We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic lodge with a spectacular view.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
McHenry, Garrett County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrianThac...
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge with a spectacular view.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed here for the better part of the week with my extended family. Needless to say, it was perfect for us.

Interior
Absolutely beautiful inside. Elevated ceilings and huge windows allowed beautiful sunlight to stream in, helping you appreciate the beauty of where you are. The bathrooms and bedrooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. The kitchen table was also able to accommodate every member of our admittedly large family. Very comfortable for large groups.

Exterior
Amazingly spacious decks with a hot tub below. Sitting in that and looking over the lake from that vantage point was beyond relaxing -- they had to pry me out of it. The driveway up is VERY steep however, which was only moderately alarming for the drive (although winter would have me singing a different tune). Walking dogs was also a bit more difficult than ordinarily because you're constantly falling forward.

Amenities
TV was alright, the cups were a tad bit grimy, but the dual ovens and stoves was wonderful.

Bottom Line: It was absolutely perfect for a large group. Great price, gorgeous location, and very comfortable interior.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed November 27, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MD
Reviewed June 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed August 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Springfield
Reviewed June 2, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The view from the deck
Liked least: The beds, no t.v.'s in the rooms, and bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jun 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Rocky Mountain Lodge. We apologize for the issue you experienced with the bugs, and will forward your comments to maintenance and housekeeping. Thank you for renting with us and we look forward to seeing you in July!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed February 18, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Large common rooms, kitchen, views
Liked least: Inaccessible location in winter, echos
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MD
Reviewed November 5, 2009 for a stay in October 2007

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING!
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing