowed to go." It also states that "Establishments that sell or prepare food must allow service animals in public areas even if state or local health codes prohibit animals on the premises."
We are sorry that you were unhappy with the dogs presence in the breakfast area. When you came to the desk to talk to me the dog was laying quietly under the table near it's handler. It was wearing a vest that clearly stated "Service Animal". The staff was following the law, and will continue to do so.
We regret that we lost you as a customer, but it is our job to respect and protect the rights of all of our guests to the best of our abilities.
Sincerely,
Barb Estrada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

These days it's hard to get a decent room with a sofa for under 75 bucks, but I held my breath and booked this place. Often comfort suites are re-takes from another chain, and I would guess this one is too. I read the info and reviews, to see this place had recently re-modeled, and it has. Most public areas and inside the room were pretty well updated. The sofa unfortunately was the most tired piece on the room, so my relaxing sitting area was not very relaxing. But the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the A/C worked fine, so most of my hot button items were good. I got the low def TV I pretty much expected, but in this day and age still disappointing.

The bathroom lighting was certainly not as dim as many places now have gone to, although the shower could use some type of light. The only really noticeable deficiency in the bath was the prop plane revving for take off sound level of the fan. It would be nice to have a towel rack in reach of the shower when you pull back the curtain sopping wet.

Breakfast was those typical corn pop cereal looking yellow balls that pass for eggs these days, but not a surprise either. The coffee was good, so I was able to get the day started. The lady running it was constantly replenishing and cleaning, something often lacking at this level property.

All in all, this place delivers acceptably at a price point that is tough to come by, and I didn't cringe over anything. I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank captclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I/we stay at this location several times a year giving us a decent chance to gauge whether there are changes or things get stagnant. I've noticed some improvements during the most recent stay (few days ago); not that the hotel was in shambles or anything. The check in is now more up to date with electronic units at the front desk that can read a card chip. That's more secure and shows management is upgrading. I slept like a baby, again. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Breakfast food was a bit better than the previous time we were there with different hot items available. Pool was also cleaner this time than last. This usually depends on how many kids and slob parents were using it, of course. I was given 2 door key cards (only needed one since I was travelling alone this time) but only one worked. Only mentioning it because this is the 3rd consecutive time that I/we had issues with the key cards at this hotel. Just a real minor issue and one that I've experienced elsewhere too. The parking lot could have used a little attention as there was trash scattered about. That says more about the clientele than the hotel though. The employees are helpful and pleasant and seem to care about the customer's experience. Overall a decent value.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Hotel is in a good location, check in was fast and friendly. Large room, which needs modern touches, looked tired. Cleanness was marginal, at best. Saw some red spots around the bad tub, blood stains?!? Soda stains?!? Needless to say, we could/did not use the shower. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_vB2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

I was in town for business and my experience was not good. Check in was quick and easy. The woman at the front desk was very nice. When I arrived in the room, I found a dirty athletic sock next to the couch. Then I went into the bathroom and it smelled like a gym locker. There was no way I could stand it long enough to shower.

I am not high maintenance and can "deal with it" if needed, but I decided to check out the next morning with no refund and no "sorry for your poor experience."
My bed was comfortable, but one of the biggest reasons for checking out early was the fact that I heard my neighbors all night due to paper thin walls.

This is one of those "you get what you pay for" hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesTeam1, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I am very sorry that your experience with us was not as pleasant as it should have been. I apologize for the sock that was left . I will speak to housekeeping about this immediately. I will also have maintenance investigate the smell. If you ever have an issue with noisey neighbors, please don't hesitate to contact the front desk for assistance. We will do our best to take care of the problem. This is true no matter where you choose to stay. We regret that we lost you as a customer but will work hard to improve the quality of the service we provide our guests. Thank you for making us aware of this.

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The room was spotlessly clean, the sheets were clean and crisp, and the bed was comfy. The room had a couch, mini frig, and microwave. Very nice shower and bathroom. Friendly front desk staff. Also an excellent assortment at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesTeam1, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for such a nice review of the Comfort Suites. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast, and the friendly staff. We hope to have the opportunity to meet you again.

Best Regards,
Barb Estrada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
6.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
826 reviews
2.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
3.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
#15 of 21 in Hagerstown
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1801 Dual Hwy, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites Hagerstown.For history buffs you’ll find we are centrally located between three major Civil war battlefields and a Colonial Fort. Antietam National Battlefield is the closest and only a 15 minute drive. Harpers Ferry and Fort Frederick State Park are about a 25 minute drive with Gettysburg 39 miles from the hotel. This area also offers many historical attraction...s and museums.While in Hagerstown, sports fans can enjoy a baseball game at Municipal Stadium. Relax and take in a Suns game, the single-A affiliate of the Washington Nationals.Enjoy cultural attractions? Then you will want to visit the Washington County Museum of Fine Arts or spend an evening at The Maryland Theatre, home of the Maryland Symphony Orchestra.During your stay you will enjoy a 100% smoke free environment. Each large one room suite offers a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryers.Also included:Complementary hot breakfastIndoor pool and hot tubExercise roomFree wired and wireless high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hagerstown
Comfort Suites Hagerstown
Hagerstown Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing