We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Amazing Anniversary Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Pointe Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Pointe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 McHenry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Armbrust, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing Anniversary Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I surprised my husband for our anniversary in November to stay the weekend in the Friend Room at the Lake Pointe Inn. After debating where to stay, I am so elated this place was chosen. The Inn is very homey and welcoming. The staff goes the extra mile with the little details. We checked in to find a fire burning inside and outside, roasting marshmallows, blankets to wrap around yourself, complimentary drinks/wine/beer, cookies, granola, etc. throughout the common areas, there are books and movies for your enjoyment. The Inn has mulitple "quiet" places for you to escape.
The breakfasts were wonderful and plenty. They did an amazing job with food allergies. I would recommend the sauna and spa. Cathy, the therapist, was soothing and professional. We explored Swallow Falls State Park nearby then ate a late lunch at the Cornish Manor.... wonderful. When we returned, Ed, the Innkeeper hosted a wine and local cheese get together. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and meeting with others. There are other amenities such as canoes, bikes, hammocks, etc we did not utilize during our stay but are there for your liking.
Our room was the Friend. It had a small reading area overlooking the lake. Our queen bed was comfortable. Cozy robes were awaiting our comfort following the spa tub. The gas fireplace could be enjoyed from the bed or spa tub area. The bathroom was spacious and had multiple shower heads. I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms selected.
We have stayed at several bed and breakfast inns.... this is by far one of my favorites. I can see why they are a part of the Select Registry. The location is ideal. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjgreen111910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    13
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
170
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I visited Lake Pointe Inn during inclement weather but she was told that it was a great place to stay and we totally agree. I called that morning to let them know we would be arriving late and they had everything prepared and waiting for us when we arrived and we quickly were made to feel welcome. We stayed for two nights and the included breakfast was amazing. We would visit again just for the breakfast. We enjoyed nights by the fire (inside and out), the cookies, afternoon snack, homemade marshmellows, and the lovely decorated rooms. We will definately be back during the winter and summer to take advantage of the bike riding, trails, and to take in the lake. A lot is thrown in for the price and you aren't nickle and dimed for everything.

Room Tip: Although our room faced the mountain and was great some of the other rooms have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this B&b for 6 nights during our recent visit to the USA. This inn is located on the side of Deep Creek Lake, and is a most comfortable, well maintained property.
The inn offers many complimentary extras such as kayaking, canoeing, the use of bicycles, evening boat trip on the lake (weather permitting), cookies, coffe/tea/chocolate on tap, popcorn etc. Breakfasts were substantial and very good, as was the standard of housekeeping.
The one downside for us was that the room we stayed in (McCann Suite) had very thin walls - and we could hear everything that was going on in the room next door (and for 2 nights we had somewhat noisy neighbours!). Overall however we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Lake Pointe is an inn that takes care of your every need. From the moment you arrive you will feel at home. Warm cookies await in the convenient dining room. An added touch was the five o'clock wine and snack in the main lobby. Sit on the porch, rock in the chairs, and meet new friends. Take the boat ride at six around the lake; what a great tour. After dinner, have a glass of sherry and an evening chocolate. The inn's breakfast is sure to please; everything was perfect. You won't want to leave. This was our second visit to the inn; we left with a complimentary gift of soaps, our bathtub duck, and great memories of a great B & B! Simply wonderful from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slojoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We travel often and have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts all over the world. None have captured our hearts as much as the Lake Pointe Inn. It is not easy to find. You have to take the road toward the Wisp Ski Lodge, but then turn left on the road immediately past the Wisp, go through the housing development - this throws you into believing you are lost - and then turn right. Lake Point sits a few houses on the left. But it is well worth the search and its hidden location adds to the serenity. We have stayed there four times, mostly in the Fall when we are attending West Virginia football games. Let me first encourage you to grab a blanket and sit in one of the rockers on the porch over-looking Deep Creek Lake. Some of our most romantic hours have been spent just enjoying the quiet and serenity on that wonderful porch. We have stayed in three of the suites and each is wonderfully appointed. They have total privacy and everything you would want for a great escape from the hustle and bustle of life. Each has a spacious bath with jacuzzi-bath, steam shower, wonderful bed, flat screen television, sound system and comfy chairs. The breakfast meals have been wonderful at every trip. Don't miss the library or downstairs lounge. Free coffee, tea, soft drinks and wine are on each floor. There is even a sauna. Let's just say that these operators know what they are doing. On cold Fall evenings we have joined others at the fire pit and made many new friends. Weather permitting, the Inn also takes guests on a free pontoon boat ride around the lake. Best of all, every guest gets a rubber ducky as a momento of their visit. Some might think the Inn a bit pricy, but for what you get, we think it is a real value.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. You cannot go wrong. Lakefront rooms cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a36redbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our second visit to Lake Pointe Inn and it was even better than the first time. The staff was top notch, we got the chance to know amazing couples and the entire setting was absolutely perfect. The first time we went, we went during the fall...this second time was in the summer and there was a definite difference. We've already scheduled our next trip...later this winter. Hoping to get some skiing in!

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed one night (Thursday) in the Sam Leff Room. The room was cozy and had a great view of the lake. Reading area, fireplace, and a private balcony were perfect. We arrived in time for wine and cheese and watched all the guests get ready for the pontoon ride! The relaxing atmosphere is enhanced with many sitting areas, both inside and out. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy the fire pit (I hear the homemade marshmallows are great), play boccie or croquet, or take advantage of the messages or steam room.. Next time! Breakfast was excellent and the chef accommodated my severe food allergy without fuss and prepared a delicious meal.
The only "downside" I can see about the Inn is two-night minimum stay Friday and Saturday is required.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beechrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.1 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
17.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
23.5 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.5 km away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
2.2 km away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pointe Inn

Property: Lake Pointe Inn
Address: 174 Lake Pointe Dr, McHenry, MD 21541-1534
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Pointe Inn (catering to adults-children must be 16 or older), in the Lake Pointe community at McHenry, Maryland, is perched at water's edge on Deep Creek Lake, and offers all the comforts and amenities of a fine bed and breakfast. The two-course breakfast includes a hot entree from one of the inn's unique recipes. Also available are cold cereals, homemade granola, muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, teas, coffees, cocoas and a selection of five juices, including orange juice squeezed from oranges at the inn. Explore the lake's 65-mile shoreline, or hike in the several state parks. Relax with home-made marshmallows at the outdoor fire pit or sit in a rocker on the wrap-around porch, and you enjoy the expansive view. Swim and lounge at the inn dock in summer. Ski, tub and ice skate at Wisp (just across the road) in winter, or put on the inn's snowshoes and make tracks on the frozen lake. Warm up in the sauna, the steam shower or in front of the big stone fireplace in our native chestnut paneled great room. Check out inn bikes to tour the area, or take a canoe/kayak out on the water. Enjoy an evening lake tour on our pontoon boat (mid-May to mid-October, conditions permitting). Visit Frank Lloyd Wright's famous houses, Falling Water and Kentuck Knob, both less that an hour away. The inn offers complimentary hors d'oeuvres and wine each evening. A wide selection of complimentary beverages, fruit, snacks and homemade chocolate chip cookies are available 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Pointe Hotel Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing